DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Print Production & Automation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-14-2005, 01:24 AM   #1
DTP Guy
Member
 
DTP Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Posts: 156
Default Acrobat 6 (and 7) use with forms

I've never had to design Acrobat Forms before, but just had a job that required it. The idea is that a questionnaire will be made available to download from a website and the data saved as an .fdf file (form data file, apparently) and that data is returned via email to the author. The idea is that the data is only a few kb rather than the whole PDF file, which can be large(ish).

With Reader versions up to 5, one can simply export the file data to the .fdf file on the user's hard drive and send it as an attachment. With Reader 6 and 7, at least in the free Reader program, you get a message as soon as you start to fill in the form saying that the data cannot be saved locally. What is the scoop here? How can more recent versions of Reader not do something as fundamental as this?

I suspect that Adobe is trying to make a little more money here by forcing users to buy at least the standard version of Acrobat in order to fill in forms.

   
__________________
DTP Guy
a.k.a Brian Smithson
DTP Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2005, 08:56 AM   #2
Michael Rowley
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ipswich (the one in England)
Posts: 5,105
Default

Brian:

There used to be an Adobe program that allowed users with Reader to fill in a form, but it was only supplied to large users (such as the Companies Registrar for England & Wales), but I believe it's now part of Acrobat 7 Pro. The recipient doesn't have to have anything but Reader, but the deviser has to have Acrobat 7 Pro.

Look in the guff about Acrobat 7 on the Adobe site.

   
__________________
Michael
Michael Rowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2005, 02:36 AM   #3
DTP Guy
Member
 
DTP Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Posts: 156
Default

Yes Michael, I checked that out. Is this LiveCycle you are talking about? Looks like I might have to spring for the upgrade to Acrobat 7. Problem is, I got it as part of the Adobe Creative Suite. I wonder if I will have to wait for the next version of the Suite?

   
__________________
DTP Guy
a.k.a Brian Smithson
DTP Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2005, 07:39 AM   #4
Michael Rowley
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ipswich (the one in England)
Posts: 5,105
Default

Brian:

'Is this LiveCycle you are talking about?'

Probably, but the name didn't make much impression: it was the application that I knew as an end-user only.

It would be safer to ring up Adobe Europe about the upgrade from 6 to 7, because I don't know if the v. 6 you have counts.

   
__________________
Michael
Michael Rowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2005, 11:37 AM   #5
Stephen Owades
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Cambridge, MA USA
Posts: 179
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DTP Guy
Yes Michael, I checked that out. Is this LiveCycle you are talking about? Looks like I might have to spring for the upgrade to Acrobat 7. Problem is, I got it as part of the Adobe Creative Suite. I wonder if I will have to wait for the next version of the Suite?
Adobe offers an upgrade to Creative Suite (version 1.3) that contains Acrobat 7; no other changes are involved. I don't know what the UK pricing will be, but here in the US it's the same price as an Acrobat 6 -> 7 upgrade.
Stephen Owades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2005, 12:26 AM   #6
DTP Guy
Member
 
DTP Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Posts: 156
Default

Hmm, that's interesting. I'll check out the Adobe UK store to see if they have that deal. Thanks for the heads up.

   
__________________
DTP Guy
a.k.a Brian Smithson

Last edited by DTP Guy; 03-21-2005 at 12:28 AM. Reason: Typo <sigh!>
DTP Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
protecting online forms john_b Web Site Building & Maintenance 6 03-10-2007 05:45 AM
Freelancer boggled by IRS forms rbb Business Matters 1 08-28-2006 10:44 AM
<label> for forms dacoyle Web Design 21 05-03-2006 11:59 AM
Learning to do Forms dthomsen8 Web Site Building & Maintenance 4 04-13-2006 09:27 AM
Send database data to PDF forms Andrew B. Print Production & Automation 7 05-08-2005 05:56 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.