DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Print Design

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-26-2012, 12:43 AM   #1
Franca
Staff
 
Franca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Monterey Bay area, CA
Posts: 2,203
Default Corel Draw 12 on Win 7?

I know this is a long shot, but is anybody here using Draw 12 on Win 7? And if so, did you have to do anything special to get it to work properly? XP Mode? Other tweaks?

I was rather surprised, actually, that it appeared to install on my Win 7 laptop without a hitch. I was fully expecting to have to jump through a number of hoops but since that was not the case I assumed everything was fine. Not so. I've had it installed for quite some time but am only now trying to use it for a project and am discovering that there are some missing elements in my files. I thought at first it was because I was opening files that had last been saved in earlier versions of Draw, but I made sure to open one that had been saved in Draw 12 and am encountering the same problem. There were no missing elements in these files when they were opened on my XP machine.

Draw 12 on my XP machine was never patched even though I'm fairly certain there was at least one service pack issued for it. Now it's so old of course Corel doesn't even list Draw 12 on its Patches and Updates page, but I'm not sure a service pack would fix this anyway. Maybe I should have installed it in XP Mode? I should probably just bite the bullet and buy the current version but that doesn't help me with the project I need to get done tomorrow. I thought it would be quick and easy ... wrong! Any ideas for the immediate and/or longterm problem?

   
__________________
..
..Franca

..
Franca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 07:37 AM   #2
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,734
Default

I don't remember the specifics, but I did some poking around and concluded that I'd be better off popping for the upgrade to X5 from 12 when I got the Win7 box.

FWIW, there are two patches available here (no docs, just the exes):

ftp://ftp.corel.com/pub/CorelDRAW/DRAW12Suite/en/

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 11:37 AM   #3
Franca
Staff
 
Franca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Monterey Bay area, CA
Posts: 2,203
Default

Thanks, Steve! I have downloaded the trial version of X6 which is good for 30 days. But first I'm going to try firing up the creaky old XP system and see if I can't just knock off this project there. Last time I fired up the XP machine I had very disturbing weirdness so I unplugged it and have been treating it as dead. But I guess at this point I don't have anything to lose by pressing the button and seeing if it will come up.... Fingers crossed.

   
__________________
..
..Franca

..
Franca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 11:41 AM   #4
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,929
Default

Quote:
franca: I know this is a long shot, but is anybody here using Draw 12 on Win 7?
What vintage is Draw12? Not sure this is useful or not but I installed WordPerfect 8 on my new system and I set the setup.exe Compatibilty to WinXP/SP3 and also used "Run as Admin". I did the same thing for my desktop shortcut. I've not done too much with WP8 but enough that I'm pretty sure it's working ok.

I don't know if this is accurate but what I've found is that when you set Compatibility mode for the install/setup exe--at least using WinXP/SP3--it doesn't appear to put stuff in Win 7's Program Data folder but rather keeps all the software files in the software installation folder wherever that may be--in my case it's my F:\ drive.

What I'd do is uninstall it, reboot, clean up any obvious leftover stuff and then install it again using Compatibilty WinXP (whatever flavor) and Run as Admin. I'd also apply any patches you might find--I applied the WP8 patch before I opened it the first time and I also copied over my prefs from my WinXP install.

Hope that helps...

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 09:24 PM   #5
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,734
Default

Terrie's suggestion is a good one to try; or download XP mode and install under that.

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 10:49 PM   #6
Franca
Staff
 
Franca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Monterey Bay area, CA
Posts: 2,203
Default

I have XP mode already. I was going to try installing under that but CGS X6 seems pretty easy to get along with so I'll probably just end up buying that. Draw 12 was never my favorite. I miss Draw 9 PCE, sigh. Anyway, one advantage of staying current is updated import filters for the latest Illo files. X6 opened an AI file that 12 was refusing to recognize. And X6 will also give me Photo-Paint which is good since I will probably not want to spend the $$$ to update my even older version of Photoshop. I'm resigning myself to spending the money on the Corel products.... The older I get the less I enjoy workarounds. I don't know if Ventura is going to make it onto my Win 7 system.

   
__________________
..
..Franca

..
Franca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 10:54 PM   #7
Franca
Staff
 
Franca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Monterey Bay area, CA
Posts: 2,203
Default

Thanks, Terrie. I would try that but now that I've spent the day using X6 I think I'll end up buying it. It was nice to have something install painlessly and start doing its job without any fuss and bother. Tomorrow I get to find out if my old Epson 3000 will install and print from Win 7. Am so not looking forward to that. But my old HP LJ 4M Plus works so I'm feeling vaguely optimistic.

   
__________________
..
..Franca

..
Franca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 10:11 AM   #8
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,734
Default

Yeah, it used to give that "I beat it!" feeling when you solved these things. Nowadays it's more "Oh lord, do we have to go through THIS again?"

But for me the upgrade to X5 was worth it if only for the improvement in AI imports over 12.

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 10:31 AM   #9
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,929
Default

Quote:
franca: Thanks, Terrie.
You're welcome...


>>I would try that but now that I've spent the day using X6 I think I'll end up buying it. It was nice to have something install painlessly and start doing its job without any fuss and bother.

Yes...I know the feeling...'-}}



>>Tomorrow I get to find out if my old Epson 3000 will install and print from Win 7. Am so not looking forward to that. But my old HP LJ 4M Plus works so I'm feeling vaguely optimistic.

Epson is definitely better about supplying the Win7 drivers than HP given my experience with my Epson 4000 and my HP 2200D so I'll bet you won't have any problems with your Epson 3000...

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 11:06 AM   #10
Franca
Staff
 
Franca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Monterey Bay area, CA
Posts: 2,203
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terrie View Post
Epson is definitely better about supplying the Win7 drivers than HP given my experience with my Epson 4000 and my HP 2200D so I'll bet you won't have any problems with your Epson 3000...
Hope you're right! Cautiously optimistic. We have a little Canon we can use in a pinch but it can't handle the larger size paper.

   
__________________
..
..Franca

..
Franca is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corel Andrew B. Software 3 03-02-2011 02:34 PM
Corel Draw PDF Problem BobRoosth Print Design 9 02-07-2009 04:16 PM
How to draw a ribbon JABTE05 Images 11 10-14-2005 05:45 PM
Corel Seeks Beta Testers for Draw Suite Andrew B. Software 1 07-19-2005 12:52 PM
Corel Draw Essentials 2 Sandy Software 8 03-17-2005 07:12 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.