DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Hardware & Gadgets

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-25-2009, 03:30 AM   #21
Benwiggy
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: London
Posts: 451
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ktinkel View Post
Printed out a Network Config report from the HP printer that said the IP address was “Configuring.” Not too useful. It did show IPs for the subnet mask and default gateway, but neither of them worked.

Once I figure out the IP address, I will re-connect by ethernet and try them.

Where should I be seeing the NetStat tab? Not in the Network Utility that I can see. I know I have used it in the past, but do not find it now.
I would explicitly set a manual IP address for your printer, rather than let it take one from the DHCP server on your router. That way, if the router changes the printer's IP address, you don't lose the connection on your Mac. You should be able to set the IP on the printer's control panel.
That having been said, if it supports Bonjour, then you should be able to use that instead of mucking about with IP addresses.

There should be a Netstat tab in the Network Utility. Might be different under Tiger, however.
Benwiggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 05:01 AM   #22
Mike
Staff
 
Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Llanwrtyd Wells
Posts: 1,450
Default

I've just remembered something else about installing the HP2605 printer. If the system prefs add printer didn't work I found that installing from the print dialogue box of any application was more successful.

Choose print and then choose the printer pop-up menu. Then find the printer in the Bonjour section.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 1.png
Views:	20
Size:	91.2 KB
ID:	1511  

   
__________________
Mike

www.welshframing.com
Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 07:23 AM   #23
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike View Post
I've just remembered something else about installing the HP2605 printer. If the system prefs add printer didn't work I found that installing from the print dialogue box of any application was more successful.

Choose print and then choose the printer pop-up menu. Then find the printer in the Bonjour section.
That’s interesting — thanks.

When I hook it up again to ethernet I will try all these things.

Does anyone know what would happen if I had both ethernet and USB connections at the same time? Printer psychosis?

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 04:50 PM   #24
BobRoosth
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 933
Default

Should work with either interface. Might be some confusion if you feed large print jobs on both at the same time. My HP 1320 has both connections. I rarely use the USB, but I have.

I suspect you need a new JetDirect card. You should be able to find one on eBay.
BobRoosth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 05:20 PM   #25
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobRoosth View Post
Should work with either interface. Might be some confusion if you feed large print jobs on both at the same time. My HP 1320 has both connections. I rarely use the USB, but I have.
I think there would be two printers listed, so I should be able to select one or the other. Maybe I’ll try that — save some plugging and unplugging. The place where the connections go on the printer is very narrow, and I have already broken one fingernail on it!

Quote:
I suspect you need a new JetDirect card. You should be able to find one on eBay.
What is a JetDirect card? Is that the card HP uses in its printers? Anyway, might be worth a try.

Thanks.

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CMYK spot color and Pantone Spot Color Omek Print Design 10 03-23-2009 02:41 PM
H-P 2605dn: Recalibrating? ktinkel General Publishing Topics 8 10-25-2006 05:40 AM
Color problems in InDesign preflight RogerB Print Design 4 07-19-2006 11:38 PM
Solving color printer problems ktinkel Images 12 08-03-2005 05:26 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.