DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Hardware & Gadgets

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-27-2007, 08:04 PM   #31
marlene
Staff
 
marlene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,419
Default

I'd only buy a Mac laptop if I could find a really, really spectacular deal on one, because I already have a PC laptop that I almost never use.

I will probably take the path of least resistance and buy a new PC. At least I won't have to buy any new software or worry about converting all of my PS fonts (if that's even legal -- maybe it's not). If I'm not happy with the new PC, then I'll look at the Macs again. Having a Mac would solve some problems (Xtensions/plugins that aren't available for Windows, being able to open Mac files natively, less worry about viruses, etc.), but I suspect some other problems would crop up.

So now I need to find the best PC in the world.

mxh
marlene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 06:06 AM   #32
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marlene View Post
So now I need to find the best PC in the world.
I just saw a reference to that machine, but I can’t figure out where (might have been in a NY Times column). It costs up to about $5,600, but is designed from the ground up for graphics work, and the maker will customize it for you.

Not sure but I doubt you would need to spend anything like that much to get something good. Good luck with it.

Is Puget Professional Systems a reliable source? They talk pretty …

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 07:50 PM   #33
marlene
Staff
 
marlene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,419
Default

Quote:
I just saw a reference to that machine, but I can’t figure out where (might have been in a NY Times column). It costs up to about $5,600, but is designed from the ground up for graphics work, and the maker will customize it for you.
I'll take it! <LOL>

I paid over $4,500 for my last one, and it wasn't even fully equipped -- I was transferring my existing SCSI hard drives and external DVD burner from my old machine.

Do you have any idea where I could look for the article you mentioned?

Puget looks pretty good, but they use Kingston RAM, and I always use Crucial. Worth looking into, though.

First thing I have to do is research on which video card to get. And which processors, since they have those newfangled dual cores or duos or whatever ...

mxh
marlene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 08:16 PM   #34
marlene
Staff
 
marlene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,419
Default

Am checking out the info.

thanks,

mxh
marlene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2007, 05:40 AM   #35
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marlene View Post
Do you have any idea where I could look for the article you mentioned?
No, alas. It was a squib somewhere, not a real article — the writer was obviously amused at the [high] cost.

Maybe it was in The Week — I can find that. But if it was in a column in last week’s Times, not sure I can even think of where it was. Sorry.

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 04:07 AM   #36
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,711
Default

And let's not forget that if you're running Windows under Parallels on a Mac, it doesn't matter a fig what MacOS makes of things. You're running Windows, after all.

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 06:30 AM   #37
Cristen Gillespie
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 814
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Rindsberg View Post
And let's not forget that if you're running Windows under Parallels on a Mac, it doesn't matter a fig what MacOS makes of things. You're running Windows, after all.
Well, unless you're running a 3D program or game, right? Parallels still can't handle that, is that correct?

   
__________________
Cristen
Cristen Gillespie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mixing Macs and PCs annc General Publishing Topics 3 12-12-2006 12:01 AM
Intel Mac running Windows XP terrie The Corner Pub 2 06-02-2006 12:30 PM
Adobe & Intel Macs ktinkel General Publishing Topics 6 02-13-2006 01:07 PM
Performance of Intel Macs ktinkel General Publishing Topics 12 01-20-2006 10:23 PM
Macintouch on the new intel macs terrie General Publishing Topics 2 01-13-2006 02:47 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.