DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2005, 07:59 PM   #1
annc
Sysop
 
annc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Subtropical Queensland, Australia, between the mountains and the Coral Sea
Posts: 4,434
Default BBEdit to the rescue

What's a thread about BBEdit doing in this section, I hear you ask. Read on.

Amongst a heap of photos that came with a job from a client the other day was a photo without a .jpg extension. Photoshop wouldn't open it, Preview wouldn't open it, and InDesign wouldn't import it. Stuffit Expander refused to have anything to do with it, saying it was neither compressed nor encoded. When I selected it in the Finder, the file preview said it was a Unix executable, which I interpreted as meaning it didn't know what to do with it. The client said it should have been a JPEG, but admitted it had lost its .jpg extension somewhere along the line.

Anyway, curious as to what it really was, I dragged the file over the BBEdit icon in the Dock, and it opened as a photo. There was no way I could save it (all the Save options were greyed out), but I could print it, so I printed it to PDF, and opened the PDF in Photoshop.

Photoshop seemed to find everything it needed, and even uncompressed it. The original file was around 150KB, and the PDF in Photoshop is 3.31MB.

Three cheers for BBEdit.

And Photoshop, after it was given some data to work with.

   
__________________
annc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2005, 08:02 PM   #2
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,500
Default

Did you try adding an extension?
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2005, 08:11 PM   #3
annc
Sysop
 
annc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Subtropical Queensland, Australia, between the mountains and the Coral Sea
Posts: 4,434
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew B.
Did you try adding an extension?
Yes, I added .jpg. But the Mac isn't fooled by extensions the way PCs are, because it has other ways of determining file types, and keeps track of both type and creator.

   
__________________
annc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2005, 09:49 PM   #4
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,500
Default

On the PC it is not necessarily driven by the extension. My copy of ACDSee Classic will display a jpeg even if I give it a txt extension, or no extension. In contrast, Photoshop Win needs the extension to be correct.
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 12:49 PM   #5
annc
Sysop
 
annc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Subtropical Queensland, Australia, between the mountains and the Coral Sea
Posts: 4,434
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew B.
On the PC it is not necessarily driven by the extension. My copy of ACDSee Classic will display a jpeg even if I give it a txt extension, or no extension. In contrast, Photoshop Win needs the extension to be correct.
Hmm, I wasn't aware of that. How common is it?

Extensions are not obligatory on the Mac, and in fact, many applications don't automatically assign one. So Photoshop Mac doesn't take much notice of the extension. In fact, I can save a document out of Photoshop as a Photoshop document, and give it a .jpg extension. It's still a Photoshop document, however, not a JPEG. The Mac OS (and Mac applications) use the Type and Creator to decide what sort of document it is in the Open dialogue box.

   
__________________
annc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 08:25 PM   #6
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,500
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by annc
Hmm, I wasn't aware of that. How common is it?
I don't know. I just notice it on some programs, and appreciate when the programmer goes to the effort to teach the program how to read the file. And btw, the lastest ACDSee can't do this. But my early Classic version can.

It always struck me as odd that a pro level program like Photoshop is so weak at dealing with imperfect files. Or maybe it was only designed for people who work in rarefied environments where everything is taken care of before the retouch person gets it. Because I've had several photos that I had fix with other programs before Photoshop could load them.
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CSSEdit 2 to the Rescue! Daudio Web Design 2 01-30-2007 01:42 PM
BBEdit add-ons for PHP ktinkel Web Site Building & Maintenance 0 06-26-2006 08:01 AM
BBEdit $99 sale (Mac) ktinkel Web Site Building & Maintenance 6 10-07-2005 06:27 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.