DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > General Publishing Topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-25-2006, 01:46 PM   #1
ElyseC
Sysop Emeritus
 
ElyseC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: southeastern Iowa, in the technology corridor
Posts: 2,190
Default Safari vs secure sites

Safari just today on this computer refuses to allow me to log into sites like my bank, PayPal, and another one I tried. It even goofed up here and won't present me with the list of new/unread messages. Another weird thing about this sudden behavior is that once I try to log into such a site, then (while waiting) call up another tab to get another site loading at the same time, the other site won't load at all. Even Google and Google is the site I use as a test -- if I cannot get to Google, then there's something truly amiss.

I've dumped Safari's .plist and contents of its entire cache folder (should I have dumped the folder itself, too, I now wonder...), but no change. I've quit and restarted the app after every try at an https login, but that doesn't make any diff either. I can go here and there with it, but try logging onto a site and submit my username and password to log in and from there the party's over.

Ideas anyone?

Oh yeah...how am I here typing? Firefox, but I usually use Safari for all but a couple of sites.

   
__________________
Elyse
ElyseC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 02:25 PM   #2
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElyseC
Safari just today on this computer refuses to allow me to log into sites like my bank, PayPal, and another one I tried. It even goofed up here and won't present me with the list of new/unread messages.
It may be something being covered in the Safari discussion on Macintouch.

I have no idea why you had problems here with retrieving messages; could be part of the same problem, I suppose. But while I rarely use Safari here, I was using it yesterday and had no particular difficulties (just the perennial ones with message formatting and the dropdown Get Posts menu on any page but the index page). I use Safari 2.0.2.

Beyond that, have you repaired permissions? Sometimes that clears up a lot of problems.

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 02:42 PM   #3
ElyseC
Sysop Emeritus
 
ElyseC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: southeastern Iowa, in the technology corridor
Posts: 2,190
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ktinkel
Beyond that, have you repaired permissions? Sometimes that clears up a lot of problems.
No, not done that. Seems so strange that all worked well yesterday (or last time I went to such sites a couple of days back), but not today.

Now I'm looking for a way to set the default browser to FireFox instead of Safari. Where do I do that in Panther, do you know?

   
__________________
Elyse
ElyseC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 02:58 PM   #4
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElyseC
Now I'm looking for a way to set the default browser to FireFox instead of Safari. Where do I do that in Panther, do you know?
If you look at the General prefs in Firefox you will see a place to check whether it is the default browser. If you let it check, it will come back and ask if you would like it to be, and that’s all there is to it.

On the other hand, if you look in Safari prefs, you have a dropdown that lists all the browsers on your system, and you can select any of them.

Pays yer money and takes yer choice, so to speak.

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 03:05 PM   #5
annc
Sysop
 
annc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Subtropical Queensland, Australia, between the mountains and the Coral Sea
Posts: 4,436
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElyseC
No, not done that. Seems so strange that all worked well yesterday (or last time I went to such sites a couple of days back), but not today.

Now I'm looking for a way to set the default browser to FireFox instead of Safari. Where do I do that in Panther, do you know?
Try closing your Mac down and then restarting.

   
__________________
annc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2006, 06:55 AM   #6
ElyseC
Sysop Emeritus
 
ElyseC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: southeastern Iowa, in the technology corridor
Posts: 2,190
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ktinkel
If you look at the General prefs in Firefox you will see a place to check whether it is the default browser. If you let it check, it will come back and ask if you would like it to be, and that’s all there is to it.

On the other hand, if you look in Safari prefs, you have a dropdown that lists all the browsers on your system, and you can select any of them.
I don't find either in either program. Weird.

   
__________________
Elyse
ElyseC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2006, 07:00 AM   #7
ElyseC
Sysop Emeritus
 
ElyseC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: southeastern Iowa, in the technology corridor
Posts: 2,190
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by annc
Try closing your Mac down and then restarting.
Oy. OK. I haven't had to restart this Powerbook in months, no I haven't a clue how long. Guess it's time. I did log out and back in sometime in the past couple of months, but that's as close as I've been to a restart for ages.

Another thought occurs...I close the lid putting it to sleep over night, so I guess the regular UNIX maintenance stuff probably isn't getting to run. Hm. Guess I should leave it open for a few nights to let those run, huh?

   
__________________
Elyse
ElyseC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2006, 08:15 AM   #8
ElyseC
Sysop Emeritus
 
ElyseC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: southeastern Iowa, in the technology corridor
Posts: 2,190
Default

Well, all's well again, it seems. As you advised, I shut down, restarted, deciding to boot from the install CD to repair permissions as KT suggested. While I was at it I ran First Aid, then repaired permissions. Nothing wrong was found by either operation, thankfully. When I restarted normally the Microsoft auto update checker cranked up and said there was an Office updater from October that hadn't been done yet, so I let it update, then restarted, repaired permissions again (for good measure, since I'd been asked two times for my admin pw during the update) and restarted normally again. Whatever happened in all that fixed whatever the glitch was. Woo hoo! Thank you to you both.

   
__________________
Elyse
ElyseC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2006, 08:39 AM   #9
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElyseC
Well, all's well again…
That’s great.

By the way, you do not have to use a startup CD to repair permissions (you do need to to have Disk First Aid alter anything, though not just to check).

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2006, 08:40 AM   #10
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElyseC
I don't find either in either program. Weird.
Hmm. Maybe it’s a Tiger thing.

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[PR] Secure Powerpoint: create value from content Phil General Publishing Topics 3 02-17-2007 10:09 AM
Safari problem dacoyle Web Site Building & Maintenance 7 01-15-2007 06:06 PM
Web Developer Web Sites dthomsen8 Business Matters 14 09-08-2006 04:35 PM
mp3 Sites PeterArnel The Corner Pub 27 05-12-2006 01:20 PM
Safari 1.3 and RSS ktinkel The Corner Pub 0 04-28-2005 01:34 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.