DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-05-2007, 07:37 AM   #1
LoisWakeman
Staff
 
LoisWakeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Uplyme, Devon, England
Posts: 1,402
Default Printer problem with XP SP2

For reasons I won't bore you with. I have only just upgraded to SP2.

Much to my annoyance, I find that I can no longer print to file (for PDF generation) to an imaginary printer I have 'locally installed' on LPT1. This has worked since NT 3.51, and probably before that.

Windows thinks that the printer is "ready" even though it is a figment of my imagination (just a driver). I can select it, start printing from Word, and it’s fine till I select a PRN filename, then I get a whinging message that there is a problem.

Is this the new software trying to be too clever by half (oh dear, I can't find the printer even though I don't need it...), or is there some easy fix?

I have searched in vain for an answer so far, and can't attach the screen shot of the error message, which suggests turning the printer on (can't), reinstalling the driver (done that). and loads of unhelpful help.

[edit] I was speaking of Word 2003 at the time - it seems I can print from Paintshop Pro Ok; it's the Word/Print to file combo that seems to be broken at SP2 - and that's just the one I need to use!

Last edited by LoisWakeman; 07-05-2007 at 08:03 AM.
LoisWakeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2007, 11:11 AM   #2
Kelvyn
Staff
 
Kelvyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: In the Heart of the English Lake District
Posts: 1,381
Default

Did you / have you also upgraded Word 2003 - wasn't there a big upgrade "patch" about 2 years ago - around the same time as SP2?

   
__________________
Kelvyn

Web site design, hosting and marketing, Keswick in the UK Lake District

If you are planning a visit to Keswick then try Keswick Tourist Information website

Kelvyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2007, 11:19 AM   #3
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,742
Default

XP SP2 here as well. I've got a real physical printer attached to the network; when I choose To File from Word 2003's print dialog box, it works as expected.

Which printer do you have installed? I'd be happy to install an instance of the driver here and try the same thing.

Handy trick for dealing with message boxes:

Press Ctrl+Shift+C to copy the text of the message to the clipboard (rather than an image of the whole messagebox). You can then paste it into a msg here or elsewhere. Very handy for getting the error message down verbatim.

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2007, 04:08 PM   #4
Michael Rowley
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ipswich (the one in England)
Posts: 5,105
Default

Lois:

Quote:
I was speaking of Word 2003 at the time
I've been using the Adobe PDF driver to print PDF documents from Word 2007 (until I received the latest upgrade for Acrobat). Haven't you got that?

   
__________________
Michael
Michael Rowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 08:16 AM   #5
LoisWakeman
Staff
 
LoisWakeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Uplyme, Devon, England
Posts: 1,402
Default

Thnaks all - I've been away today hence no earlier reply.
To answer specifically:

1. Kelvyn: I updated Office with an SP long ago, but not recently, and certainly not since XP SP2.

2. Steve: yes, a real printer works here too - but I found a simple PS printer that saved me having to fiddle with setting options every time I wanted to PDF a particular document. (The QMS printer we have is mono and the paper tray "used" by the driver for print to file always resets itself to Letter size, so I can't have colour documents.) I always used to be able to print to a non-exiustnet printer up till the day before yesterday - which saved me all the fidlling around.

3. Yes Michael, I do - but it creates much bigger more bloated PDFs than the previous method. And you get a lot less control than in Distiller.
LoisWakeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 10:18 AM   #6
dthomsen8
Member
 
dthomsen8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA 19130
Posts: 2,158
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoisWakeman View Post
...

3. Yes Michael, I do - but it creates much bigger more bloated PDFs than the previous method. And you get a lot less control than in Distiller.
When I was creating a PDF for a newsletter, I found that there were enormous variations in the size of a PDF made from MS Word (98 or 2003), depending on the method. My AcrobatPDFwriter and my AcrobatDistiller work just fine from Windows. Exactly what method/software is giving you difficulty?
dthomsen8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 09:05 PM   #7
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,742
Default

>> 2. Steve: yes, a real printer works here too - but I found a simple PS printer that saved me having to fiddle with setting options every time I wanted to PDF a particular document.

Understood. But again, which driver do you have installed? I'm curious to see what happens here with the same driver.

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 01:46 AM   #8
LoisWakeman
Staff
 
LoisWakeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Uplyme, Devon, England
Posts: 1,402
Default

QMS Magicolor 2
LoisWakeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 01:48 AM   #9
LoisWakeman
Staff
 
LoisWakeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Uplyme, Devon, England
Posts: 1,402
Default

PDFwriter is rubbish (no control); printing to the Distiller driver seems to give much bigger files than making a PRN file direct from Word and distilling it myself. No idea why!
LoisWakeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 07:35 AM   #10
Michael Rowley
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ipswich (the one in England)
Posts: 5,105
Default

Lois:

Quote:
PDFwriter is rubbish (no control)
I don't know if Adobe's own PDFMaker for Word is meant, but if it is, its 'Settings' button actually accesses Distiller settings, which has various pre-sets, but you can choose your own settings and give them a name.

   
__________________
Michael
Michael Rowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Printer RAM??? terrie General Publishing Topics 34 02-10-2007 11:06 AM
A new printer...sorta...'-}} terrie General Publishing Topics 10 01-19-2007 01:46 PM
which laser printer for DTP? andymcd Hardware & Gadgets 13 12-31-2005 06:56 AM
How to install PS printer on XP Robin Springall Print Design 8 11-16-2005 02:05 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.