DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-27-2008, 10:28 PM   #41
ElyseC
Sysop Emeritus
 
ElyseC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: southeastern Iowa, in the technology corridor
Posts: 2,190
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Rindsberg View Post
When I fired up my neighbor's new Mac, it asked for a few basic bits (what language did I want it to speak) then wanted to know if I had an older Mac and did I want to transfer my stuff.

Well sure.

It gave me a couple connection options (network, firewire) and from then on it led me step by step through the process, telling me exactly what to do at each step. Very simple.
Oh how very cool! Here I've been thinking I'd have to drag the old machine with me on the 2.5 hour trek to the nearest Apple Store, so they could do the transfer for me (and be stuck cooling my heels at that mall all day while they do it)!

Now...any idea what the setup software would do if the new Mac has just one internal hard drive and the old one has two internals? I'd hope that as long as the new internal was big enough to hold the contents of both internals it would transfer both, perhaps putting the contents of the non-boot drive into a folder of the same name.

   
__________________
Elyse
ElyseC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 09:41 AM   #42
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,742
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElyseC View Post
Oh how very cool! Here I've been thinking I'd have to drag the old machine with me on the 2.5 hour trek to the nearest Apple Store, so they could do the transfer for me (and be stuck cooling my heels at that mall all day while they do it)!

Now...any idea what the setup software would do if the new Mac has just one internal hard drive and the old one has two internals? I'd hope that as long as the new internal was big enough to hold the contents of both internals it would transfer both, perhaps putting the contents of the non-boot drive into a folder of the same name.
I don't know how it'd have dealt with two internals. Transferring the boot drive would be cake, if it goes as smoothly as it did here.

For the other one, could you share it over the network? Or isn't there some way you can set it up in whatzitcalled, target mode?

Is this a laptop or desktop? If it's a desktop, you could pull the drive and hook it up to a USB port on the new machine using one of these type of thingies:

http://www.byteccusa.com/product/ada...300/BT-300.htm

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 12:12 PM   #43
annc
Sysop
 
annc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Subtropical Queensland, Australia, between the mountains and the Coral Sea
Posts: 4,436
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElyseC View Post
Hm...so as long as I get the new machine to see and be seen by the Airport base station, I then fire up some migration app that will automatically make itself obvious on the new machine and set it to clone over to the new one?
Steve explains the process very well in his reply. It's totally painless, and everything works afterwards, including all the connections and passwords and links.

   
__________________
annc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 08:47 PM   #44
ElyseC
Sysop Emeritus
 
ElyseC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: southeastern Iowa, in the technology corridor
Posts: 2,190
Default

Or I could get another external drive, USB 2.0, and manually copy everything from internal #2 to that, then copy over what I want from there.

   
__________________
Elyse
ElyseC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 08:50 PM   #45
ElyseC
Sysop Emeritus
 
ElyseC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: southeastern Iowa, in the technology corridor
Posts: 2,190
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by annc View Post
Steve explains the process very well in his reply. It's totally painless, and everything works afterwards, including all the connections and passwords and links.
Excellent news. Aliases might not work, but in the grand scheme of things those are easy to sort out.

   
__________________
Elyse
ElyseC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 10:02 PM   #46
annc
Sysop
 
annc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Subtropical Queensland, Australia, between the mountains and the Coral Sea
Posts: 4,436
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElyseC View Post
Excellent news. Aliases might not work, but in the grand scheme of things those are easy to sort out.
They should work. I seem to recall that mine did.

   
__________________
annc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2008, 10:19 AM   #47
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,742
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElyseC View Post
Or I could get another external drive, USB 2.0, and manually copy everything from internal #2 to that, then copy over what I want from there.
That'd certainly work, and what with Black Friday/CyberMonday sales, there are some very nice deals on externals available at the moment.

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2008, 12:25 PM   #48
don Arnoldy
Curmudgeon
 
don Arnoldy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 493
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElyseC View Post
HOWEVER, if it's really REALLY simple to transfer yourself like you did, I could buy the new stuff on line, do the auto-transfer thing myself and save myself a lot of lugging, gasoline and time driving 2.5 hours one way to the nearest Apple Store.
I have done such transfers a few times over the last year...
When you start up the new computer, it asks if you want to transfer stuff. Say yes, connect the two machines with a firewire cable, T-boot the old machine, select the categories of things you want to transfer, and hit the button, then wait a (longish) while for it to process.

I wouldn't drive 2.5 hours to have somebody else do it.

--don

   
__________________
--don
don Arnoldy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 02:10 PM   #49
dthomsen8
Member
 
dthomsen8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA 19130
Posts: 2,158
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike View Post
OK, I phoned the freephone number and they gave me a code that sorted everything out.

Pretty painless.

Still don't like activation, though. I do wonder how much money software houses really lose through piracy of serious software - i.e. how many people buy the product because they can't pirate it.
I am struggling with ESET NOD32 Anti-Virus, which works fine on my newer Windows XP computer. On my older WinXP computer, the license expired and I bought a new license after downloading the trial version. Now I can't get the new version to work. I have all the activation information, tried to uninstall and reinstall, and now I am awaiting help from the support people again.

What I wonder is whether computer users change to a different software product after hassles like mine. Of course, they may still encounger a hassle with other software.
dthomsen8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 08:55 PM   #50
ElyseC
Sysop Emeritus
 
ElyseC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: southeastern Iowa, in the technology corridor
Posts: 2,190
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by don Arnoldy View Post
I have done such transfers a few times over the last year...
When you start up the new computer, it asks if you want to transfer stuff. Say yes, connect the two machines with a firewire cable, T-boot the old machine, select the categories of things you want to transfer, and hit the button, then wait a (longish) while for it to process.
Have never T-booted a computer, so hopefully it's easy going from tower with two drives to either a MacBook Pro or iMac with just one drive.

When you did it, if the machine being copied had two drives, did the transfer process offer to let you txfr both drives' stuff or just the boot drive?

   
__________________
Elyse
ElyseC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adobe CS Suite activation transfer ktinkel Software 18 11-03-2007 04:15 PM
New computer setup really a pain ktinkel Hardware & Gadgets 15 10-23-2007 10:27 AM
Adobe CS2 de/re-activation process ktinkel General Publishing Topics 3 05-11-2006 08:31 AM
Font Agent: ID CS2 auto-activation plugin ktinkel Fonts & Typography 0 10-07-2005 07:26 AM
Font "activation" by font managers lindaniel Fonts & Typography 5 07-02-2005 12:39 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.