DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Fonts & Typography

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-28-2005, 10:55 AM   #1
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default Fontographer 4.7 (Mac) from FontLab!!

As promised (hurray for them!), FontLab has released an OS X-compatible version of Fontographer (4.7). This release includes improved functions:
  • native support for Mac OS X
  • support for the Euro character
  • updated encodings
  • copy-paste compatibility with new Illustrator and Freehand versions
  • numerous bug fixes
Free downloadable demos are available at the web site (you can play around but not save the file or generate fonts).

To upgrade from Fontographer 4 to 4.7, $99; from 3.x to 4.7, $198. To buy, $349. (And there are other deals as well.)

They also offer the Windows version of Fontographer 4 (the old version), but warn there may be problems with Windows 2000, ME, or XP.

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 06:41 PM   #2
rakman4
Member
 
rakman4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: 25 miles west of Boston
Posts: 59
Default

That's all well and fine and good -- but I purchased the upgrade, followed instructions to download the program (which told me it had to be done within three days), and it will not download (Safari says there is a "POSIX error") -- either in Safari or Firefox.

Also, the interface to buy the product has a lot of kinks in it -- there is a place that says "enter billing address if different from shipping address" and if you leave that blank, it won't let you go on.

It also doesn't seem to care to know your Fontographer 4.1 serial number.

So, as far as I can tell right now, Fontographer for Mac OS X is -- vaporware.

   
__________________
David Rakowski
rakman4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 06:05 AM   #3
rakman4
Member
 
rakman4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: 25 miles west of Boston
Posts: 59
Default

Well, here I am replying to myself. I am pleased to report that, after lots of coughing, burping, and general sluggish behaviour, Font Lab's servers finally coughed up a working version of Fontographer 4.7, but not before they gave me the message that I had downloaded it too many times and would not be permitted to do so again (apparently in cyberspace zero is a very large number).

What's different in this version is the lack of the "starting Classic" message, and the lack of the "Fontographer 4.1.3 quit unexpectedly because of an unknown error" message at startup. Otherwise it seems to run like it was the first Clinton administration -- except for the blue checkboxes, etc.

And after a few months of Font Lab, I am SO glad to have "Correct Path Direction" back. But am sorry to report that the original Fontographer Sounds come with.

   
__________________
David Rakowski
rakman4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 06:12 AM   #4
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rakman4
… and it will not download.

So, as far as I can tell right now, Fontographer for Mac OS X is -- vaporware.
I too had trouble with the download offered on the order form. Wrote to complain, and was told that download instructions would be in a subsequent e-mail (as, indeed, they were). Like the ordering interface, their communications are kind of rough. FontLab is a small organization, I am pretty sure. Maybe we can forgive the rough edges if the software works.

I had to provide my FOG 4.1 s/n in order to order. But you get a new number to use when installing 4.7.

Right this minute, the jury is still out on whether or how well the software works — my favorite keyboard shortcuts are not working. But I will repair permissions and restart before I start yelling.

Oh, by the way: the installation instructions warn you sternly to delete all previous versions of Fontographer. I believe you can safely ignore that instruction.

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 06:14 AM   #5
ElyseC
Sysop Emeritus
 
ElyseC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: southeastern Iowa, in the technology corridor
Posts: 2,190
Default

Yay! So you gonna see what's up with Trafton sitting high?

If I can dig out my ancient copy of FOG to unearth a serial number, I may contact them and make sure they still have me listed in their database -- or that my listing got transferred with the purchase from Macromedia. Then there's the issue of correcting it to my new phone, email and mailing address.

I sure would like to play with FOG again.

   
__________________
Elyse
ElyseC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 06:16 AM   #6
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rakman4
Otherwise it seems to run like it was the first Clinton administration -- except for the blue checkboxes, etc.

And after a few months of Font Lab, I am SO glad to have "Correct Path Direction" back. But am sorry to report that the original Fontographer Sounds come with.
I used to turn the sounds off, but in a surge of nostalgia have left them on. For now.

Do your keyboard shortcuts work? For example, does Option-] in a character window move you to the next character? Does Option-left arrow move a selected element 1 em unit (assuming you have the basic unit set to 10, as it is by default)?

I am hoping it is just a glitch, and will repair permissions and reboot before accepting the worst.

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 06:19 AM   #7
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElyseC
If I can dig out my ancient copy of FOG to unearth a serial number, I may contact them and make sure they still have me listed in their database.
I wouldn’t worrry about the details; they look for a valid FOG s/n before they will accept an upgrade order for 4.7, at which point you will provide all the contact information possible.

I’m not sure they got or kept a Macromedia database. They certainly didn’t notify me of this new version, and I have two registered copies of FOG 4. And I know I am not alone.

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 06:55 AM   #8
ElyseC
Sysop Emeritus
 
ElyseC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: southeastern Iowa, in the technology corridor
Posts: 2,190
Default

Well, part of my problem is finding the old FOG box, disks or whatever has that serial number on it, so if I can confirm they have my registration, get it updated and retrieve the s/n that way, I'm off and running.

   
__________________
Elyse
ElyseC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 04:11 PM   #9
rakman4
Member
 
rakman4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: 25 miles west of Boston
Posts: 59
Default

They've moved some of the shortcuts around: apple-T used to be reserved for Fit to Window, but it's now also Merge Point, which used to be apple-M. apple-M seems to be dead. Go to next character is now (unexplainably!) option-right arrow. It looks like they let some Windows programmers in the room or something. But moving "merge point" to apple-T is just, imho, stupid. The only "T" in "merge point" is at the end!

But hey -- Correct Path Direction is back. With complex stuff like I do, this is SO very hard to fix in Font Lab. One command in Fontographer and it's done.

   
__________________
David Rakowski
rakman4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 04:17 PM   #10
rakman4
Member
 
rakman4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: 25 miles west of Boston
Posts: 59
Default

I am thinking that the high-riding Trafton is a Font Lab/Open Type thing. Several other of my older fonts ride high when converted in Font Lab, and several of them don't. I haven't figured out a rule yet. As long as Windows and OS X both accept PostScript Type 1 happily, I won't worry. Problems converting old MacWrite files to Word or Illustrator 88 files to Illustrator 5 or Finale 3.0 files to Finale 2005 are much worse.

And by the way. I have a nice Trafton. Apparently I can't do a good OpenType, but the Type 1 looks just fine. Elyse has one. Who wants?

   
__________________
David Rakowski
rakman4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FontLab 5 for Mac released [P.R.] ktinkel Fonts & Typography 0 12-14-2005 12:39 PM
Fontographer does go to FontLab! ktinkel Fonts & Typography 24 11-17-2005 09:29 AM
FOG to FontLab file converter [PR] ktinkel Fonts & Typography 0 08-05-2005 11:06 AM
FontLab to read FOG files [PR] ktinkel Fonts & Typography 0 07-18-2005 03:33 PM
Hint of Fontographer’s fate ktinkel Fonts & Typography 17 05-19-2005 06:48 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.