DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Hardware & Gadgets

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-12-2008, 07:51 AM   #1
Michael Rowley
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ipswich (the one in England)
Posts: 5,105
Default Is your scanner very old?

I have come across a program that would be helpful if you have an old scanner, possibly one that is very old and no longer made because the maker is no longer in the business (e.g. Agfa). It is VueScan, produced by

http://hamrick.com/

It is claimed to drive 750 different scanners and to be compatible with Leopard and its two immediate OS 10 predecessors and all versions of Windows up to Vista.

It costs US$40, but is available free for trying out.

Perhaps this should come under the heading 'Software', but old scanners are more a hardware problem.

   
__________________
Michael
Michael Rowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 10:10 AM   #2
iamback
Member
 
iamback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Posts: 4,894
Default

Though some would say VueScan is more of a problem. It has its critics - on purely technical grounds, that I cannot evaluate.

Oh, and it doesn't support my current scanner (a few years old but not "very old") so I could not test it.

   
__________________
Marjolein Katsma
Look through my eyes on Cultural Surfaces (soon!), My ArtFlakes shop and Flickr.
Occasionally I am also connecting online dots... and sometimes you can follow me on Marjolein's Travel Blog
iamback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 11:55 AM   #3
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,916
Default

Michael...VueScan is fairly well known--I use it for my slide scanner because the Minolta scan software is pretty lousy--but it's always useful to have a post about it...

I've not ever heard anything about problems with it--Marjolein...do you have a link???--but it does have a wee bit of a learning curve as the documentation is not great but once you get the hang of using it, it is quite sophisticated scanning software and it was well worth the small cost (compared to other scanning software like Silverfast).

I'm not sure why I never use if for my Epson flatbed but perhaps that's because I scan from it directly in Photoshop and I don't do that with my slide scans...

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 12:20 PM   #4
Howard Allen
Member
 
Howard Allen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 824
Default

Yes, VueScan is well-known in many circles, and I love it. I use it variously on three different scanners, one an old Linotype-Hell SCSI job. It's nice to have a common scanning interface for all my scanners, instead of having to deal with all the various and often goofy OEM software packages that come with each scanner.

Heck--it even includes a bare-bones OCR function, which many users aren't aware of.

   
__________________
Howard

OSX 10.10.5
Howard Allen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 12:33 PM   #5
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,916
Default

Quote:
howard: It's nice to have a common scanning interface for all my scanners, instead of having to deal with all the various and often goofy OEM software packages that come with each scanner.
Indeed...and some of those packages can wreak havoc on different systems...

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 01:03 PM   #6
Hugh Wyn Griffith
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,428
Default

It's frequently suggested in the MS VISTA Newsgroups when people discover that the Home editions do not have the Fax and Scan Utility that is in the others ..... and everyone is buying AIO printers these days!

   
__________________


Hugh
Hugh Wyn Griffith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 02:41 PM   #7
Michael Rowley
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ipswich (the one in England)
Posts: 5,105
Default

Marjolein:

Quote:
Oh, and it doesn't support my current scanner (a few years old but not "very old") so I could not test it.
Scanners don't have to be very old to be classed as 'old', and VueScan seems to add extra scanners every five minutes, so perhaps you should look again. I was quite pleased to see that my Agfa SnapScan E50, which is about seven years old, is among those covered. I don't make pictures, and do have an up-to-date OCR program, so that is good enough for me.

Yes, VueScan is old and well known, but quite a lot of people find that Vista doesn't support many scanners; naturally I don't know about OS 10, but users of that might find the same difficulty.

   
__________________
Michael
Michael Rowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 05:00 PM   #8
Howard Allen
Member
 
Howard Allen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 824
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Rowley View Post
quite a lot of people find that Vista doesn't support many scanners; naturally I don't know about OS 10, but users of that might find the same difficulty.
You're right--and I think you'll find that VueScan is very popular among Mac users for that very reason.

   
__________________
Howard

OSX 10.10.5
Howard Allen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2008, 02:57 AM   #9
iamback
Member
 
iamback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Posts: 4,894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terrie View Post
I've not ever heard anything about problems with [VueScan]--Marjolein...do you have a link???
Nope - all Newsgroup discussions. But the main criticaster struck me as knowledgeable, so I'm taking VueScan's claims at least with a ton of salt.

   
__________________
Marjolein Katsma
Look through my eyes on Cultural Surfaces (soon!), My ArtFlakes shop and Flickr.
Occasionally I am also connecting online dots... and sometimes you can follow me on Marjolein's Travel Blog
iamback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2008, 03:01 AM   #10
iamback
Member
 
iamback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Posts: 4,894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Rowley View Post
Scanners don't have to be very old to be classed as 'old', and VueScan seems to add extra scanners every five minutes, so perhaps you should look again.
No, some scanners cannot be added because the manufacturer simply doesn't make it possible - HP in this case - because basic information is needed to write a driver; no info, no driver. Some scanners are in the list, but by no means all.

   
__________________
Marjolein Katsma
Look through my eyes on Cultural Surfaces (soon!), My ArtFlakes shop and Flickr.
Occasionally I am also connecting online dots... and sometimes you can follow me on Marjolein's Travel Blog
iamback is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How is a scanner powered? Michael Rowley General Publishing Topics 43 03-04-2008 04:59 PM
Scanner recommendations? marlene Hardware & Gadgets 9 02-18-2008 02:34 PM
A4 flatbed scanner Adrian Hardware & Gadgets 9 11-25-2007 04:03 PM
Through a (scanner) glass marlene Images 26 11-29-2006 02:52 PM
New Scanner Suggestion? BobRoosth Images 6 12-12-2005 12:37 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.