DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Print Production & Automation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2006, 12:54 PM   #1
supernatural
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Default How to name the plates from Indesign to PDF Presets?

Hi everyone:

Is there any way to do that?

We are trying to sen a file to aour prepress and print team, and with the ID CS 2 could´t found how to make the PDF with the Plate name on every page.

Should I do this from within Acrobar or from Indesign? How do I set up everything? Our other team processes the PDF on the rip right, but we have a requeriment from the new team, that the name plate have to come from the file.

Any ideas?

thanks.
supernatural is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2006, 03:08 PM   #2
PeterArnel
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North of Swindon in the UK on the edge of the Cotswolds
Posts: 997
Default

I have to state the obvious - but cant u phone the people that support the Rip and platesetter - and ask them. a strap line on the plate with the file name, date and time is quite normal
Peter
PeterArnel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2006, 04:31 PM   #3
supernatural
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Default

We have allready talked to them, and they don´t manage Indesign, thats wy we have to do the PDFs, with the names of each color (pantone) allready on the document, and betwen us, we think they don´t manage PDFs either. Excuse my english, but i am from argentina. Thanks a lot.
supernatural is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2006, 03:41 AM   #4
PeterArnel
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North of Swindon in the UK on the edge of the Cotswolds
Posts: 997
Default

I remember on a paper plate making machine I had , we could add a line on the plate which was the file name of the Job, the date and time the plate was produced
peter
PeterArnel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2006, 04:39 AM   #5
supernatural
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Peter:

Thanks a lot, but we have to do the naming on our Acrobat or InDesign, and we are not allowed to manipulate the machine used to copy the plates (or films, I don´t know, but I supouse is film).

We are still trying to found a workaroud for that.

Thanks a lot.
supernatural is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2006, 05:05 AM   #6
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supernatural
Should I do this from within Acrobar or from Indesign? How do I set up everything? Our other team processes the PDF on the rip right, but we have a requeriment from the new team, that the name plate have to come from the file.
Probably a silly question, but do others with an InDesign-to-PDF workflow comply with this requirement?

If so, can maybe one of them can explain exactly how they do it.

Interesting question, anyway.

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2006, 06:56 AM   #7
PeterArnel
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North of Swindon in the UK on the edge of the Cotswolds
Posts: 997
Default

What make of machine is it ???
PeterArnel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2006, 11:25 AM   #8
Robin Springall
Member
 
Robin Springall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ealing Common, London W5, where I duplicate CDs and DVDs.
Posts: 1,259
Default

I'm at home nursing a dreadful cold, but if you turn on all printers marks in the export to PDF process, that should do the trick. (Unless I've completely misunderstood the question!)
Robin Springall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2006, 01:23 PM   #9
supernatural
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Default

We have done that, but the program don´t do it.

Thanks, and we hope you get better.
supernatural is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2006, 03:20 PM   #10
don Arnoldy
Curmudgeon
 
don Arnoldy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supernatural
Is there any way to do that?

Any ideas?
In the documnet setup dialog, you should find a "slug" setting. Set InDesign to have a 1/2" slug space along one edge.
On your page layout, within this space, make a text box and type the name of each color the document uses--in one long line is fine--then set the color of each name to the named color.

In the print dialog, choose "Include slug area." When you print your separations, the name of each color should appear on the proper plate.

--don

   
__________________
--don
don Arnoldy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.