DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Hardware & Gadgets

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-26-2013, 12:55 AM   #1
johnnyboy
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 127
Default Power option for Laptop

I have a Toshiba Satellite Pro Laptop which I have connected by wifi to my main computer. Despite setting the power options to "never" it will still persist in turning the screen off after a minute. It doesn't do this when not connected. Any thoughts?
johnnyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 07:57 AM   #2
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,742
Default

Generally there are two distinct groups of settings, one for the laptop when it's plugged in, one for when it's running on battery. I assume you're well aware of this, but figured I'd mention it in case not.

When you mention connected vs not connected, do you mean "to a power source" or "by wi-fi to the main computer"?

And is it actually turning the screen off or has it gone into screen saver mode and has no screen saver set, which'd give you a black screen?

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 12:36 PM   #3
BobRoosth
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 933
Default

It is possible there is a BIOS setting for this.....
BobRoosth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 02:06 PM   #4
johnnyboy
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 127
Default

Thanks for the reply Steve. Yes I am aware there are two settings and the problem is present on both.
The laptop is connected by wi-fi to the main computer and is actually very close as I am using it as a resource for a project I am working on. Hence the problem as I have to move the mouse every minute to see.
The screen goes to screensaver.
Perhaps it is worth mentioning that I am using a Sierra Aircard for connecting by wireless to the Net.
johnnyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 04:48 PM   #5
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,528
Default

I've had to deal with this on two different computers. In both cases the location for changing the setting was not obvious. If you tell me your OS version, I might be able to help.

   
__________________
fallberry.com
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 06:30 PM   #6
johnnyboy
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 127
Default

I have just taken the laptop into the local computer shop and rather shamefacedly I have to report that the problem was fixed and it was simple one. Apparently later versions of Windows 7 have a facility for a screensaver to come on after one minute. The girl doing the repair just switched it off and that is that. Sorry if I inconvenienced you all but I certainly was not aware of the change and during my searches on the Net I did not come across it.
johnnyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 07:53 PM   #7
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,528
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyboy View Post
Sorry if I inconvenienced you all but I certainly was not aware of the change and during my searches on the Net I did not come across it.
No problem.

   
__________________
fallberry.com
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 08:08 PM   #8
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,944
Default

Quote:
johnnyboy: Apparently later versions of Windows 7 have a facility for a screensaver to come on after one minute.
I had this nagging thought in the very, very back of my mind and I couldn't bring it to the front. I'm glad the repair shop person realized that's what it was. I hope they didn't charge you too much...



>>Sorry if I inconvenienced you all

Not at all...now that it's fresh in our minds, hopefully we'll remember and be able to offer it as a suggestion in the future...'-}}

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 07:36 PM   #9
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,742
Default

That's what I was suggesting might be the case. Don't feel bad. I normally have this feature enabled on my laptops and have them set to demand a password when the display comes back up. It's a nice security feature. But *every* *&^%$%#-ing* *time* I use them to run a continuous slide show, it runs for a while, then the screensaver kicks in when I'm not watching. I'm probably going to put a big piece of white tape on the deck of the laptop and write "SCREENSAVER!!!" in large unfriendly red letters.

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where to buy power adapter for laptop? Andrew B. Hardware & Gadgets 9 04-18-2013 03:00 PM
Omg thank you for this option! CWM480 How to Use the Forum 3 12-16-2009 12:29 PM
Slow power-up Richard Waller The Corner Pub 19 09-26-2008 01:45 PM
Option Setting in Acrobat Standard 8 RJ Emery Software 5 04-29-2008 08:35 AM
The Power of Joomla! Kelvyn Web Site Building & Maintenance 30 10-07-2005 07:24 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.