DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-24-2010, 07:28 PM   #1
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,528
Default Win 7 AppData, Tweaks, Oddities

According to my research, Win 7 stores application data in:

\Users\<user>\AppData\Roaming

When I drill down from the C: drive that folder does not exist. When I search for a file that should be somewhere under this branch, I find the file along with a breadcrumb that shows the above path. I can step up this breadcrumb path to the C: root. But I can't drill back down because Appdata does not appear as a folder in Explorer.

If I can't point to AppData, how am I supposed to back it up? How am I supposed to get to the application without guessing the name of a file that might be there and searching?

Last edited by Andrew B.; 06-25-2010 at 09:41 PM.
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2010, 07:50 PM   #2
BobRoosth
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 933
Default

Have you used Tools->Folder Options->View to "Show hidden files and folders"? I think that is the trick. If the menu does not appear, use the Alt key to make it appear. Somehow I got mine to stay put, but do not recall how.
BobRoosth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2010, 08:29 PM   #3
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,528
Default

Thanks. It was the Alt key that made the difference. I wish I could figure out how to make it stick.
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2010, 09:00 PM   #4
BobRoosth
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 933
Default

On that same view menu, check Always show menus. I am setting up my own new laptop, running into the same issues.
BobRoosth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 09:43 AM   #5
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,528
Default

In addition to showing files, I also saw a choice in there for "show all folders." I tried it both ways. Do you have an opinion about this one?
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 10:42 AM   #6
BobRoosth
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 933
Default

None. Not sure how much difference it makes. I do typically set the view to Details and force that on all folders. One feature of XP that has been dropped is the ability of Explorer to remember the size of every folder window. In XP, if you resized a folder to small, it would be small the next time you opened it. Not so in Win 7. Bugs me because I have folder full of RDP entries. I'd like it to open small in List view. Did in XP; doesn't now....
BobRoosth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 01:32 PM   #7
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,944
Default

Quote:
bob: One feature of XP that has been dropped is the ability of Explorer to remember the size of every folder window.
Is there a TweakUI for Win7? Have you checked annoyances.org as they usually have really good info on tweaking the various Win versions...

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 01:45 PM   #8
Michael Rowley
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ipswich (the one in England)
Posts: 5,105
Default

Terrie:
Quote:
Is there a TweakUI for Win7?
I don't think there is: there certainly wasn't one for Vista. However, there may be a third-party application one that imitates TweakUI.

   
__________________
Michael
Michael Rowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 03:05 PM   #9
BobRoosth
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 933
Default

Google turns up this. Have not tried it. What do you want to tweak?
BobRoosth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 09:46 PM   #10
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,528
Default

Too bad. I never understand why software companies drop useful features. Well, unless they think not enough people use it to make it worth fiddling with in the next release.

Anyway, something odd happened today. On the laptop I could not see my desktop computer on the network. Last night I saw it. So I looked from the desktop, and I could see my laptop. I copied some files over, and then looked at the laptop. Still could not see the desktop. So later was fiddling on some unrelated stuff and all of a sudden there it is.

I've never seen Windows to be a solid operation system. I keep hoping though.
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.