DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Web Site Building & Maintenance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2006, 09:06 AM   #1
Kelvyn
Staff
 
Kelvyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: In the Heart of the English Lake District
Posts: 1,381
Default Google and duplicate domains

Following the latest update of Google's algorithm it became apparent that ranking penalties for content duplication are now more significant and this can apply to any site which can be reached via http//domain.com/ and http//www.domain.com/, where these are seen as different sites - but with identical page content. Following discussions on this subject (termed canonicalization) on several SEO forums, some advice was offered by Google's Matt Cutts on his weblog.

For servers that allow .htaccess, a 301 redirect from http://domain.com/to http://www.domain.com/ (or vice versa if you wish) is the recomended way to deal with this. Thus Google will only see and index http://www.domain.com pages, and visitors to the site entering http://domain.com in their browsers will be redirected to http://www.domain.com and will see that url in their browser address bar.

There is an excellent tutorial on using 301 redirects, and the different approaches on this site.

   
__________________
Kelvyn

Web site design, hosting and marketing, Keswick in the UK Lake District

If you are planning a visit to Keswick then try Keswick Tourist Information website


Last edited by Kelvyn; 01-20-2006 at 09:43 AM.
Kelvyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 09:38 AM   #2
LoisWakeman
Staff
 
LoisWakeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Uplyme, Devon, England
Posts: 1,402
Default

How incredibly stupid! I must find out how to cope with sites run on IIS too.
LoisWakeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 12:44 PM   #3
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,944
Default

Quote:
kelvyn: via http//domain.com/ and http//www.domain.com/
I'm not even sure how to ask this question coherently but...

What's the diff?

As a matter of purely laziness, I type http://tlbtlb.com/ (I acutally, just enter "tlbtlb.com/") to get to my domain and also use that on all my business cards and sigs...and...it gets me to my home page.

On the other hand, I've typing in "colorvision.com" gets me a no find--I have to type in "www.colorvision.com"...

Why does my url work and the colorvision one doesn't???

Thanks...

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 01:02 PM   #4
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terrie
What's the diff?
I wish I knew, too. I think it has to do with what the server (host) allows. I am pretty sure that on my early sites the www. was definitely required, but now it never seems to be.

But maybe browsers also play a role, as some do more auto-filling than others.

I hope Kelvyn (or anyone who knows) explains, as it would eliminate another little web mystery.

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 01:55 PM   #5
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,944
Default

Quote:
kt: I wish I knew, too. I think it has to do with what the server (host) allows. I am pretty sure that on my early sites the www. was definitely required, but now it never seems to be.
Ahhh...that might be it...


>>But maybe browsers also play a role, as some do more auto-filling than others.

I'm not sure that's it because when I enter "tlbtlb.com/", the browser ends up with "http://tlbtlb.com/"--it's not adding the "www."


>>I hope Kelvyn (or anyone who knows) explains, as it would eliminate another little web mystery.

I hope so too!!! I've been lying awake nights wondering...ROFL!!!!

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 02:45 PM   #6
iamback
Member
 
iamback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Posts: 4,894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ktinkel
I wish I knew, too. I think it has to do with what the server (host) allows. I am pretty sure that on my early sites the www. was definitely required, but now it never seems to be.

But maybe browsers also play a role, as some do more auto-filling than others.
Browsers play no role - it's simply a matter of server configuration. Depending on your hosting setup, you may be able to control that or not - on my own sites I always configure www.whatever.tld to redirect permanently (301) to whatever.tld.

On an Apache server (or similar) you can do that in httpd.conf if you have root access or a virtual private server, or maybe you can do that in an .htaccess file; you do need mod_rewrite to be enabled for that. I don't know what the equivalent would be on IIS.

   
__________________
Marjolein Katsma
Look through my eyes on Cultural Surfaces (soon!), My ArtFlakes shop and Flickr.
Occasionally I am also connecting online dots... and sometimes you can follow me on Marjolein's Travel Blog
iamback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 03:23 PM   #7
Kelvyn
Staff
 
Kelvyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: In the Heart of the English Lake District
Posts: 1,381
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terrie
I hope so too!!! I've been lying awake nights wondering...ROFL!!!!
I'm pleased that Marjolein answered the question (different hosts are set up in different ways).

You should be able to get some sleep now...

   
__________________
Kelvyn

Web site design, hosting and marketing, Keswick in the UK Lake District

If you are planning a visit to Keswick then try Keswick Tourist Information website

Kelvyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 06:00 PM   #8
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iamback
it's simply a matter of server configuration. Depending on your hosting setup …
Thanks. That’s what I figured.

I believe this reflects a change in host offerings over the years, however. I don’t think any web host I knew about five years ago made it possible to omit the “www” — or, if there were any, they weren’t advertising the fact to their subscribers.

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2006, 02:57 PM   #9
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,944
Default

Quote:
marjolein: on my own sites I always configure www.whatever.tld to redirect permanently (301) to whatever.tld.
But I didn't configure anything myself and just started using "tlbtlb.com/" and it worked...

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2006, 02:58 PM   #10
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,944
Default

Quote:
kelvyn: You should be able to get some sleep now...
LOL!!! Oh I'm going to sleep ever so much better now...'-}}

Thanks...

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Domains, clients, rights dthomsen8 Business Matters 14 10-30-2006 05:19 PM
Google gets here Hugh Wyn Griffith The Corner Pub 3 03-10-2006 11:31 AM
Google for programmers Bo Aakerstrom Web Site Building & Maintenance 26 02-25-2006 03:25 PM
I like the Google Bar Richard Waller The Corner Pub 3 11-23-2005 04:40 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.