DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-21-2005, 07:22 PM   #1
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,501
Default nik Sharpener Pro 2.0

nik upgraded its sharpening tools. It looks like they eliminated the home version, but retained the inkjet and complete versions. Some of the new features include 16-bit processing, selective sharpening, larger preview, and advanced settings.

http://www.nikmultimedia.com/sharpen...usa/entry.php?
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2005, 11:36 AM   #2
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,918
Default

Pricey isn't it?!

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2005, 07:16 PM   #3
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,501
Default

It is pricey, and I was hoping to hear from the people here who use nik Sharpener. The ease of use and quality might offset the price.
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2005, 01:15 PM   #4
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,918
Default

>>andrew: It is pricey, and I was hoping to hear from the people here who use nik Sharpener. The ease of use and quality might offset the price.


I think Cristen has it but she's been having pc problems--really ugly--and some oddities with her computer-on-a-stick (the imac)...hopefully, she'll pop in soon...

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 08:43 AM   #5
Cristen Gillespie
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 814
Default

I still haven't time, as you know Terrie, to get my PC back. Nik Sharpener Pro is worth it if you work with a lot of images, as I often do. If not, work with USM and Smart Sharpen. With one or the other, you can do as good a job. It will simply take longer.

I run Nik as part of an action. I always duplicate, in the action, the image layer I sharpened, then change blend modes to Lighten and Darken, and have it automatically change Opacity in the Lighten layer to around 75%. I also automatically add layer masks. That's my start. I use a modal stop for the Nik dialog box because some images can take a whomping with sharpen, while others need just a tiny bit.

It's quick with Nik, but I probably wouldn't recommend spending that much unless a) you can't figure out how to use USM or Smart Sharpen<G>, or b) you have a lot of images.

   
__________________
Cristen
Cristen Gillespie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 01:54 PM   #6
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,918
Default

>>cristen: It's quick with Nik,

ROFL!!! They should use that on their advertising...'-}}

Welcome back!

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 08:21 PM   #7
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,501
Default

I just remembered some trivia. The name "Nik" comes from name of the founder (Nils Kokemohr). The first two letters of his first name, plus the first letter of his last name.
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2005, 01:04 PM   #8
Cristen Gillespie
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 814
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terrie
>>cristen: It's quick with Nik,

ROFL!!! They should use that on their advertising...'-}}

Welcome back!

Terrie
If they use it, I have proof I used it first. We'll make our fortune, right? LOL

Nice to have some time away from mom's needs to be back. Thanks.

As for Nik Sharpener Pro2. I'm sure I'll be upgrading. It's worth it for me.

   
__________________
Cristen
Cristen Gillespie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2005, 01:17 PM   #9
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,918
Default

>>cristen: If they use it, I have proof I used it first. We'll make our fortune, right? LOL

ROFL!!! Indeed...'-}}

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2005, 11:46 PM   #10
plugsnpixels
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: LA area
Posts: 29
Default

I've posted screenshots and results with nik Sharpener Pro at http://www.plugsnpixels.com/sharpenerpro.html
plugsnpixels is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FocalBlade Sharpener for Mac OS X Andrew B. Software 1 01-19-2006 10:41 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.