DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2012, 03:00 AM   #1
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,528
Default Run dBase DOS apps on Windows

I got an email from dBase saying the DOS apps can now be run on newer versions of Windows.

http://dbdos.com/

http://www.dbase.com/webinar.php

Anyone here still use dBase?

   
__________________
fallberry.com
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 08:37 AM   #2
LoisWakeman
Staff
 
LoisWakeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Uplyme, Devon, England
Posts: 1,402
Default

No . I wonder if anyone will hack Homesite to run on Windows 7 without annoying security warnings?
LoisWakeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 12:17 PM   #3
Barrie Greed
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Stringston, Somerset,UK
Posts: 111
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoisWakeman View Post
No . I wonder if anyone will hack Homesite to run on Windows 7 without annoying security warnings?
I must be doing something wrong. I'm running Homesite+ 5.5, the version that came bundled with Dreamweaver 8, on Win 7 without any security warnings. I demand my security warnings!

Are you running a different version?

Barrie Greed
Barrie Greed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 06:10 AM   #4
LoisWakeman
Staff
 
LoisWakeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Uplyme, Devon, England
Posts: 1,402
Default

No, the same one. Every time I launch it the screen blacks out and it "bongs" at me, asking if I want to let this program change my computer. I've already asked W7 to optimise it for compatibility.

I could probably turn off the group security policy without much danger?
LoisWakeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 11:03 AM   #5
Barrie Greed
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Stringston, Somerset,UK
Posts: 111
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoisWakeman View Post
No, the same one. Every time I launch it the screen blacks out and it "bongs" at me, asking if I want to let this program change my computer. I've already asked W7 to optimise it for compatibility.

I could probably turn off the group security policy without much danger?
I'm afraid I'm no expert on Windows Security so couldn't advise on turning off group security. I have not made any security changes other than install Zone Alarm and AVG anti virus. Otherwise Win 7 is running as it came.

One of Windows little mysteries.

Barrie Greed
Barrie Greed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 11:55 AM   #6
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,528
Default

Some of my current Windows program ask me the same question every time.

   
__________________
fallberry.com
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 12:23 PM   #7
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,944
Default

Quote:
lois: Every time I launch it the screen blacks out and it "bongs" at me, asking if I want to let this program change my computer. I've already asked W7 to optimise it for compatibility.
It's been a while since I've worked on W7--set up one of my sisters' ultrabook notebook with W7--but have you right clicked the desktop icon for the software and looked at the options? If I'm remembering correctly there are compatibility options (run as WinXP?) and also options about security--I think you can tell W7 to remember that you've allowed this software?

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 02:51 PM   #8
iamback
Member
 
iamback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Posts: 4,894
Default

'Group security'?? What on earth would you want such a thing for?

It sounds like one of those things of Windows that I never tolerate (like hiding file extensions).

   
__________________
Marjolein Katsma
Look through my eyes on Cultural Surfaces (soon!), My ArtFlakes shop and Flickr.
Occasionally I am also connecting online dots... and sometimes you can follow me on Marjolein's Travel Blog
iamback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 02:37 AM   #9
LoisWakeman
Staff
 
LoisWakeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Uplyme, Devon, England
Posts: 1,402
Default

Yes, I did that already, and it makes no difference, sadly.
LoisWakeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 02:39 AM   #10
LoisWakeman
Staff
 
LoisWakeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Uplyme, Devon, England
Posts: 1,402
Default

If you were an average user and went to dodgy web sites and accepted chain emails with dodgy links, and didn't run AV software, then I'm sure you'd be glad of it to protect you from running unknown software. Remember that us geeks are no longer the target audience of most operating systems - which is why only a few of us get exercised by MS or Apple knowing best!
LoisWakeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dBase, anyone Andrew B. Software 9 01-17-2012 03:54 PM
iPhone protective apps? terrie Software 4 10-05-2011 12:16 PM
Can 32 Bit apps run on Win 7 64 Bit? terrie Software 39 08-31-2011 07:39 PM
Web apps for iPhone, anyone? Steve Rindsberg Web Design 10 07-16-2007 08:15 AM
Adobe apps and MS Vista Andrew B. General Publishing Topics 28 03-30-2007 05:26 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.