DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > General Publishing Topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2006, 10:41 AM   #1
annc
Sysop
 
annc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Subtropical Queensland, Australia, between the mountains and the Coral Sea
Posts: 4,434
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike View Post
Can you network the ThinkPad with the Mac for file sharing etc?
I have PC MACLAN on the ThinkPad, and transfer files backwards and forwards all the time. It's probably possible to do it without that, but it's just so easy that I've never regretted the purchase price of PC MACLAN.

However, I do all the networking from the Mac, because it's just so easy to mount either the C: or E: drives on the Mac desktop and continue to work.

It's worked flawlessly between the ThinkPad andthe two Macs I've been through for five and a half years.

I've never tried to open applications from one machine on the other, and doubt if it would work.

   
__________________
annc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2006, 12:27 AM   #2
Mike
Staff
 
Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Llanwrtyd Wells
Posts: 1,450
Default

Seems to me that I should be able to do it without additional software -- I thought that XP Pro was supposed to be able to talk to Macs. Maybe I should try from the Mac end.

Fortunately I don't need to transfer files very often -- the Macs are production machines and the PC is for book-keeping and admin but one of the Macs has a reasonable size external HD which would be a useful way of backing up the PC.

   
__________________
Mike

www.welshframing.com
Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2006, 10:50 AM   #3
annc
Sysop
 
annc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Subtropical Queensland, Australia, between the mountains and the Coral Sea
Posts: 4,434
Default

I've only got Win2K on my ThinkPad.

I back up my PC to a Maxtor external drive on the Mac.

   
__________________
annc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 12:01 AM   #4
Mike
Staff
 
Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Llanwrtyd Wells
Posts: 1,450
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by annc View Post
I've only got Win2K on my ThinkPad.

I back up my PC to a Maxtor external drive on the Mac.
I seem to remember that I was able to network them when I used Win2K - it stopped when I moved to XP Pro.

   
__________________
Mike

www.welshframing.com
Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Performance of Intel Macs ktinkel General Publishing Topics 12 01-20-2006 10:23 PM
Google Earth for Macs Kelvyn The Corner Pub 31 01-14-2006 07:31 AM
Macintouch on the new intel macs terrie General Publishing Topics 2 01-13-2006 02:47 PM
Macs, PCs and External HDs fhaber General Publishing Topics 2 06-20-2005 03:33 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.