DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Web Site Building & Maintenance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-12-2007, 04:35 AM   #1
Richard Waller
Member
 
Richard Waller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Goring-by-Sea, West Sussex UK
Posts: 732
Default Broadband speed

http://www.pcpitstop.com/internet/ provides a good way to measure the speed you are getting on your broadband. I am getting 1.7mb which is the maximum offered by Virgin/NTL without paying a lot more money.

Now everything on the internet is videos or TV broadcast, what do I have to have to make thiis useful.

   
__________________
Richard Waller
www.waller.co.uk
www.goring-by-sea.uk.com
Richard Waller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 07:11 AM   #2
Kelvyn
Staff
 
Kelvyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: In the Heart of the English Lake District
Posts: 1,381
Default

There is a better test in the UK at http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest.html

My download speed is currently 6014.30 Kbps ( 5.9 Mbps ) using BT ADSL. I did read that the BBC suggest 12Mbps would be good for broadcast video feed, which is achievable (at least by some) with ADSL2+.

   
__________________
Kelvyn

Web site design, hosting and marketing, Keswick in the UK Lake District

If you are planning a visit to Keswick then try Keswick Tourist Information website

Kelvyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 08:03 AM   #3
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvyn View Post
There is a better test in the UK at http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest.html

My download speed is currently 6014.30 Kbps ( 5.9 Mbps ) using BT ADSL. I did read that the BBC suggest 12Mbps would be good for broadcast video feed, which is achievable (at least by some) with ADSL2+.
I ran the UK test, just for fun. My download speed is clustered around 6.5 mbps (with 1 low at 4). Up is evenly clustered around 0.7 mbps.

That is with cable.

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 09:54 AM   #4
Michael Rowley
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ipswich (the one in England)
Posts: 5,105
Default

KT:

Quote:
My download speed is clustered around 6.5 mbps
You get a much better picture of download and upload speeds if you use a graphical indicator, such as DU Meter. My downloads can come in a few seconds, but mass dispatchings, from Microsoft or Adobe, can come on dribs and drabs spread over many minutes, and uploads are heavily dependent on traffic and usually indetectible unless I reduce the vertical scale by a factor of 10.

   
__________________
Michael
Michael Rowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 01:07 PM   #5
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,742
Default

>> mass dispatchings, from Microsoft or Adobe, can come on dribs and drabs spread over many minutes

You're speaking of their automatic updates here? I'd expect that. They both install download managers that are supposed to grab slices of computer time when the processor and network aren't otherwise engaged so that you can continue working on your PC, browsing the web and so on at the same time.

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 01:22 PM   #6
dthomsen8
Member
 
dthomsen8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA 19130
Posts: 2,158
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ktinkel View Post
I ran the UK test, just for fun. My download speed is clustered around 6.5 mbps (with 1 low at 4). Up is evenly clustered around 0.7 mbps.

That is with cable.
UK Test Results.

The uploading result is terrible. (0.3 Mps). I have heard that the ISP (Comcast) reduces the uploading speed for those who make heavy use of it. I am not sure if that is true, but I have seen poor performance when publishing web sites. Perhaps the uploading speed is affected by the Atlantic Ocean, though.
dthomsen8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 01:31 PM   #7
ElyseC
Sysop Emeritus
 
ElyseC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: southeastern Iowa, in the technology corridor
Posts: 2,190
Default

For testing here in the States my ISP recommends Speakeasy. I have it bookmarked and periodically check our speed, especially when things seem slow. Did so this morning, in fact, and confirmed that the slowness was simply because my browser needed a restart.

   
__________________
Elyse
ElyseC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 02:15 PM   #8
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElyseC View Post
For testing here in the States my ISP recommends Speakeasy. I have it bookmarked and periodically check our speed, especially when things seem slow. Did so this morning, in fact, and confirmed that the slowness was simply because my browser needed a restart.
That is a good place. Thanks.

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 02:45 PM   #9
Michael Rowley
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ipswich (the one in England)
Posts: 5,105
Default

Steve:

Quote:
They both install download managers that are supposed to grab slices of computer time when the processor and network aren't otherwise engaged
That's an option for Microsoft's automatic updates that I haven't chosen, and Adobe's downloads don't seem to have that option at all. But varying speeds depend on the traffic, and when the people in a certain country west of here start using their computers we can say goodnight to high download and upload speeds.

   
__________________
Michael
Michael Rowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 05:16 PM   #10
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,742
Default

You don't need to choose the option. That's what they do, I'm fairly certain.

At least that's what the MS one bragged about when it wanted to download itself.

In your original post you weren't comparing times when persons west were or weren't using their computers ... just Adobe/MS updates vs other downloads. Traffic may also be a factor, obviously.

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Captured on speed camera Kelvyn The Corner Pub 15 05-22-2006 02:13 AM
Coming Up to Speed with Flash MX Clayton Web Site Building & Maintenance 2 06-03-2005 03:19 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.