DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > General Publishing Topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-20-2007, 06:25 AM   #1
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,501
Default Adobe apps and MS Vista

An InformationWeek article talks about Adobe's plan to not patch existing products so they work with Vista. Instead, customers will have to upgrade to new Adobe products. The article includes examples of Adobe/Vista problems.

http://www.informationweek.com/news/...leID=198001898
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2007, 06:31 AM   #2
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew B. View Post
An InformationWeek article talks about Adobe's plan to not patch existing products so they work with Vista. Instead, customers will have to upgrade to new Adobe products. The article includes examples of Adobe/Vista problems.
Wow!

They will have a patch for Acrobat.

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2007, 09:46 AM   #3
Bo Aakerstrom
Member
 
Bo Aakerstrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Derby,UK
Posts: 1,316
Default

So because Adobe and Microsoft doesn't like each other very much, Adobe expects their own customers to fork out even more money than they already have!?

I'm quite sure that there are better ways to keep customers.

   
__________________
www.boaakerstrom.com
Behance Portfolio
Bo Aakerstrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2007, 12:22 PM   #4
Michael Rowley
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ipswich (the one in England)
Posts: 5,105
Default

Bo:

Quote:
Adobe expects their own customers to fork out even more money than they already have!
In fairness to Adobe, CS3 is expected soon, isn't it? And Acrobat 8, only just released, might have been expected to be suitable for Vista, but Adobe is patching it (some time). But most people are carrying on with Windows XP, including those ordering new computers, until drivers & programs are ready for Vista.

   
__________________
Michael
Michael Rowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2007, 01:56 PM   #5
Shane Stanley
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 526
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bo Aakerstrom View Post
So because Adobe and Microsoft doesn't like each other very much, Adobe expects their own customers to fork out even more money than they already have!?
I don't think that's the explanation. Apple's OS X 10.5 is just around the corner, and I doubt that we'll see any serious patching for CS2 to run under that, either.

Shane
Shane Stanley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2007, 02:02 PM   #6
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bo Aakerstrom View Post
So because Adobe and Microsoft doesn't like each other very much, Adobe expects their own customers to fork out even more money than they already have!?

I'm quite sure that there are better ways to keep customers.
As my mother used to say, it takes two to make a fight — if that is what this is. Not sure all the blame rests on either set of shoulders.

(But it does sound as if they believe they could afford to lose a lot of Windows customers for the CS apps.)

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2007, 07:00 PM   #7
Shane Stanley
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 526
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ktinkel View Post
(But it does sound as if they believe they could afford to lose a lot of Windows customers for the CS apps.)
Do you think so? How many people are going to fork out for an upgrade to Vista but baulk at upgrading to CS3?

It's a bit like expecting CS2 to run at native speeds on Intel Macs -- the solution is to upgrade. Similar thing happened with OS X.

I suspect there'll be a fair bit of angst until CS3 ships, then it'll all just blow over.

Shane
Shane Stanley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007, 05:48 AM   #8
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shane Stanley View Post
Do you think so? How many people are going to fork out for an upgrade to Vista but baulk at upgrading to CS3?

It's a bit like expecting CS2 to run at native speeds on Intel Macs -- the solution is to upgrade. Similar thing happened with OS X.

I suspect there'll be a fair bit of angst until CS3 ships, then it'll all just blow over.
Maybe. At this point, I understood that most of the Vista users got the new OS by buying a new computer.

Anyway, we shall see.

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007, 06:44 PM   #9
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,713
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ktinkel View Post
Maybe. At this point, I understood that most of the Vista users got the new OS by buying a new computer.

Anyway, we shall see.
But wouldn't you guess that most OSX users got OSXed by buying a new computer as well?

I'd be most inclined to put whatever OS is most important to me on the physical machine and run any uncooperative but less important apps in a virtual machine under that.

[waiting for VMWare/Mac to appear]

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007, 09:49 PM   #10
BobRoosth
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 933
Default

What little work I have already done with Vista tells me that there are often work-arounds for such problems. The first question to be answered is: if they exist, what are they for the various Adobe products.

One can run software in compatibility modes going all the way back to Win 98. One can always run a program with full administrator rights. One can modify the security settings on various files.

Someone at Adobe should document what is needed. I would guess that someone has already found workarounds. I just have not gone looking. OTOH, I have no plans to make Vista my primary OS any time soon.
BobRoosth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista free for me...'-}} terrie The Corner Pub 18 02-12-2007 08:44 AM
G5 '04, Adobe CSPrem, other apps troubles ElyseC General Publishing Topics 23 12-18-2005 02:11 PM
Vista and PPD Ira General Publishing Topics 6 12-16-2005 12:47 PM
Making MSIE apps work w/Mozilla browsers ktinkel Web Site Building & Maintenance 0 07-28-2005 07:27 AM
good Palm apps for publishing people? ElyseC General Publishing Topics 22 04-30-2005 07:50 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.