DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > The Corner Pub

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-12-2005, 02:36 PM   #1
Anne Wright
Member
 
Anne Wright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Tallahassee Florida USA
Posts: 185
Default

Kathleen, I wish the Internet Publishing forum would move off Compuserve! I was in there reading messages when suddenly I could not get anywhere in the system. So I came here.

Maybe you guys should offer them a forum here? ;-)
Anne
Anne Wright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2005, 04:46 PM   #2
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anne Wright
Kathleen, I wish the Internet Publishing forum would move off Compuserve! I was in there reading messages when suddenly I could not get anywhere in the system. So I came here.

Maybe you guys should offer them a forum here? ;-)
Anne
Sorry you had that problem. I would try to help (though I’m not sure I can — but what, exactly, happened?

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2005, 12:29 AM   #3
LoisWakeman
Staff
 
LoisWakeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Uplyme, Devon, England
Posts: 1,402
Default

Anne - you aren't the only one - and I'm a sysop there!
LoisWakeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2005, 02:15 AM   #4
Franca
Staff
 
Franca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Monterey Bay area, CA
Posts: 2,203
Default

I've been meaning to ask about this for awhile ... I have never been able to get into P-CIS by way of any links from here. I always get an error message telling me that the
Quote:
"Redirection limit for this URL has been exceeded. Unable to load the requested page."
I always have to go in to the P-CIS forums using one of my regular links and try to find the thread mentioned on my own.

   
__________________
..
..Franca

..
Franca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2005, 06:57 AM   #5
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Franca
I've been meaning to ask about this for awhile ... I have never been able to get into P-CIS by way of any links from here. I always get an error message telling me that the I always have to go in to the P-CIS forums using one of my regular links and try to find the thread mentioned on my own.
Really! I have no idea. But it doesn’t sound particularly nice.

Perhaps they don’t want us referring people to the CIS forums? Huh? Makes no sense.

You can look at the URL and get the thread/message name and/or ID and then search on those once you get there.

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2005, 07:06 AM   #6
Franca
Staff
 
Franca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Monterey Bay area, CA
Posts: 2,203
Default

Quote:
Really! I have no idea. But it doesn’t sound particularly nice.
It's not at all nice. Am I the only one who has seen this? I know I'm not the only one using the Firefox/Win XP combo. It's bizarre.

Quote:
Perhaps they don’t want us referring people to the CIS forums? Huh? Makes no sense.
You'd think they'd want any referrals they could get.

Quote:
You can look at the URL and get the thread/message name and/or ID and then search on those once you get there.
True. But not nearly as simple as clicking on the link you so kindly provided. Sigh.

   
__________________
..
..Franca

..
Franca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2005, 09:20 AM   #7
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Franca
It's not at all nice. Am I the only one who has seen this? I know I'm not the only one using the Firefox/Win XP combo.
I doubt it has to do with browser or platform. In fact, the link just worked for me.

For a moment I was thinking it might be the form of the URL, but I just looked and it is the correct format for the long version.

If you think of it, try again later, will you? Curious to know if it is intermittent, a vendetta against Franca, specifically, or something else! :-)

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2005, 09:38 AM   #8
Franca
Staff
 
Franca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Monterey Bay area, CA
Posts: 2,203
Default

It's never been intermittent - I have always gotten the same error. Still do now. I, too, would like to know if it is a vendetta against me!

   
__________________
..
..Franca

..
Franca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2005, 02:12 PM   #9
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Franca
It's not at all nice. Am I the only one who has seen this? I know I'm not the only one using the Firefox/Win XP combo. It's bizarre.

You'd think they'd want any referrals they could get.

True. But not nearly as simple as clicking on the link you so kindly provided. Sigh.
I have been inquiring.

Have you set Firefox to block any of the P-CIS (AOL, Prospero, CompuServe, etc.) cookies? Evidently that is one that that will prompt that error message.

If so, unblock (at least temporarily) and see if the link works.

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 01:51 AM   #10
Franca
Staff
 
Franca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Monterey Bay area, CA
Posts: 2,203
Default

Thank you for looking into this, Kathleen!

I haven't set Firefox to block anything. Every time some site tells me there's a cookie problem I check, but can't find anything in Firefox's settings that would be causing it. I think most of my settings are fairly standard - third-party cookies are blocked, but that shouldn't be a problem, should it? I suppose I could uncheck that temporarily to test ... will do that in a moment. I have pop-up blocking in both Firefox and ZoneAlarm, and banner ads blocked in ZA as well. But ads aren't cookies. That much I know, lol.

Moments later ... well, that's nasty. You have to allow third-party cookies in order to use links to P-CIS threads inserted here. Don't need them for navigating directly in to P-CIS, though, so what's up with that?? Disallowing third-party cookies has always seemed to me to be a standard medium-security setting. Does everyone here allow third-party cookies?

   
__________________
..
..Franca

..
Franca is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.