DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Hardware & Gadgets

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2017, 12:24 PM   #31
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,919
Default

Quote:
hugh: How do you initiate it? By typing in the product name or ....?
I'm not positive but, if memory serves, I opened Revo, View > Hunter Mode and the Revo software window disappears and an icon (kind of a target) appears--you can right-click the icon to exit Hunter mode. Then (again, if I'm remembering correctly), I click-dragged the icon over the shortcut for the software I wanted to uninstall and I can't remember what I did next but I suspect that a window opened with options to uninstall.


Ahhhh...I found the RevoPro Help PDF. Here's what it has to say (in part) about using Hunter Mode:

"To operate in Hunter mode you have to do the following steps:

1. Press the left mouse button over the blue target window and hold it pressed;

2. Move the mouse over an item supported by Hunter mode (desktop shortcut, open window, icon etc.). While doing so a tool tip is shown with information about the application you will select if you release the button

3. Release the left mouse button and a menu will show up;

4. Select desired command from that menu"



Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2017, 06:56 AM   #32
Hugh Wyn Griffith
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,431
Default

So it boils down to: You have to be able to select with the Hunter icon something that at one time was associated with what you want it to track down and remove.

You can't just open with Hunter mode and type in a word for example that is associated with the product to be tracked down. Like I just removed Nero with Windows Uninstaller but I'm sure it is not completely gone (as happened the other day) so I type in Nero .....

BTW What happened the other day was that something went wrong out of nowhere so far as I was concerned and there was a folder visible on my desktop which if I left or right mouse clicked on in order to inspect properties, open or delete instead started to install something from Nero and while this was going on the system froze.

Only exit was to crash out.

After the restart I ran Revo free and no sign of Nero, nor was there in the Windows Menu structure or Programs installed.

After trying everything I could think of in the end I opened Windows Explorer and told it to search the entire hard drive for anything Nero -- luckily only a 256Gb SSD -- and it came up with a long long list of files so I Select All and Delete and all was OK.

That's the sort of thing where Hunter should have done it for me if I had had it!

   
__________________


Hugh
Hugh Wyn Griffith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2017, 11:30 AM   #33
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,919
Default

Quote:
hugh: You have to be able to select with the Hunter icon something that at one time was associated with what you want it to track down and remove
Yes...



>>Like I just removed Nero with Windows Uninstaller but I'm sure it is not completely gone (as happened the other day) so I type in Nero ..

One approach to that sort of situation is to (re)install the software using the same installation options you used the first time (same installation folder, etc.), reboot to make sure the install has completed and then use Revo to uninstall using their advanced (or medium) "depth" options to get it all rooted out.

I use Nero (Nero6Ultra) and did a custom install so that I only installed the stuff I was going to use--Nero has way too much crapware but the I like the basic burning portion of the software. When I had my first Win7 system custom built, I rooted around on ebay and found a more current version of Nero (11 is memory serves) but decided to see if Nero6 would install and it did so I've used it ever since on each succeeding Win7 system and the newer version is floorware...'-}}


Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2017, 03:13 PM   #34
Hugh Wyn Griffith
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,431
Default

Yes I knew about the reinstall route but for situations where you might even have that any more ....

I used to like Nero in very early versions. I don't even remember which I got up to -- 12 I think.

   
__________________


Hugh
Hugh Wyn Griffith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2017, 01:18 PM   #35
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,919
Default

Ahhh...yes...of course, if you no longer have the software--or can't find it amongst all the other software that is now floorware...'-}}


Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2017, 07:41 PM   #36
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,713
Default

Same here, but it kept getting more and more bloated when all I really wanted it to do was burn CDs and DVDs of my files, for the most part.

Somewhere along the line, someone turned me on to ImgBurn. Free. Follows the quirks of its author to some extent (You don't NEED a CD copy feature. Not when I've given you a Create Disk Image feature and a Burn CD from Disk feature. Use one, then use the other and stop bugging me).

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2017, 09:02 AM   #37
Hugh Wyn Griffith
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,431
Default

Yes I used IMGBURN and still have it on my drive but I rarely burn CDs or DVDs - maybe I should try some of the Minis I have!

   
__________________


Hugh
Hugh Wyn Griffith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2017, 11:18 AM   #38
Bo Aakerstrom
Member
 
Bo Aakerstrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Derby,UK
Posts: 1,316
Default

You might not want to stick those in a slot loading drive though...

   
__________________
www.boaakerstrom.com
Behance Portfolio
Bo Aakerstrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2017, 11:38 AM   #39
Hugh Wyn Griffith
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,431
Default

Yes there was some discussion of that here or in CompuServe. My tray has an area in it for the smaller disks .... but since the desktop tower is on its side I don't intend to try it since I doubt there's any clamp.

   
__________________


Hugh
Hugh Wyn Griffith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2017, 07:31 PM   #40
Andrew B.
Staff
 
Andrew B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,501
Default

My computer arrived today but I was feeling sicker than usual now it's evening and I took it out of the box. I am afraid to turn it on because I'll be glued to it for hours fiddling with everything.

But I did print out the article about what to turn off and I checked out the O&O ShutUp10 software site. I think I'll delay using the software so I can learn to navigate this stuff on my own, and then later go for it.

Oh, I did look at the quick start sheet that came with the computer, and when I saw the photo of the Win 10 desktop it struck fear in my heart. If you recall, I had a Win 8 computer for awhile. But this is Windows 10 and I think I'll be able to live with it.

   
__________________
fallberry.com
Andrew B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Program gone from my computer Andrew B. Software 12 04-15-2017 11:33 AM
Oy — computer troubles! ktinkel General Publishing Topics 25 03-31-2012 01:02 PM
A New Home for Old Computer Bill Murmann Hardware & Gadgets 2 05-06-2007 08:03 PM
Fry egg in your computer. Andrew B. The Corner Pub 4 02-23-2007 02:46 PM
Got a new computer JVegVT The Corner Pub 10 02-03-2006 10:53 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.