DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > General Publishing Topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2006, 09:11 PM   #1
marlene
Staff
 
marlene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,419
Default Installing software on Mac

Yeah, it's me asking! I have a friend who uses an old Mac (OS 9, don't know the specific version) who's having trouble installing downloaded software, and of course I'm no help at all. She's not big on visiting forums (for one thing, she has a dial-up connection) despite my urging, so I thought I'd throw this out there.

She says that when she downloads software (one example she gave me is RealPlayer), she "can't get it to work." I asked for more details and she said:

When I load internet software, I can't find it afterwards. Drives me crazy, but really, I can't find it. I put the loads in Applications, then it's byebye, too bad.

She apparently doesn't have a problem when installing from a disk, just installing from a downloaded file.

Any thoughts/advice?

Separate -- but possibly related -- question. She lost the disk with her scanner software, so she refuses to upgrade to OSX because she will lose the use of her scanner. Is it correct that when upgrading the OS, she will lose all of her installed software? (I'm pretty sure she only has one hard drive.)

And is it possible for her to copy her installed software (e.g., onto an external hard drive, which she'd have to buy) and then copy it back on to the internal hard drive after upgrading the OS? I thought that on Macs you didn't really have to "install" software per se -- I was once told that you just have to copy it onto the hard drive and it works (unlike Windows which requires an installation procedure that puts entries in the registry, etc.).

Am I wrong about that? Or is it the way Macs used to work in the old days, but not now?

FWIW, she has a Umax scanner, so I believe she would have to pay for a new software disk, and she doesn't want to do that.

mxh
marlene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 12:07 AM   #2
Mike
Staff
 
Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Llanwrtyd Wells
Posts: 1,450
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marlene View Post
Separate -- but possibly related -- question. She lost the disk with her scanner software, so she refuses to upgrade to OSX because she will lose the use of her scanner. Is it correct that when upgrading the OS, she will lose all of her installed software? (I'm pretty sure she only has one hard drive.)
She won't lose any of her software but it might not work anymore. Old OS9 applications can generally be run in 'classic mode' but I'm not sure if OS9 Classic is still supplied with current versions of OSX so that might not be an option.

It might be easier to look for a cheap OS-X compatible scanner on eBay. However, she'll need to be sure it is compatible with her Mac hardware. Old Mac scanners tended to have SCSI interfaces but these days they're all USB or Firewire. Older Macs don't support USB or Firewire.

   
__________________
Mike

www.welshframing.com
Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 05:44 AM   #3
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

If she is downloading software today to use on her very old Mac, she needs to be certain it is compatible with her version of the OS.

Once that is taken care of, she should be sure to control where the download goes. She says she puts it in her Applications folder, but if she looks in there without finding it, she probably actually let it go somewhere else.

Is she downloading with a web browser? You can tell most of them where to save downloads — tell her to look in Prefs to see where that is. That is probably where she will find all her software. Or she can search her drive for the file name (but that may not be exactly what she expects it to be — best to watch the download and get the file name).

She will lose use of some of her old software if she moves to a new OS X Mac. But she could probably find a used G4 that will run OS X Panther, which includes Classic. She would have more speed, better capability all around, access to modern browsers (Safari, Firefox), and generally improve her quality of life without breaking the bank or upsetting the old-app applecart.

Dialup? Maybe she could look into fixing that too?

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 07:14 AM   #4
Barbara
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 29
Default

<She will lose use of some of her old software if she moves to a new OS X Mac. But she could probably find a used G4 that will run OS X Panther, which includes Classic.<

Kathleen,
I'm using a G4 which came with OS9 (Classic) and OS10.2.8. I want to upgrade the OS, but would that mean losing Classic?

I was just looking at Tiger Mac OS X 10.4.6
http://www.macconnection.com/ProductDetail?Sku=6759691

Barbara
Barbara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 07:34 AM   #5
djb
Member
 
djb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Posts: 492
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barbara View Post
I'm using a G4 which came with OS9 (Classic) and OS10.2.8. I want to upgrade the OS, but would that mean losing Classic?
No.
djb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 07:35 AM   #6
djb
Member
 
djb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Posts: 492
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marlene View Post
She apparently doesn't have a problem when installing from a disk, just installing from a downloaded file.

Any thoughts/advice?
Mostly more questions, but... She's likely downloading software that is compressed in some way (.sit, .zip, .dmg). Is she decompressing/extracting to actually get at the installer?
djb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 07:48 AM   #7
Barbara
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 29
Default

<<No.>>

Have you already done this? I ask because all my work has been done in PageMaker which only works under OS9. I'll be switching over to InDesign but it'll be a while before it's my exclusive page layout program.

Thank you!
Barbara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 08:13 AM   #8
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barbara View Post
I'm using a G4 which came with OS9 (Classic) and OS10.2.8. I want to upgrade the OS, but would that mean losing Classic?
No — you can continue to use Classic. More recent versions of OS X may not ship with Classic on the install DVD (not sure about that actually), but it still works.

I have Classic installed on my backup volume but not on my working one; no problems using it. As time has gone by, though, I have little need for it. (PageMaker and Fontographer were my holdouts, but now I use InDesign (which will open recent PM files), and FontLab updated FOG to run directly in OS X, which took care of that).

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 08:32 AM   #9
djb
Member
 
djb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Posts: 492
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barbara View Post
Have you already done this?
Yes.

I'm currently running 10.4.8. I've had Classic running since 10.0. The same System Folder for all this time.
djb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 05:49 PM   #10
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,713
Default

I'm still trying to get a handle on this ... do I have it right?

- Early OSX versions included a way of booting up into either X or 9.

- The same versions (10.2-ish?) will automatically run Classic if the application requires it.

- Later versions don't include OS9 but still include Classic. You can't boot to OS9, but can still run classic apps.

- On the Intel Macs, Classic is gone, kaput, no more, pfft!

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fonts self installing from "private" folder siegy Fonts & Typography 11 02-06-2007 03:51 PM
Problems installing Acrobat Reader in VISTA Hugh Wyn Griffith General Publishing Topics 6 01-16-2007 06:15 PM
Installing the InDesign CS2 update Michael Rowley General Publishing Topics 9 12-11-2006 01:13 PM
Installing Paint Shop Pro X.. stuck! iamback Images 44 04-11-2006 07:38 PM
Installing Dreamweaver 2004 Extras dthomsen8 Web Site Building & Maintenance 3 04-11-2006 12:46 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.