DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > General Publishing Topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-28-2006, 07:35 AM   #1
Paul
Member
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New York State
Posts: 267
Default Wireless as only connection

A second question about my downsizing plan:

Is it feasible to use a wireless connection to broadband as the only connection? I have a wireless router and use wireless with a subnotebook computer, but my desktop computer is connected with an Ethernet cable, and everyone I know seems to connect the "main" computer with a cable.

It's possible that, in the new place, I'll want to put my desk in a spot where it's not feasible to run cable. Would it be possible to install a wireless router wherever the cable happens to be, and a wireless adapter in the desktop computer, and use that as the only connection?
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2006, 07:44 AM   #2
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul
Is it feasible to use a wireless connection to broadband as the only connection?
Don’t know why not, so long as you have the range (or unobstructed angle). I know several people who do that.

And it certainly makes it easier to rearrange things! I wish I could have wireless electricity! Enough of all these wires and cables.

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2006, 08:33 AM   #3
iamback
Member
 
iamback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Posts: 4,894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul
Would it be possible to install a wireless router wherever the cable happens to be, and a wireless adapter in the desktop computer, and use that as the only connection?
It would - but count on using a wire connection to set things up at first: you'll need a wired connection all set up properly to be able to set up your wireless connection.

   
__________________
Marjolein Katsma
Look through my eyes on Cultural Surfaces (soon!), My ArtFlakes shop and Flickr.
Occasionally I am also connecting online dots... and sometimes you can follow me on Marjolein's Travel Blog
iamback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2006, 09:09 AM   #4
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,713
Default

The wireless will be slower than wired, of course, but I don't imagine that'd act as a throttle to anything but local area networking; you won't be getting enough down the internet pipe to saturate a wireless lashup.

Another approach is to use the house wiring. Netgear (and others, I'd assume) sells gadgets you plug into an outlet then attach by ethernet cable to your PC. One of these at the router/cable connection end, another wherever you want to hook up your PC and you're good to go. The connection speed's on a par with lower-end wireless; the connection itself can be much more reliable if you're operating at the edge of where the wireless works.

OTOH, if your desk is in the same room as or close to the wireless router, wireless would be as fast and probably less expensive to set up.

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2006, 11:43 AM   #5
annc
Sysop
 
annc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Subtropical Queensland, Australia, between the mountains and the Coral Sea
Posts: 4,434
Default

My sister does that, with a laptop as her only computer. I set it up for her about two years ago, and she's totally happy. Oh, and the laptop is half the house away from the connection.

As Steve says, you will need to connect it to set it up, but we did that with the Netgear router wires. We just had to crouch on the floor to do it...

   
__________________
annc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2006, 01:37 PM   #6
Hugh Wyn Griffith
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,431
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul
Is it feasible to use a wireless connection to broadband as the only connection? I have a wireless router and use wireless with a subnotebook computer, but my desktop computer is connected with an Ethernet cable, and everyone I know seems to connect the "main" computer with a cable.
As iamback says -- set up with wire first.

   
__________________


Hugh
Hugh Wyn Griffith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2006, 08:24 AM   #7
Paul
Member
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New York State
Posts: 267
Default

Oh, setting it up with a wired connection would not be a problem. I could move the desktop computer temporarily, or do it with the subnotebook - I also have an Ethernet adapter for the latter. This is not an immediate problem, but I am relieved to know that it would be feasible, so I won't feel compelled to reject an apartment merely because the wiring is in the wrong place.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2006, 11:56 AM   #8
annc
Sysop
 
annc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Subtropical Queensland, Australia, between the mountains and the Coral Sea
Posts: 4,434
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul
Oh, setting it up with a wired connection would not be a problem. I could move the desktop computer temporarily, or do it with the subnotebook - I also have an Ethernet adapter for the latter. This is not an immediate problem, but I am relieved to know that it would be feasible, so I won't feel compelled to reject an apartment merely because the wiring is in the wrong place.
One thought I've just had – your Boston apartment might have more solid walls than my sister's open-plan subtropical house!

   
__________________
annc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2006, 07:26 PM   #9
ElyseC
Sysop Emeritus
 
ElyseC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: southeastern Iowa, in the technology corridor
Posts: 2,190
Default

Works well here. Not a single computer in our house is tethered to anything but its power outlet and peripherals, and all chatter happily to each other and outwards via broadband. Works a treat.

   
__________________
Elyse
ElyseC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2006, 11:00 AM   #10
Mike
Staff
 
Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Llanwrtyd Wells
Posts: 1,450
Default

Works for us. We have three Macs and one PC and they're all connected via wireless. It's worth keeping an ethernet cable handy though as it will most probably be needed to set up or change the wireless settings on the router (it's also useful for troubleshooting).

We've been using a wireless-only connection for three or four years.

We had a slight problem with the Mac and PC in the workshop but a separate wireless access point (to talk to the wireless router in the house) with a local wired network in the workshop solved that. The house has 3-foot thick granite walls and they do limit the range of the main wireless router somewhat.

   
__________________
Mike

www.welshframing.com
Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vermont wireless service ktinkel The Corner Pub 2 06-30-2006 10:51 AM
Wireless power Kelvyn The Corner Pub 8 04-02-2006 05:35 PM
External wireless card for Mac? mabeloos Hardware & Gadgets 11 04-08-2005 06:12 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.