DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Hardware & Gadgets

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-13-2007, 05:24 AM   #11
LoisWakeman
Staff
 
LoisWakeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Uplyme, Devon, England
Posts: 1,402
Default

Will have a look next time I boot it up. Darn thing!
LoisWakeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 06:47 AM   #12
dthomsen8
Member
 
dthomsen8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA 19130
Posts: 2,158
Default Newer is better?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoisWakeman View Post
Will have a look next time I boot it up. Darn thing!
We tend to think that newer is better, but sometimes it doesn't quite work that way. There may be << to expand the icons and let you see the ATI icon, if you have several icons down there on the task bar, which should be available whenever you like, not just when you boot.
dthomsen8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 11:20 AM   #13
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,946
Default

Quote:
lois: the latest IIyama driver I could find on the manufacturer's site.
That may be your problem because as I mentioned, so much of Dell hardware is proprietary although those are the monitor drivers rather than the video card (Dell) drivers...I wonder if it's just an incompatibility between the video card (with Dell drivers) and the IIyama monitor (and IIyama drivers)???

Have you checked the Dell forums?

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 01:05 AM   #14
LoisWakeman
Staff
 
LoisWakeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Uplyme, Devon, England
Posts: 1,402
Default

Not yet: I was hoping for the usual genius here to save me the trouble <G>
LoisWakeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 01:07 AM   #15
LoisWakeman
Staff
 
LoisWakeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Uplyme, Devon, England
Posts: 1,402
Default

Your message prompted me to have a closer look - no ATI icon - but there is a "CATALYST Control Center" accessible via a tab in the display properties. I tried setting the maximum refresh rate, desktop size and other stuff to what I wanted, and told the card not to try and determine things for itself. We shall see if that cures the problem.
LoisWakeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote Desktop for Mac? bmann General Publishing Topics 5 01-23-2013 04:42 AM
Favicon Problem on Desktop dthomsen8 Web Site Building & Maintenance 11 04-20-2007 07:43 AM
Google Desktop and PDF Files RJ Emery General Publishing Topics 0 01-25-2006 05:18 PM
Printer for Desktop Publishing Hereward Print Production & Automation 14 11-14-2005 03:36 PM
What Desktop Publisher? BML General Publishing Topics 49 11-03-2005 02:58 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.