DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2007, 06:30 PM   #1
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 7,253
Default Acrobat Reader 8.x Win problems

Apparently I'm not the only one to get bit by this so I thought I'd mention it here. Acrobat Reader 8.x may on its own or when you request an update, fire off its updater, which may get stuck and eat 100% of the CPU (with or without visible UI). You can't kill it using Task Manager. The only fix I've found is to restart the PC. Feh.

So you go to c:\Program Files\Adobe\Reader 8.0\Reader\plug_ins

You find Updater.api and rename it to something sane like Updater.Die.Horribly.Die.Painfully.Go.Away.And.Die .Brutally.Die.DIE

Or something a bit shorter if you like. Just lose the .api extension.

Now it won't try to update itself, of course, but if you were having this problem to begin with, it wasn't updating itself anyhow, most likely. IAC, you can always rename the file back to .api and let it play.

I'm having a look at Foxit's reader.

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 10:59 PM   #2
iamback
Member
 
iamback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Posts: 4,894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Rindsberg View Post
may get stuck and eat 100% of the CPU (with or without visible UI). You can't kill it using Task Manager.
Did you try services? You can't kill running services through task manager, you have to stop them first from the Services applet. (Programs that do regular update checks are often run as a service.)

Apart from that, I find Sysinternal's Process Explorer quite useful in the case of "stubborn" programs that can't be stopped (apart from being like Task Manager on steroids and useful in many other ways).

   
__________________
Marjolein Katsma
Look through my eyes on Cultural Surfaces (soon!), My ArtFlakes shop and Flickr.
Occasionally I am also connecting online dots... and sometimes you can follow me on Marjolein's Travel Blog
iamback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 01:15 PM   #3
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10,035
Default

Quote:
steve: You find Updater.api and rename it to something sane like Updater.Die.Horribly.Die.Painfully.Go.Away.And.Die .Brutally.Die.DIE
LOL!!!

So if you turn off auto update (I always!!! do that) and/or never request a (manual) update, things should be ok?

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 04:48 PM   #4
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 7,253
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terrie View Post
LOL!!!

So if you turn off auto update (I always!!! do that) and/or never request a (manual) update, things should be ok?

Terrie
No. Or at least I can't find anyplace to do so.

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 04:51 PM   #5
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 7,253
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iamback View Post
Did you try services? You can't kill running services through task manager, you have to stop them first from the Services applet. (Programs that do regular update checks are often run as a service.)

Apart from that, I find Sysinternal's Process Explorer quite useful in the case of "stubborn" programs that can't be stopped (apart from being like Task Manager on steroids and useful in many other ways).
I used something called AutoRuns (also from Sysinternals ... very handy) to try to determine where this pest was getting loaded. No luck there.

Checking services is a good idea, though. Thanks.

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 09:58 PM   #6
iamback
Member
 
iamback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Posts: 4,894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Rindsberg View Post
I used something called AutoRuns (also from Sysinternals ... very handy) to try to determine where this pest was getting loaded. No luck there.
Well, try Process Explorer - among other things, it will show running processes in a hierarchical view, so you can see what started what.

   
__________________
Marjolein Katsma
Look through my eyes on Cultural Surfaces (soon!), My ArtFlakes shop and Flickr.
Occasionally I am also connecting online dots... and sometimes you can follow me on Marjolein's Travel Blog
iamback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2007, 07:08 AM   #7
Michael Rowley
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ipswich (the one in England)
Posts: 5,105
Default

Steve:

I suppose you were trying to update (or not to update) v. 8.1 and not v. 8.0, weren't you?

   
__________________
Michael
Michael Rowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2007, 11:51 AM   #8
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 7,253
Default

I've used it before ... AutoRuns is quite nice in that it shows the processes listed hierarchically in several ways, shows the registry area etc. that each is launched from and lets you temporarily or permanently delete the entry that started the process. Very nice. But not useful in this situation, as it didn't see where the AdobeUpdater.EXE came from (I suspect it's launched by Reader itself rather than from any of the usual locations)

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2007, 11:54 AM   #9
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 7,253
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Rowley View Post
Steve:

I suppose you were trying to update (or not to update) v. 8.1 and not v. 8.0, weren't you?
8.0 in this case ... at one point, I was given the option of turning off updates, which it seems to have ignored. The option only seems to have appeared when the updater started. Apparently one thing that can cause the problem is that the updater tries to contact Adobe via the net but locks up (consuming 100% of the CPU in the process) if it hits a firewall that says "No".

I don't need software that pouts.

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2007, 12:19 PM   #10
iamback
Member
 
iamback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Posts: 4,894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Rindsberg View Post
I've used it before ... AutoRuns is quite nice in that it shows the processes listed hierarchically in several ways, shows the registry area etc. that each is launched from and lets you temporarily or permanently delete the entry that started the process.
Now do you mean that you've used Process Explorer before or that you've used AutoRuns? Process Explorer is a different tool from AutoRuns which clearly is not the tool for this situation.

   
__________________
Marjolein Katsma
Look through my eyes on Cultural Surfaces (soon!), My ArtFlakes shop and Flickr.
Occasionally I am also connecting online dots... and sometimes you can follow me on Marjolein's Travel Blog
iamback is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Foxit PDF Reader dthomsen8 Print Production & Automation 4 08-30-2007 05:12 AM
FireFox PDF Reader George Print Production & Automation 7 08-27-2007 08:47 AM
Sony Portable Reader curveto Hardware & Gadgets 16 06-05-2007 05:48 AM
Problems installing Acrobat Reader in VISTA Hugh Wyn Griffith General Publishing Topics 6 01-16-2007 07:15 PM
Acrobat Reader throws up error Hugh Wyn Griffith The Corner Pub 12 03-22-2006 03:33 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2019 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.