DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Hardware & Gadgets

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2007, 10:21 PM   #1
marlene
Staff
 
marlene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,419
Default To buy or not to buy: SCSI cable or new scanners?

My new PC has an external SCSI port (Ultra Micro Centronics 68 VHDCI) that's not compatible with any of my SCSI cables.

My external SCSI devices are my ancient HP IIcx scanner, an elderly Polaroid SprintScan 35 Plus, and a Zip drive that I never use. Both scanners work fine.

A new cable with the right kind of connector doohickey will cost around $60 or more (I found it at the local MicroCenter for over $80 -- didn't buy it).

I rarely use my scanners, but still need to have them functioning just in case. I am temporarily going to leave them hooked up to the old computer but at some point I have to decide whether to buy the new cable or replace both scanners.

Having just spent a small fortune on the new PC (and girding my loins to spend more moolah on a new monitor), I'm reluctant to buy new scanners, especially considering how little use they will get.

If I decide to go for new scanners, any suggestions? I'd need a flatbed and a slide scanner.

mxh
marlene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 05:46 AM   #2
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Try looking around for connector converters — should cost less than a new cable.

I semi-remember needing those at the end of my SCSI life, when the new ones were slick and tiny (while the old were medium or large and ugly).

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 07:38 AM   #3
Hugh Wyn Griffith
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,430
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marlene View Post
My new PC has an external SCSI port (Ultra Micro Centronics 68 VHDCI) that's not compatible with any of my SCSI cables.

My external SCSI devices are my ancient HP IIcx scanner, an elderly Polaroid SprintScan 35 Plus, and a Zip drive that I never use. Both scanners work fine.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktinkel View Post
Try looking around for connector converters — should cost less than a new cable.
When I ran into this with my HP SJ5P I found that converters were nearly as expensive as new cables and at that time that a new cable was nearly as expensive as getting a new scsi controler card!

The decision was made for me when I found that the new scsi hard drives going into the new PC were UltraWide and my old HP scsi card was both 8 bit and not UW.

I got an Adaptec 19160 controller card which has the external socket to match the HP cable but I was gobsmacked the other day to see they now want about $200 for that card!

I don't know that I'd have much confidence in the ultra-low prices pulled up by Googling:

http://www.nextag.com/Adaptec-19160-...58/prices-html

especially since I'm not too sure that the descriptions and picturres they give match the actual device specification. My 19160 only has one connector on the back panel, not the two shown on one site.

However the description and amount of detail on the second lowest price source:

http://www.compuvest.com/Description...xSx?iid=116383

looks more reliable.

Here's a link to the Adapatec site:

http://www.adaptec.com/en-US/support...160/ASC-19160/

and it is supported in VISTA although it takes a bit of a struggle to locate the information:

http://adaptec-tic.adaptec.com/cgi-b...?p_faqid=14790

and scroll on down to:

Ultra160 FamilyAdaptec SCSI Card 19160 Yes

PS I started this as a reply to KT but hopefully switched it direct to you. If your existing controller is OK with whatever you have inside the PC then this probably isn't of interest -- like Tpsy, it grew <s>

   
__________________


Hugh
Hugh Wyn Griffith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 09:58 AM   #4
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,918
Default

Quote:
marlene: If I decide to go for new scanners, any suggestions? I'd need a flatbed and a slide scanner.
If you are going to buy new, then you don't need a slide scanner because the newer flatbeds have both high enough scanning res and slide/neg options that you proabably only need the flatbed...

Take a look at the Epson V700 which sells for $549 via the Epson site--probably less elsewhere--with an optical res of 6400dpi or the Epson V500 (also with a 6400dpi optical res) which sells for $249 (Epson site price)...

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 11:05 AM   #5
Robin Springall
Member
 
Robin Springall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ealing Common, London W5, where I duplicate CDs and DVDs.
Posts: 1,259
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marlene View Post
I rarely use my scanners, but still need to have them functioning just in case. I am temporarily going to leave them hooked up to the old computer but at some point I have to decide whether to buy the new cable or replace both scanners
If they aren't going to be used frequently, and if you're keeping the old computer anyway, why not save your money and just keep 'em where they are? The old computer won't stop working just because you have a new one

   
__________________
Robin
Intellectually challenged, alcoholically propelled
Robin Springall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 05:36 PM   #6
Howard Allen
Member
 
Howard Allen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 824
Default

I'm with Robin on this one. Why not just keep the old computer? I have an old G3 Mac that I keep running just for a couple of SCSI scanners (a Lino-Hell flatbed and a Nikon slide scanner, both of which work as good as new), and some older OCR software (ABBYY FineReader Pro) for occasional use. The old 'puter costs nothing more than a couple square feet of real-estate.
Howard Allen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 08:11 PM   #7
marlene
Staff
 
marlene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,419
Default

Quote:
Try looking around for connector converters — should cost less than a new cable.
I'll try that. But even the cables are hard to find online -- I was very surprised to find them in the flesh at MicroCenter (but I confess I didn't look for a converter -- I'll do that next time I'm over there).

mxh
marlene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 08:12 PM   #8
marlene
Staff
 
marlene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,419
Default

Hugh,

The new PC has a fancy SCSI RAID controller. I didn't really have any other options for a SCSI RAID controller unless I wanted to spend even more money. Which I didn't. <g>

mxh
marlene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 08:17 PM   #9
marlene
Staff
 
marlene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,419
Default

Quote:
you don't need a slide scanner because the newer flatbeds have both high enough scanning res and slide/neg options that you proabably only need the flatbed
I dunno ... I'm very skeptical about the ability of a consumer-grade flatbed to scan slides at the level of quality I need. I'll have to do some research.

mxh
marlene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 08:21 PM   #10
marlene
Staff
 
marlene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,419
Default

Quote:
The old computer won't stop working just because you have a new one
Nah, but the old computer might stop working because Mr. Excitement will be using it.

He's been salivating over my creaky old PC for weeks -- he can have it as soon as I finish loading the new PC.

He's not crazy about having to make room for the two scanners on his "desk" (the dining room table), but if he wants my old PC he has to submit to my demands.

mxh
marlene is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wide Format Scanners RJ Emery Hardware & Gadgets 22 01-25-2007 01:51 PM
Cable modem setup: Oy! ktinkel The Corner Pub 55 02-14-2006 02:26 PM
How 2 Get Scsi On An Emac mact General Publishing Topics 9 02-26-2005 12:54 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.