DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > The Corner Pub

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-20-2008, 05:21 AM   #1
dthomsen8
Member
 
dthomsen8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA 19130
Posts: 2,158
Default Starting a Different Browser

Can I start a different browser from the default browser with a desktop icon, but pointing to a different starting URL?

Let me put the question in steps.
  1. Firefox is set as the default browser
  2. MS Internet Explorer is set to start with URL "A"
  3. Desktop Icon starts MSIE, but somehow starts with URL "B", not "A"
I hope that is clear enough, but if not, ask me.
dthomsen8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 06:24 AM   #2
iamback
Member
 
iamback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Posts: 4,894
Default

It's not clear to me whether you are having a problem (MSIE opening with "B" instead of "A" which is configured as the start page) or are asking for a "howto" (how to make a desktop shortcut that launches MSIE with "B" loaded instead of "A").

   
__________________
Marjolein Katsma
Look through my eyes on Cultural Surfaces (soon!), My ArtFlakes shop and Flickr.
Occasionally I am also connecting online dots... and sometimes you can follow me on Marjolein's Travel Blog
iamback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 09:27 AM   #3
LoisWakeman
Staff
 
LoisWakeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Uplyme, Devon, England
Posts: 1,402
Default

Sounds like you created a shortcut to a specific page on your desktop, rather than one to start IE in its default state with the usual home page. You can edit the properties of the shortcut to a different URL.
LoisWakeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 09:35 AM   #4
dthomsen8
Member
 
dthomsen8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA 19130
Posts: 2,158
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iamback View Post
It's not clear to me whether you are having a problem (MSIE opening with "B" instead of "A" which is configured as the start page) or are asking for a "howto" (how to make a desktop shortcut that launches MSIE with "B" loaded instead of "A").
How to do that second one is what I want. I want to keep Firefox as my default browser, but have the option of starting MSIE from desktop icons but with more choices than just a default start URL. Unfortunately, I have at least three web sites I visit fairly often that only work with MSIE. I have complained in each instance, there is no willingness to change.
dthomsen8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 09:38 AM   #5
dthomsen8
Member
 
dthomsen8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA 19130
Posts: 2,158
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoisWakeman View Post
Sounds like you created a shortcut to a specific page on your desktop, rather than one to start IE in its default state with the usual home page. You can edit the properties of the shortcut to a different URL.
Can I take a shortcut icon that currently starts Firefox with a specific page and change it to use MSIE? Alternatively, can I take an existing MSIE shortcut and edit it to point to a different (not the default) URL?
dthomsen8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 10:46 AM   #6
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,713
Default

Sure.

Make a new shortcut to Explorer on the desktop, rightclick choose Properties

On the shortcut tab, you'll find something like this in the Target textbox:

"C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE"

"C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE" http://www.desktoppublishingforum.com

Obviously, change the url to suit your taste.

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 12:58 PM   #7
Robin Springall
Member
 
Robin Springall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ealing Common, London W5, where I duplicate CDs and DVDs.
Posts: 1,259
Default

Perhaps try tabbed browsing: I have IE7 set to open three URLs in separate tabs whenever it starts.

   
__________________
Robin
Intellectually challenged, alcoholically propelled
Robin Springall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 04:12 PM   #8
BobRoosth
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 933
Default

That is what I would suggest. There is a Firefox plugin in called IE View that forces a site to open in IE whenever FF sees it. There is also one called IE Tab that uses the IE rendering engine in a FF tab. It is not clear to me that the latter implements ActiveX controls.
BobRoosth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flock browser Richard Waller Web Site Building & Maintenance 2 01-05-2008 06:51 AM
Browser choice? m_chanoine Web Design 22 09-25-2006 06:58 AM
Yet another Mac OS X browser! ktinkel General Publishing Topics 9 01-27-2006 04:50 AM
OmniWeb 5 Mac browser ktinkel General Publishing Topics 0 01-23-2006 10:57 AM
Opera browser ElyseC General Publishing Topics 6 11-29-2005 12:19 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.