DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Print Design

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-19-2010, 09:58 AM   #1
Laurie
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 34
Default Does PM 7 work on a Win 7 computer (64 bit)?

Hi there!

Does anyone know if PageMaker 7 will work on a Windows 7 64-bit computer and if so, did you encounter any difficulties?

I do not have an XP compatible version of Windows 7, but it does have a folder called "Program Files (x86)" and I have been able to run several old computer programs.

Although all recent work of ours is done in InDesign, we need to edit something that was created in PageMaker 7 and that would take a lot of work to convert to InDesign, so I'd love to be able to make the edits in PageMaker.

Thanks!

Laurie

Last edited by Laurie; 05-19-2010 at 01:03 PM.
Laurie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2010, 01:09 PM   #2
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Hi, Laurie,

According to this thread on the Adobe forums, you can try it. Some claim to have success, and if you just need to edit a single document, it might work for you.

Nothing venture, nothing gain.

If it doesn’t work, maybe you can borrow an old PC somewhere just for this one task.

Good luck. Let us know how you fare.

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2010, 01:25 PM   #3
Laurie
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 34
Default

Hey, Kathleen.

I might try installing it (even though most replied in that thread were skeptical about the possibility of PM7 running under Win 7), and if I do, I'll let you know if it worked. I only need to edit a few text pages.

We actually have PM7 on an older PC here, so if PM7 doesn't work with Win 7, I'll take it out of storage and use it to make the corrections.

Thanks.

Laurie
Laurie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2010, 05:35 PM   #4
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Sounds like a good plan.

I grapple all the time with old files and formats; I too was a PageMaker fan, but beyond that, I have text files on ancient disks, PageMaker files on several old formats, etc.

Wonder how anyone will read our pearls of wisdom in 2050?

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 08:17 AM   #5
Laurie
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 34
Default

Kathleen,

Speaking of old files and formats, I still have a DOS computer and use it for a few functions.

In the end, we had to put the book into InDesign CS4.

My old computer with PgMkr is hard to access (have to rig it up with a power supply sitting outside the computer and do a few other things). We have another retired computer with PgMkr, but I felt insecure about the PgMkr pdf presets saved on that computer.

Turns out, the book loaded nicely into InDesign CS4. There were not too many things I had to do. One chapter is damaged so we'll have to recreate it. There is also a problem with a header behaving strangely; I posted a question about that in a separate thread.

Thanks!

Laurie
Laurie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 08:43 AM   #6
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Glad that it is working out.

Too bad about the damaged chapter, but that sort of thing is one of the (many) reasons PageMaker has been retired! I loved the program, clung to it for many years, but do see the wisdom of moving on. It took me forever, though — for a long time I set up new jobs in PM (margins, styles, etc.), then opened them in ID to continue.

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2010, 02:42 PM   #7
Hugh Wyn Griffith
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,485
Default

If you do try installing it, try right mouse clicking on the exe file that starts the program andd select Properties / Compatibility TAB and set the Compatibility back to the version you know it runs on; and check the box at the bottom for Run As Adminisstrator and see if that helps.

   
__________________


Hugh
Hugh Wyn Griffith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2010, 06:31 PM   #8
JVegVT
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: northern New England, USA
Posts: 510
Default

I disagree slightly with Hugh. Try to install it the usual way before you try any compatibility settings or Run as Administrator. If those don't work, THEN try Run as Administrator or Compatibility or both together.

I've never had any luck with Compatibility in either Windows 7 or Vista. If the program is truly incompatible, it won't magically become compatible by picking an earlier OS in compatibility settings. Run as Administrator, however, is sometimes necessary with older programs that can't deal with an administrator/user distinction.
--Judy M.

   
__________________
Registered Linux User #397786
Being productive with VectorLinux 7 Standard
JVegVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 02:06 PM   #9
Hugh Wyn Griffith
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,485
Default

Up to each ... I've never had any problems with using Run as Administrator. There's nothing wrong, so far as I know, with not setting compatibility and then doing it later; I don't remember it being grayed out once you install.

However in this case my suggestion was against the background of a concensus that it would not run ....

   
__________________


Hugh
Hugh Wyn Griffith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2010, 05:41 PM   #10
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Oh, good — you have a spirit of adventure.

Good luck.

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fry egg in your computer. Andrew B. The Corner Pub 4 02-23-2007 02:46 PM
Needs more work... annc Web Site Building & Maintenance 6 07-28-2006 05:21 PM
Got a new computer JVegVT The Corner Pub 10 02-03-2006 10:53 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2018 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.