DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Print Design

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-01-2007, 10:17 AM   #1
Kalliope
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 31
Default InDesign & two monitors

IT just installed two monitors for my g5. When working in InDesign, the palettes are docked to the side of the same monitor (the left). I would like my palettes docked on the the right of the right monitor. Is this possible?
I don't want to spend the time reinventing the wheel, if there is no wheel.
Thank you! Kalliope
Kalliope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2007, 04:55 AM   #2
dthomsen8
Member
 
dthomsen8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA 19130
Posts: 2,158
Default InDesign on Two Monitors

This is really a software question about InDesign, so perhaps you would do better to start a new thread over in Print Design, where the people who know that software will recognize the issue.
dthomsen8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 12:17 PM   #3
Robin Springall
Member
 
Robin Springall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ealing Common, London W5, where I duplicate CDs and DVDs.
Posts: 1,259
Default

It won't do it, Kalliope. Some windows can be opened on the second monitor, but others (like colour, for heaven's sake) dock to the right edge of the main one like bloomin' old PageWrecker did. So much for InDesign having been totally reworked, eh?

   
__________________
Robin
Intellectually challenged, alcoholically propelled
Robin Springall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2007, 02:13 AM   #4
grEEnLighter
Member
 
grEEnLighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kalliope View Post
IT just installed two monitors for my g5. When working in InDesign, the palettes are docked to the side of the same monitor (the left). I would like my palettes docked on the the right of the right monitor. Is this possible?
I don't want to spend the time reinventing the wheel, if there is no wheel.
Thank you! Kalliope
No you can not dock the palettes on the other monitor. I have been there and i have turned back. You can undock them, wich i did because i hate docks (click to see it click to hide it... ), and move them to the other monitor. As well if you photomanipulate make shure that you do that on your primary if your secondary is not calibrated properly.
I work also on 2 monitors for my primary mac wich are calibrated and a 3-rd monitor for my secondary mac in wich i only distill, rasterize, batch... or any job that takes time and do not require my special attention. I switch between them with TELEPORT and also you can drag and drop documents as if it is on local HDD (only if the same OS is instaled on both). It is quite interesting thing and usefull also.

   
__________________
A cynic is a man who knows the price of everything but the value of nothing.
grEEnLighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30-inch monitors marlene Hardware & Gadgets 46 07-22-2007 10:21 AM
Monitors: one lump or two? Steve Rindsberg Hardware & Gadgets 6 07-16-2007 02:35 PM
LED monitors? ktinkel Hardware & Gadgets 16 06-04-2007 06:32 AM
Monitors & Stuff George General Publishing Topics 17 12-14-2006 04:52 PM
InDesign & multiple monitors Adrian Print Design 13 04-02-2005 03:46 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.