DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > General Publishing Topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-31-2017, 07:42 AM   #1
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,522
Default URL links on computer: changed behavior

For years I have been dragging URLs to my computer from Firefox. These links appear on my hard disk as files with "url" extension. And then, as needed, I can click on the link and Firefox takes me back to the web page. But no more. Now Firefox open it and shows a path to my hard disk instead of on the Internet. And along with this, some features of the web page no longer work

Funny thing. One of my programs wont honor the file being associated with Firefox, so it uses my default browser (Vivaldi) to open it. In this scenario, I end up at the web page, not at a file on my hard disk. So, of course, I could simply use Vivaldi, but I have reasons for wanting these links to launch in Firefox.

   
__________________
fallberry.com
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2017, 08:51 AM   #2
Hugh Wyn Griffith
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,450
Default

FWIW This is the link I have to create on my desktop as a shortcut, in this case to CNN, to have it open in FF when IE is my default browser:

"E:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe" \www.cnn.com

where the part in quotes is the path to the location of firefox.exe -- note the space before the www.

   
__________________


Hugh
Hugh Wyn Griffith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2017, 09:27 AM   #3
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,522
Default

Maybe one of the man Firefox updates broke its ability to understand URL files. The path is is right in the file, and two other browsers (IE and Vivaldi) can still handle them. Here's what I'm talking about.
Attached Files
File Type: zip desktoppublishingforum.zip (384 Bytes, 6 views)

   
__________________
fallberry.com
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2017, 11:37 AM   #4
Hugh Wyn Griffith
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,450
Default

desktoppublishingforum.URL

I've never seen that format. I presume it opens the default browser? It did for me.

   
__________________


Hugh
Hugh Wyn Griffith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2017, 12:19 PM   #5
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,734
Default

I just tried this in Firefox 56.0.2 64-bit (updated just yesterday, I think it was) and I can drag a link to the desktop; and it works.

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2017, 03:25 PM   #6
Hugh Wyn Griffith
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,450
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Rindsberg View Post
I just tried this in Firefox 56.0.2 64-bit (updated just yesterday, I think it was) and I can drag a link to the desktop; and it works.
Does it have the weird property format that I'd never encountered before?

   
__________________


Hugh
Hugh Wyn Griffith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2017, 03:35 PM   #7
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,522
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Rindsberg View Post
I just tried this in Firefox 56.0.2 64-bit (updated just yesterday, I think it was) and I can drag a link to the desktop; and it works.
What do you mean when you say works?" My Firefox knows how to display the web page using those links. But the URL in the address bar shows a path to my computer, not the website. How is it displaying on your dragged link?

   
__________________
fallberry.com
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 05:41 PM   #8
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,734
Default

The shortcut itself is on my desktop, so its location points there, of course, but on the Web Document tab of the Properties dialog, I get this for the URL:

http://desktoppublishingforum.com/bb...ead.php?t=9574

(that's after dragging this page to the desktop)

And Hugh, nope, no weird property format that I can see.

This is under Win7/64, in case that matters.

And under Win 10/64 with all the latest updates as of yesterday-ish.

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 07:00 PM   #9
Hugh Wyn Griffith
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,450
Default

Quote:

http://desktoppublishingforum.com/bb...ead.php?t=9574

(that's after dragging this page to the desktop)
That took me to the whole thread with every message marked as unread.

I suspect the .URL link triggers some say HTML code to convert it into a more conventional URL?

   
__________________


Hugh
Hugh Wyn Griffith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 07:40 PM   #10
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,522
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Rindsberg View Post
The shortcut itself is on my desktop, so its location points there, of course, but on the Web Document tab of the Properties dialog, I get this for the URL:

http://desktoppublishingforum.com/bb...ead.php?t=9574

(that's after dragging this page to the desktop)
If I'm understanding you correctly, when you click on the URL file which you already dragged to your computer, Firefox open the web page, and the address bar in Firefox shows and address that begins with "http://" not "file:///"

Am I correct?

   
__________________
fallberry.com
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Path mysteriously changed Andrew B. General Publishing Topics 6 09-19-2014 10:56 AM
The web has changed the world Richard Waller The Corner Pub 19 09-26-2009 11:18 PM
Has Acrobat changed Mike Print Production & Automation 5 06-21-2009 01:30 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.