DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > General Publishing Topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-01-2017, 07:48 PM   #11
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,522
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugh Wyn Griffith View Post
That took me to the whole thread with every message marked as unread.

I suspect the .URL link triggers some say HTML code to convert it into a more conventional URL?
Up until several weeks ago, all browsers I have treated the URL file as shortcut to the web page I dragged it from. It would take me to that web page, and I would see the http address in the address bar. Now Firefox decided to not treat it that way. The address is shows is on my computer (file:///) and the page doesn't function correctly.

   
__________________
fallberry.com
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2017, 07:59 AM   #12
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,734
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugh Wyn Griffith View Post
That took me to the whole thread with every message marked as unread.

I suspect the .URL link triggers some say HTML code to convert it into a more conventional URL?
That (whole thread/all unread) may be due more to the forum software than to anything having to do with Firefox or the link itself. I'm guessing that the t=9574 points at the thread and that the forum handles the marking/unmarking and the specific message that's displayed in some other way.

But that's just guessing.

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2017, 08:05 AM   #13
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,734
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew B. View Post
If I'm understanding you correctly, when you click on the URL file which you already dragged to your computer, Firefox open the web page, and the address bar in Firefox shows and address that begins with "http://" not "file:///"

Am I correct?
Yes, that's correct, Andrew.

An interesting point, though (Hugh, are you there??? TapTapTap ... Hugh?)

The URL Of the link I've dragged to the desktop is not the same as the URL that appears in the address bar. Specifically, in the address bar, the query part of the URL is

?p=104057#post104057

In the desktop link, it's

?t=9574

One links to the thread, the other to a specific post. The wrong post in this case ... if I copy the URL above:

http://desktoppublishingforum.com/bb...057#post104057

and plug it into a different browser, it takes me to my prior reply to Hugh.

I'm. So. Confused.

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2017, 09:29 AM   #14
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,522
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Rindsberg View Post
I'm. So. Confused.
I think Firefox is confused. Or, at least, my Firefox is confused. Because it is not taking me to an "http://" address. It's taking me to a "file:///" address. And in that context the page is no longer working correctly.

I've looked into the Firefox settings and see nothing that could affect this. My next step is to shut off all addons and see what happens. Because having this ability in Firefox is important to me.

   
__________________
fallberry.com
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2017, 07:32 PM   #15
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,522
Default

If anyone has a suggestion about how to get Firefox to open the link as a website (meaning HTTP) let me know. I already tried launching Firefox in its safe mode.

   
__________________
fallberry.com

Last edited by Andrew B.; 11-11-2017 at 09:45 PM.
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 02:49 PM   #16
Hugh Wyn Griffith
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,450
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew B. View Post
If anyone has a suggestion about how to get Firefox to open the link as a website (meaning HTTP) let me know. I already tried launching Firefox in its safe mode.
I thought I had done that with this example in answer to your first message:

Quote:
This is the link I have to create on my desktop as a shortcut, in this case to CNN, to have it open in FF when IE is my default browser:

"E:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe" \www.cnn.com
where the part in quotes is the path to the location of firefox.exe -- note the space before the www.
I don't fully understand your jumping off point. Where are you starting from and what is it, literally, that you are dragging from where and from where.

For me in Windows 7 with IE as my default browser I have to use the above syntax for a URL to open in FF when clicking on a desktop shortcut icon.

If you are already on the webpage and want to create a desktop icon what do you drag and drop and where do you drop it.

If you use the NEW / Shortcut link in the desktop context menu then it will open in your default browser; if that's not FF then you have to use my syntax so far as I know.

If you mean literally http and not https then I don't know if you can since I would think that depends on the destination not on the user but it's not an area I know much about except that https involved Certificates.....

   
__________________


Hugh
Hugh Wyn Griffith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 03:29 PM   #17
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,522
Default

Browsers provide a way to drag links. In Firefox the spot to initiate the drag is the far left of the address area there is a circle with what looks like a lower case "i." In Internet Explorer it's the same spot except with either the IE logo or another shape.

I drag it from there into a folder on my hard disk. The result is a URL file, which works like a shortcut. The last time I checked, Firefox and IE use different internal formats for these. I have URL files associated with Firefox, which is why clicking on them launches Firefox. Firefox is not set as my default browser, and never has been.

I have hundreds of URL files in hundreds of folders. There are ways I can work around this problem, but the work around adds complexity to what I do, so I was hoping I could simply click on them without editing them or launching a different browser. This used to work.

The issue is not http: versus https:. It is that when it launches with the address pointing to my computer, some features of some webpages don't work. Before this problem started, it pointed to the web address and everything seemed to work.

   
__________________
fallberry.com
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 05:26 PM   #18
Hugh Wyn Griffith
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,450
Default

Ah Now I understand what you do. When I checked what I do today I saw the (i) and clicked on it but it did not seem to offer what you describe. But I'll check it more thoroughly when I can.

   
__________________


Hugh
Hugh Wyn Griffith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 09:12 PM   #19
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,522
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugh Wyn Griffith View Post
Ah Now I understand what you do. When I checked what I do today I saw the (i) and clicked on it but it did not seem to offer what you describe. But I'll check it more thoroughly when I can.
Did you hold the mouse button down and drag?

   
__________________
fallberry.com
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 06:52 AM   #20
sky4forums
Member
 
sky4forums's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 306
Default

I wish I could help. On my Mac dragging the URL to the desktop creates a shortcut that works as you want. Opening it in a text editor shows several lines of html.

Maybe it is time to contact the Firefox people.

   
__________________
- Sky
See my photos at http://skyockey.smugmug.com
sky4forums is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Path mysteriously changed Andrew B. General Publishing Topics 6 09-19-2014 10:56 AM
The web has changed the world Richard Waller The Corner Pub 19 09-26-2009 11:18 PM
Has Acrobat changed Mike Print Production & Automation 5 06-21-2009 01:30 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.