|
|
|
|
#1 |
|
Staff
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Llanwrtyd Wells
Posts: 1,451
|
I maintain a website at
http://www.lgpcards.com I had an email from a distressed user who couldn't access the site. Turned out he'd mistyped the name as: http://www.lpgcards.com However, he got taken to a site that appeared to have something to do with LGPcards -- it contains a variety of words from the LGP website and has links to some of the LGP publications on Amazon. Any idea as to why or what is going on? |
|
|
|
|
|
#2 | |
|
Sysop
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Subtropical Queensland, Australia, between the mountains and the Coral Sea
Posts: 3,976
|
Quote:
Pity they don't link back to your site. __________________
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Staff
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 420
|
Mike, those web sites are typically operating en masse by web squatters. They register all the possible mis-spellings and alternates to existing web sites, and then either try to steal your business (i.e., they might link to Amazon but have the referral fee go to THEM) or try to sell you the alternate URL, or try to sell it to your competition.
Free enterprise. Not to worry, there's a special provision in the Magna Carta that says if you can find out who they really are, you're allowed to draw and quarter them with the Crown's protection. |
|
|
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| User Profile | dthomsen8 | How to Use the Forum | 11 | 09-21-2006 06:16 AM |
| User CSS in Firefox 1.5.0.1 | dthomsen8 | Web Site Building & Maintenance | 8 | 03-12-2006 12:15 PM |
| One billionth Internet user | annc | Web Design | 17 | 12-29-2005 04:22 AM |
| a.k.a Brian Smithson, Corel User! | PeterArnel | Print Production & Automation | 33 | 02-20-2005 07:12 PM |