DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Hardware & Gadgets

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2009, 02:03 PM   #1
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default External hard drives

I am finally replacing my sick-sounding Seagate 750 GB external. Probably going to get a 1TB OWC Mercury Elite-AL Pro drive from Other World Computing.

Have to decide whether to spring an extra $20 for a 32MB cache (otherwise ships with 16MB) and whether to pay another $35 for a quad interface, on the off chance that I might need eSATA some day. (But if so, and if I really wanted to salvage an aging drive at that point, couldn’t I just put it in a new box?)

Anyone have any adverse reports on these drives? I do not find them mentioned on the hard drive discussions on Macintouch or anywhere else, particularly. Kind of eerie.

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 10:01 AM   #2
Howard Allen
Member
 
Howard Allen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 824
Default

Kathleen--

ISTR seeing consistently good reviews of the OWC drives in MacWorld in the past, but I have no first-hand experience. I know nada about drive caches, so can't offer any advice--other than the old chestnut "you can never be too slim or have too much memory...". $20 doesn't sound like much, but if you get no noticeable performance boost, its value is questionable.

I would be tempted to pay the $35 for the quad interface. You could turn your question about salvaging an aging drive around: ISTM that, a few years down the road, it's more likely that the drive is going to need replacing before the box, so it would be an easy job putting a new drive in the old box. And you'd still have the "older" interface options of USB2, FW400 and FW800 for use with any older computers, in case any of these standards became obsolete (Apple seems to have been ambivalent in its support of FW400 and FW800 in some of its computer offerings in the past couple of years: on some machines it omits one or the other, causing repeated cries of "does this signal the end of FWx00?"). Maybe in 5 years you won't have a machine that uses FW400 (as an example), but it would be nice to have a drive that--in a pinch--could be connected to an old FW400-bearing machine at a friend's house to salvage some files in an emergency. More choices might be a good thing. Having said that, I have a 4-interface "G-Drive Q" (or is it a "Q-Drive G"?) and I've only ever used the FW400 port. I have no computers with eSATA or FW800 ports--but I may at some stage.

Finally, it might be a good thing that you're not seeing any discussion of the OWC drives on Macintouch--that's largely a forum for airing complaints about dodgy equipment.

   
__________________
Howard

OSX 10.10.5
Howard Allen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 01:42 PM   #3
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Howard Allen View Post
I would be tempted to pay the $35 for the quad interface. You could turn your question about salvaging an aging drive around: ISTM that, a few years down the road, it's more likely that the drive is going to need replacing before the box, so it would be an easy job putting a new drive in the old box. And you'd still have the "older" interface options of USB2, FW400 and FW800 for use with any older computers, in case any of these standards became obsolete …
Well, I ordered it without. I can repent at leisure, if repentance is required! There are both FW400 and USB2 to choose between. (For my old machines, I would probably need USB1, or SCSI!)

Quote:
Finally, it might be a good thing that you're not seeing any discussion of the OWC drives on Macintouch--that's largely a forum for airing complaints about dodgy equipment.
Oh, absolutely. That was what I was getting at. I have faith in Macintouch. In fact I was a subscriber to its newsletter before it moved to — before there was, and then wasn’t — MacWeek.

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 02:13 PM   #4
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,944
Default

Quote:
kt: There are both FW400 and USB2 to choose between. (For my old machines, I would probably need USB1, or SCSI!)
I'm pretty sure that USB2 is backward compatible with USB1...

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 02:57 PM   #5
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terrie View Post
I'm pretty sure that USB2 is backward compatible with USB1...
But it is the computers that have USB1, and I don’t think I could hook a USB2 hub or device up to them. Or am I being unduly pessimistic?

And then there are floppies and SCSI. I have half a dozen SCSI devices — including, fortunately, an ancient CD burner — sitting next to my Mac 7500, which lacks a monitor, waiting for me to hook something up so I can snag the junk on that machine.

I tried networking it, but couldn’t work out how to get it to appear on my main network. Just thinking about all this gives me a headache.

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 06:10 PM   #6
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,742
Default

Terrie's right. USB2 devices should work fine with USB1 ports on computers. Just slower than they're capable of is all.

Some Windows boxes INSIST on "warning" you that your USB2 device is hooked up to a USB1 port and won't perform up to its maximum. Not that you, the owner of a USB1-only computer would ever have expected it to perform faster than its capable of ... but maybe Bill figured you were shorted on today's dose of abuse and is making it up to you.

Floppies? USB floppy drives are inexpensive.

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 06:15 PM   #7
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Rindsberg View Post
Terrie's right. USB2 devices should work fine with USB1 ports on computers. Just slower than they're capable of is all.

Some Windows boxes INSIST on "warning" you that your USB2 device is hooked up to a USB1 port and won't perform up to its maximum. Not that you, the owner of a USB1-only computer would ever have expected it to perform faster than its capable of ... but maybe Bill figured you were shorted on today's dose of abuse and is making it up to you.

Floppies? USB floppy drives are inexpensive.
Thanks. I didn’t realize I could use USB2 in a USB1 port. And thanks for the idea of getting a USB floppy drive.

Now, about SCSI devices …

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 07:22 PM   #8
JVegVT
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: northern New England, USA
Posts: 510
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ktinkel View Post
Thanks. I didn’t realize I could use USB2 in a USB1 port.
You can, but it will be VERY, VERY sloooow. USB2 is theoretically about 40 times faster than USB1.1.
--Judy M.

   
__________________
Registered Linux User #397786
Being productive with VectorLinux 7 Standard
JVegVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 02:33 AM   #9
Mike
Staff
 
Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Llanwrtyd Wells
Posts: 1,450
Default

When I was looking for a new external drive I decided the best bet would be to get one with an ethernet interface that I could connect to by router. That way all of the computers could share it.

It also means that Time Machine on the laptop can continue to function wherever I am in the house.

   
__________________
Mike

www.welshframing.com
Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 07:51 AM   #10
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,742
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ktinkel View Post
Thanks. I didn’t realize I could use USB2 in a USB1 port. And thanks for the idea of getting a USB floppy drive.

Now, about SCSI devices …
Yeah. SCSI devices.

I googled "scsi to usb" and got quite a few hits, including one for a gadget from Adaptec:

http://www.google.com/products/catal...m=1#ps-sellers

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard drives: SMART analyzers ktinkel Hardware & Gadgets 3 01-30-2009 03:30 PM
Archiving and hard drives ktinkel Hardware & Gadgets 11 09-19-2008 08:05 AM
External hard drives ktinkel Hardware & Gadgets 52 01-23-2008 04:53 AM
USB floppy drives (external) ktinkel Hardware & Gadgets 28 10-29-2007 06:44 AM
External hard drives annc General Publishing Topics 11 11-25-2005 02:07 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.