DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-13-2005, 02:29 PM   #11
marlene
Staff
 
marlene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,419
Default

VueScan changed my life.

I have an aged Polaroid SprintScan 35 Plus slide scanner, which stopped working properly (with the Polaroid software) after a couple of years. It started producing calibration errors (which would abort the scanning process). Sometimes I had to attempt a scan over a dozen times before it would calibrate and complete the scanning process.

I put up with this nonsense for years because I didn't want to pay Polaroid the hundreds of bucks they said it would cost to repair the scanner. Then a Polaroid dude at a trade show said the problem wasn't hardware, but software. Updating software and drivers didn't help at all.

Then someone suggested that I try the VueScan demo. And the Polaroid loved it. I bought the Pro version of VueScan, and although I find it confusing to use (it's rather advanced for me), I have not had one single calibration error in the year I've been using it.

And my scan results are much better, although I suspect they'd be even better still if I were more knowledgeable about the program.

mxh
marlene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2005, 11:02 AM   #12
Molly/CA
Member
 
Molly/CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Central California
Posts: 235
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by michelen
I finally gave up and started using the HP software that came with my scanner. When I get a new scanner, I'll have another look at it.

Regards,
Michele
If you get a new HP scanner you won't believe the software it comes with!! ANYTHING that bypasses it would be preferable. When I got it my 8200 flatbed was the top of the midrange and "recommended" for offices etc. --the software is by and for idiots. And it's not practical to scan direct to PS (or my OCR program, Presto), because the default resolution is 200 dpi (this in a scanner whose major selling point is its fantastic optical res capabilities) and you have to reset it with every picture you scan (and can't reset at all with Presto --you have to scan to a file and open the file, as 200dpi isn't good enough for OCR).

Try to test-drive any HP scanner you think of buying and see if you can live with the software. I'm hoping there will be a shakeup with the new management but it could be from semifunctional idiocy to drooling-in-the-shoes idiocy.

Thus: thank you thank you thank you, all, for the VueScan posts!
Molly/CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2005, 04:17 PM   #13
Molly/CA
Member
 
Molly/CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Central California
Posts: 235
Default

Hey, I owe you BIG TIME for the link to Vue Scan and I don't more than a tenth know how to use it yet! (more like a hundredth.) Just cram everything you can onto the scanner bed and go to it. Crop frame is easy and it just scans, saves or whatever, and you go to the next. Almost like the good old days only better. Vue Scan handled the best the HP 8200 can do with no problem (more than you can say for its own software) --48 bit 2400dpi (optical). Photoshop's got some gripe with it at the moment --it was loading the scans OK yesterday so presumably it's fixable. Says it can't display because it's not the right kind of file (TIF). For the first time, I'm having fun with the scanner.
Molly/CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2005, 04:36 PM   #14
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Molly/CA
Hey, I owe you BIG TIME for the link to Vue Scan … For the first time, I'm having fun with the scanner.
Yoy! That is good news. Now I just wish I could have fun with my scanner! <g>

Do give us a mini-tutorial.

(How are you doing? I think often of you with your legs up in the air!)

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2005, 06:18 PM   #15
Molly/CA
Member
 
Molly/CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Central California
Posts: 235
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ktinkel
Do give us a mini-tutorial.
I was going to ask you.

Things are getting better, I can do more (not enough! Things are growing unbelievably in this cold rainy spring --might as well live in New England.). Still lots of feet-up though.
Molly/CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Google scanning project dthomsen8 General Publishing Topics 11 01-26-2007 02:52 PM
Scanning & Newton's rings john_b Images 17 01-09-2007 07:58 AM
Scanning Paintings iamback Images 2 07-20-2006 04:27 AM
How much to charge for scanning? dcdesigngirl Images 15 06-29-2006 06:59 PM
Scanning resolution Adrian Images 9 07-24-2005 08:25 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.