DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Hardware & Gadgets

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-17-2007, 03:32 PM   #21
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,947
Default

Quote:
bob: You could also consider a USB connection for your existing drives, just for data transport. You can either get a case (IDE or SATA) or look for one of these:
That's very clever! I didn't know they made anything like that...definitely something to keep in mind...

Thanks!

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2007, 07:04 PM   #22
Hugh Wyn Griffith
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,460
Default

Don't we all, but since you are splurging .....

You can get an eSATA plug-in card for under $20 (does your motherboard have PCI slots or PCIexpress slots?) and a case to take a SATA hard drive and give you USB2 and eSATA connections for $31 ....

Thing to watch for if you are adding eSATA is that it is a genuine eSATA configuration since the cable and plug/socket is different and designed for many more make/breaks than the internal SATA connections as well as the nature of the power connection to feed the box and its drive.

See the eSATA website

   
__________________


Hugh
Hugh Wyn Griffith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2008, 06:36 PM   #23
JVegVT
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: northern New England, USA
Posts: 510
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Rindsberg View Post
If you have any intention of running virtual machines, have him change XP Home to Pro ... a couple people have told me that Home doesn't permit VMs. OTOH, they may have been using MS' VPC software. And IAC, maybe it's not even an issue. But there it is.
Sorry to jump in at this late date, but I thought I should correct this before it gets repeated again.

Microsoft Virtual PC 2007 works fine on XP Home and Vista Home Premium. I have it on both with Win 98SE in it for some older software I have that loses some functionality under XP and Vista. Virtual PC is *supported* under Pro and Vista Business. It is *not supported* under XP Home or Vista Home. It will, however, install and run just fine and I can't find anything in the EULA that says it's against the rules to do this.

The free but crippled VMware Player will run on the Home versions, as will the for-pay and costly VMware Workstation. The free VirtualBox runs on the Homes but you can't install 98SE or anything but the NT series of Windows in a VirtualBox vm.

The primary missing tool in XP Home is NT Backup with Automated System Recovery. You can install NT Backup and it works, but you can't run it until you've reinstalled XP, reinstalled NT Backup, and then restore over your new installation. The Recovery Console in Pro offers more options than the Recovery Console in Home, but most non-techie users wouldn't understand how to use them--I don't, and I'm probably more techie than most users. The NTFS encrypting file system is not available in Home. You can't join a domain in Home XP or Vista. To change file ownership and permissions in XP Home you have to boot into Safe mode, log in as Administrator, and right-click on the drive in Explorer and select Sharing, which then offers the Security tab that is not otherwise available in Home. There is no Group Policies snapin in Home.

There may be another obscure difference or two, but I think I covered the main differences. But virtual machines in Home? Yes. Support for Virtual PC in Home? No. Will it install and work in Home? Yes.
--Judy M.

   
__________________
Registered Linux User #397786
Being productive with VectorLinux 7 Standard
JVegVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2008, 08:46 PM   #24
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,742
Default

Judy, thanks for the correction.

Things change with each version of VMWare and VPC, and I based what I wrote on what a (technically adept, reliable) friend had told me some time back; he would've been using earlier versions of virtualization software.

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 12:07 PM   #25
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,742
Default

By the way, a friend who follows these things told me today that MS has relented and decided to allow users to run any or nearly any Vista version in a VM. Perhaps your EULA reflects that.

At one time, MS wasn't licensing the lower end versions of Vista for this (though as you mention, there didn't seem to be anything but licensing to prevent you from doing it).

I'd have to dig out my Vista EULA to see if it's any different, and honestly, I'm too lazy/don't care/have better things to do (choose one from Columns A, B and C) ;-)

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 07:29 PM   #26
JVegVT
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: northern New England, USA
Posts: 510
Default

I don't foresee ever running Vista in a virtual machine. I'd have to buy a copy for one thing. I know that Microsoft had done a couple of turnarounds on running Vista in a virtual machine. I still don't think they are allowing you to run the same copy in a real computer and a virtual machine. That would count as running one copy on two machines and is a no-no.

My concern was with the licensing of Virtual PC 2007, and there's nothing in the EULA that says you can't run VPC on the Home versions of XP and Vista without violating the license.

What I'm interested in is running a Win 9x version so that a couple of old programs that lose functionality under any version of NT will work properly. One of those is FontFiddler, the old kerning editor. It works under XP/Vista for editing TrueType fonts but can't even see a Type 1 font. I can fiddle a font under 9x in a VM and then use the font in XP or Vista.
--Judy M.

   
__________________
Registered Linux User #397786
Being productive with VectorLinux 7 Standard
JVegVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 10:54 PM   #27
iamback
Member
 
iamback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Posts: 4,894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JVegVT View Post
I don't foresee ever running Vista in a virtual machine. I'd have to buy a copy for one thing. I know that Microsoft had done a couple of turnarounds on running Vista in a virtual machine. I still don't think they are allowing you to run the same copy in a real computer and a virtual machine. That would count as running one copy on two machines and is a no-no.
That depends on the EULA, doesn't it? Often "machine" is defined as CPU, so you could be running any number of copies of the same (license) on the same physical machine, no matter is you do that by multiboot or virtual machines.

   
__________________
Marjolein Katsma
Look through my eyes on Cultural Surfaces (soon!), My ArtFlakes shop and Flickr.
Occasionally I am also connecting online dots... and sometimes you can follow me on Marjolein's Travel Blog
iamback is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.