DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Photography

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-11-2007, 08:04 PM   #11
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,528
Default

Wouldn't it be easier to put the pictures on more than one layer and use a layer mask and brush tool to reveal the useful parts of each photo.
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 09:49 AM   #12
JohnC
Staff
 
JohnC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 124
Default

Focusing a lens changes its focal length. This is very noticeable at macro distances. So you have to resize each image in each layer. Otherwise you get a stairstep effect from layer to layer.
JohnC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2008, 06:23 PM   #13
Eric Ladner
Member
 
Eric Ladner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 139
Default

Sorry to be so late coming to this discussion.

The Olympus E-500 (and presumably other cameras) will bracket in front of and behind a manually set focus distance. I realize that this is not the depth of field bracketing you were looking for, but with the lens stopped down as far as possible for as much depth of field as possible (never much at macro distances), it might increase your chances of getting the area you want in focus.

I almost always go to manual focus for macro work, as the autofocus is likely to search back and forth a lot, and you're more likely to get the shot by setting a desired reproduction ratio - 1:4, 1:2, 1:1, etc. - and moving in with the camera until the subject comes into focus.

--Eric
Eric Ladner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2008, 06:27 PM   #14
cdanddvdpublisher
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 134
Default

I own the Olympus E-500 and its really a great camera. I'm still playing around with it and learning all of its features but I love it so far.

   
__________________
CD and DVD Publisher
XLNT Idea
My Blog
cdanddvdpublisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 01:28 PM   #15
wexfordpress
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by curveto View Post
So I've been practicing some macro photography lately which has left me wondering why no camera has an F-stop bracketing feature. They all have exposure bracketing but it would also be nice to have a feature whereby,when in aperture mode, the camera will take a second (or tertiary) shot at a 1/2 or 1 stop either side of your selected aperture.

Aside from taking the artist out of the equation somewhat, is there something I'm missing that dictates why they don't have such a feature?
My Fujifilm FinePix e900 has a bracketing feature. I suspect others do also.

John culleton
wexfordpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.