DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Fonts & Typography

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-16-2008, 08:29 PM   #1
marlene
Staff
 
marlene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,419
Default Arena condensed

I've inherited an InDesign file that is squalling for the Arena Condensed family. I do have a PDF of the file -- Arena is a sans serif font. Type 1, I think.

A search of the usual font vendors (admittedly not an exhaustive search) hasn't turned up anything except a Berthold serif font -- definitely not it.

I found one web site:

http://www.kandjsupplies.com/text_fo...condensed.html

that shows what does appear to be the correct font. But they seem to sell fonts by subscription, and I don't want to subscribe, no matter how many fonts I can download.

I'm guessing Arena is a knockoff of something, but I don't know what. If anyone recognizes the face on that web page, please let me know ...

mxh
marlene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 11:58 PM   #2
Mike
Staff
 
Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Llanwrtyd Wells
Posts: 1,450
Default

I have a couple of versions of Arena Condensed. One came from a Keyfonts collection published in 1990 and the other is a WSI font.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ArenCond.gif
Views:	14
Size:	7.0 KB
ID:	1352  

   
__________________
Mike

www.welshframing.com

Last edited by Mike; 09-17-2008 at 12:24 AM.
Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 06:26 AM   #3
marlene
Staff
 
marlene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,419
Default

Brilliant! When I read your message, I immediately remembered that I bought some Keyfonts a really, really long time ago. I found the box in the basement -- "Keyfonts for Windows 3.1" -- and the fonts are on floppies!

But Arena is included, at least most of them. It doesn't have the Condensed Light, but that's only used on a couple of lines of text and maybe nobody will notice if it's in Condensed Regular.

Ta!

mxh
marlene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 08:19 AM   #4
Howard Allen
Member
 
Howard Allen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 824
Default

From what I can see, it looks like a condensed version of Helvetica. The "Aa", "Gg", "Rr" and other characters seem to be drawn pretty much identically to Helvetica. At the very least, I'd bet that a condensed Helvetica would make a good substitute, if you have trouble getting that Arena font off your floppies.

   
__________________
Howard

OSX 10.10.5
Howard Allen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 01:37 PM   #5
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marlene View Post
Brilliant! When I read your message, I immediately remembered that I bought some Keyfonts a really, really long time ago. I found the box in the basement -- "Keyfonts for Windows 3.1" -- and the fonts are on floppies!

But Arena is included, at least most of them. It doesn't have the Condensed Light, but that's only used on a couple of lines of text and maybe nobody will notice if it's in Condensed Regular.
I think Howard has it right — it is (yet another) knockoff of Helvetica.

I set the same array in Neue Helvetica Light Condensed, and it sure does look close enough for folk music. Or satisfying clients.

The main difference I can see is in the x-height, but it is fairly subtle. And Lino can almost certainly be counted on to do a better job of drawing Helvetica than whomever.

See attached.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	helv-neue.png
Views:	10
Size:	26.9 KB
ID:	1356  

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 03:11 PM   #6
marlene
Staff
 
marlene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,419
Default

By golly, it does look like a condensed Helvetica. How did I miss that??

But I need to stick with Arena -- apparently the client originally used it (or their original designer did -- I don't really know the history of this project), and I need to match it. I know if I use Helvetica, type will rewrap, and I ain't in the mood to check every line!

I was able to get the fonts off the ancient floppies, but was what funny was that I forget that I even had a floppy drive in my newest PC. <LOL> It's a combo drive (takes floppies and various flavors of memory cards) so I didn't immediately realize there actually was a slot their for the floppies.

mxh
marlene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 12:26 AM   #7
Mike
Staff
 
Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Llanwrtyd Wells
Posts: 1,450
Default

Thank goodness you have a PC. Macs haven't had floppy drives since last century or thereabouts.

Last time I was given a floppy disk I had to resurrect an old machine from the attic to read it. I have a friend who keeps an old Mac going just because it has a Jazz drive.

   
__________________
Mike

www.welshframing.com
Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2008, 07:19 PM   #8
JVegVT
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: northern New England, USA
Posts: 510
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike View Post
Thank goodness you have a PC. Macs haven't had floppy drives since last century or thereabouts.

Last time I was given a floppy disk I had to resurrect an old machine from the attic to read it. I have a friend who keeps an old Mac going just because it has a Jazz drive.
Can a Mac use a USB floppy drive? Floppy drives are rare on new PCs, though you might be able to add one if the motherboard supports it. People who need floppy drives generally use USB floppy drives.
--Judy M.

   
__________________
Registered Linux User #397786
Being productive with VectorLinux 7 Standard
JVegVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2008, 07:29 PM   #9
ElyseC
Sysop Emeritus
 
ElyseC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: southeastern Iowa, in the technology corridor
Posts: 2,190
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JVegVT View Post
Can a Mac use a USB floppy drive?
Yes. KT has one, if I recall correctly.

   
__________________
Elyse
ElyseC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2008, 07:35 AM   #10
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElyseC View Post
Yes. KT has one, if I recall correctly.
Not me, though I have thought of it. When Chuck was here last fall and we were doing a mad jig with a laptop, four desktop computers with only 3 monitors, old Syquests, floppies, weird electronic storage devices, and all that, I really meant to get a USB floppy drive. But the moment passed.

Still have floppies, though. Should look into it. The iMac has lots of USB ports.

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.