DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Business Matters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-18-2007, 07:40 AM   #1
Bill Murmann
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 139
Default Use WinZip for Encryption?

My ISP is AT&T. I recently received a notice from them about a new file encryption service they are offering for a monthly fee.

That got me to thinking about encrypted files and the need for encryption if you are exchanging sensitive or proprietary information with a customer over the Internet.

Instead of subscribing to a monthly service, would be possible to use WinZip as a type of encryption to protect files?

I've mainly used WinZip in the past simply to unzip files every now and then, so I don't have much experience with it.

--Bill
Bill Murmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2007, 09:52 AM   #2
Robin Springall
Member
 
Robin Springall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ealing Common, London W5, where I duplicate CDs and DVDs.
Posts: 1,259
Default

The encryption works fine, Bill: it's 128 bit. Just don't forget the damn key!
R

   
__________________
Robin
Intellectually challenged, alcoholically propelled
Robin Springall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2007, 12:19 PM   #3
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,742
Default

Just don't forget the damn key!

The voice of a sadder but wiser man? ;-)

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2007, 02:24 PM   #4
Bill Murmann
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 139
Default

Quote:
The encryption works fine, Bill: it's 128 bit. Just don't forget the damn key!
What? Don't you just write the key down on an index card along with all your passwords and tape it under your keyboard will no one will ever find it.... <s>

Seriously, however, it's good to know that I can use WinZip for encryption if I ever need it.

--Bill
Bill Murmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2007, 03:26 AM   #5
Robin Springall
Member
 
Robin Springall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ealing Common, London W5, where I duplicate CDs and DVDs.
Posts: 1,259
Default

The only password I continually forget is my CompuServe one: I have to phone them up and get it reset almost every time I use it!

   
__________________
Robin
Intellectually challenged, alcoholically propelled
Robin Springall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2007, 07:02 AM   #6
Bill Murmann
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 139
Default

Quote:
The only password I continually forget is my CompuServe one: I have to phone them up and get it reset almost every time I use it!
I recently cancelled my CompuServe account. I had been a dialup member since about 1988. When I was forced to buy a new computer, I also subscribed to a DSL service. CompuServe could not accommodate my new high-speed service, so we had to part company.

Of course, I think CompuServe unfortunately had been going downhill for years after AOL bought it and started treating the service with "benign neglect."

In the early days of my membership, CompuServe emphasized business and research topics, and had a great collection of forums. I still remember CompuServe's monthly magazine that was filled with how-to information.

I realize, of course, that times and things change. But it's too bad that a really good service like the early CompuServe fell by the wayside after being gobbled up by AOL.

BTW, I engaged in a bit of payback to AOL. When I switched to a DSL line, I flatly refused to consider an AOL subscription as part of my Internet service.

--Bill
Bill Murmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2007, 07:30 AM   #7
Hugh Wyn Griffith
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,458
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Murmann View Post
CompuServe could not accommodate my new high-speed service ....

--Bill
I'm puzzled -- I have no problems with Compuserve over my RoadRunner broadband account. I can access the Forums and collect my mail (although I still use Virtual Access to do so).

Of course whether you want to is another matter but I know of no technical difficulties although the more secent CS2000 subsystem is not VISTA compatible.

   
__________________


Hugh
Hugh Wyn Griffith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 01:33 PM   #8
Bill Murmann
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 139
Default

I had a CompuServe "Classic" account. I don't know if that made the difference, but when I spoke with a CompuServe customer rep I got the impression that they couldn't deal with my new DSL line....??

--Bill
Bill Murmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 02:06 PM   #9
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Murmann View Post
I had a CompuServe "Classic" account. I don't know if that made the difference, but when I spoke with a CompuServe customer rep I got the impression that they couldn't deal with my new DSL line....??
For the Mac, I need a helper app to use CIM in Classic. But once I got it installed and configured it just sits in the background doing its thing.

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 04:48 PM   #10
ElyseC
Sysop Emeritus
 
ElyseC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: southeastern Iowa, in the technology corridor
Posts: 2,190
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ktinkel View Post
For the Mac, I need a helper app to use CIM in Classic. But once I got it installed and configured it just sits in the background doing its thing.
Black Knight was it? Or White Knight?

Don't know why that doodad's name should pop into my head after all these years, but it did.

   
__________________
Elyse
ElyseC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Winzip for Outlook terrie Software 11 03-03-2005 02:53 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.