DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > The Corner Pub

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2014, 08:18 PM   #1
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,522
Default Duh! (Save web page to PDF)

I've been bemoaning the fact that print to PDF requires me to set page sizes. Also, that having Acrobat create the PDF from a website does the same thing. Today, I decided to search the Internet for a solution. I found a page that says Firefox can use button to do this. The button is installed by Acrobat. So I searched for a way to install it I found no solution. I also found it nowhere on my toolbars or menus in Firefox. So decided to see if it was sitting dormant in Firefox addons. It was. So I enabled it. Voila!

I hate to think how long I've been fretting about not being able to do this. Duh!

But I still don't know how to install the addon without freshly installing Acrobat. Assuming that will do it. But I don't expect that I will ever install Acrobat before Firefox.

   
__________________
fallberry.com

Last edited by Andrew B.; 03-02-2014 at 12:24 PM.
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 01:14 PM   #2
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,929
Default

Quote:
andrew: So decided to see if it was sitting dormant in Firefox addons. It was.
And...don't keep us in suspense...tell us which addon it is...'-}}

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 03:32 PM   #3
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,522
Default

Oh, it's "Adobe Acrobat - Create PDF 1.2." It's from Adobe and I assume Acrobat installed it.

   
__________________
fallberry.com
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 03:59 PM   #4
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,929
Default

Interesting...from a quick look around, it appears that it's an Acrobat 10 (maybe also 9) option--I've got Acrobat 8...

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 04:18 PM   #5
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,522
Default

I have 10 Pro.

   
__________________
fallberry.com
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 06:10 PM   #6
Paul
Member
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New York State
Posts: 268
Default

Acrobat XI Pro installs Create PDF 2.0.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 02:00 PM   #7
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,929
Default

Quote:
paul: Acrobat XI Pro installs Create PDF 2.0.
You know, now that I think about it, maybe 8 offered that also and I didn't choose to do it? Do you remember if the installer gives you a choice?

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 08:54 PM   #8
Paul
Member
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New York State
Posts: 268
Default

I did a "typical" installation, so I wasn't asked. It appears that the installer added it to the list of Firefox extensions, but I had to enable it in Firefox.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2014, 12:40 PM   #9
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,929
Default

Quote:
paul: I did a "typical" installation, so I wasn't asked.
Ahh...thank you...

I always do a custom install if I am given the choice so 8 may well have had the option. When printing web pages, I just choose "print" (or "print preview", then "print") and choose the PDF printer instance and it works just fine so I'm not sure what "Create PDF" would do for me other than what seems to be one-click.

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2014, 01:14 PM   #10
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,522
Default

The print to PDF feature forces printing conventions onto the user, such as paper size.

   
__________________
fallberry.com
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.