DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Print Design

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-16-2010, 04:04 PM   #1
BobRoosth
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 933
Default Using ID CS3

Working on a new project in ID. Lots of multipage, two column articles. I don't know autoflow because it insists on placing one column frames. Is there any way to convince it to use two column frames? How about CS4 or CS5?
BobRoosth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 04:10 PM   #2
Howard Allen
Member
 
Howard Allen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 824
Default

Why not make two-column master pages? Then just add as many new pages (or new spreads) as you need, and flow into those.

   
__________________
Howard

OSX 10.10.5
Howard Allen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 05:00 PM   #3
BobRoosth
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 933
Default

The pages are two column. But autoflow insists on placing two frames per page.
BobRoosth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2010, 02:18 PM   #4
Robin Springall
Member
 
Robin Springall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ealing Common, London W5, where I duplicate CDs and DVDs.
Posts: 1,259
Default

I can flow text across a number of two-column frames in CS2. (Or have I got the wrong end of the stick here?)

   
__________________
Robin
Intellectually challenged, alcoholically propelled
Robin Springall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2010, 03:43 PM   #5
BobRoosth
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 933
Default

If the linked frames already existed, that works, but Shift-Clicking with a loaded text cursor on an empty underlying page, yields one frame per each column. I find it easier to work with frames that are the width of all the columns and internally divided into columns.
BobRoosth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 03:11 PM   #6
Robin Springall
Member
 
Robin Springall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ealing Common, London W5, where I duplicate CDs and DVDs.
Posts: 1,259
Default

Ah, I see what you mean (sorry, bit dim...) ID CS4 works in the way you describe; dunno about CS5, but Adobe were trumpeting about how they've improved column handling so you might want to download the trial version.

   
__________________
Robin
Intellectually challenged, alcoholically propelled
Robin Springall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 06:16 PM   #7
BobRoosth
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 933
Default

Installed the trial. I see one or two things I like, but no change to Autoflow that I can see. I think the changes to Photoshop and the 64 bit code might make the upgrade worth while. Have to review finances first.... Every Adobe upgrade is pricey.
BobRoosth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 04:27 PM   #8
Howard Allen
Member
 
Howard Allen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 824
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobRoosth View Post
The pages are two column. But autoflow insists on placing two frames per page.
OK, I see what you mean. Weird. After trying innumerable combinations and permutations, the only thing I can figure out that will do what you want is to create your master pages with included text frames, already set up in two columns. The quickest way to do this is to check the "Master Text Frame" box in the New Document dialog. Otherwise, you'll have to create a two-column text frame (Object/Text Frame Options...) and stick it on the master page(s) yourself; that way, every time you insert a new page into the document, it will have the two-column frame pre-made, and text will autoflow into it in two columns.

   
__________________
Howard

OSX 10.10.5
Howard Allen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 05:45 PM   #9
BobRoosth
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 933
Default

Exactly what I want. Thanks. Unfortunately, I did not select that when I created the document and it is not a modifiable option...... 80 pages into this this, I doubt it is worth trying this year's book. Next year is a different story....
BobRoosth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 06:01 PM   #10
Howard Allen
Member
 
Howard Allen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 824
Default

Bob--

You could just duplicate whatever master page you've been using up to this point, then change the duplicate by including a two-column text frame. Then, start applying your subsequent new pages to that master, instead of to the old one. This would leave the already laid-out pages as they are.

   
__________________
Howard

OSX 10.10.5
Howard Allen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.