DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-22-2013, 04:15 PM   #1
Franca
Staff
 
Franca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Monterey Bay area, CA
Posts: 2,203
Default Festering Firefox Frustration. Phooey.

Quote:
Originally Posted by annc View Post
That was my experience in the relatively recent past, so it will be interesting to find out how you like the latest version.
Well, I hate it, but now for a completely different reason. Every time I open Firefox now, I get this error message:
evalInSandbox:Error: Permission denied for <https://facebook.com> to create wrapper for object of class UnnamedClass
Not just once, but multiple times. And I cannot continue without dismissing each error window individually. Four of them last time I opened Firefox. Chrome has never done this. What the heck does it even mean?? I have closed the only tab that had anything to do with Facebook and I've cleared my cache. Any idea what's going on and/or how to fix it?

   
__________________
..
..Franca

..
Franca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 05:10 PM   #2
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,916
Default

Try this:
"The problem went away when I upgraded SocialFixer (and Ghostery, which was another automatic upgrade). Between auto-upgrades of add-ons and FireFox itself, it's hard sometimes to maintain control of what changes are related to what possible new problxxxx features. :-) "

From mozilla support...


Or this:
"hello, update your social fixer addon - this should address the issue: http://socialfixer.com/blog/category/releasenotes/ "

also from mozilla support...'-}}

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 06:26 PM   #3
annc
Sysop
 
annc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Subtropical Queensland, Australia, between the mountains and the Coral Sea
Posts: 4,434
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terrie View Post
Try this:
"The problem went away when I upgraded SocialFixer (and Ghostery, which was another automatic upgrade). Between auto-upgrades of add-ons and FireFox itself, it's hard sometimes to maintain control of what changes are related to what possible new problxxxx features. :-) "

From mozilla support...


Or this:
"hello, update your social fixer addon - this should address the issue: http://socialfixer.com/blog/category/releasenotes/ "

also from mozilla support...'-}}
I wonder if it's a Windows-only problem; I've had no problems with Firefox, and haven't upgraded social fixer for a year or longer.

   
__________________
annc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 06:30 PM   #4
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,916
Default

Quote:
ann: I wonder if it's a Windows-only problem
Could well be...I just plugged in the first part of the error message with no O/S indicator...

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 11:14 PM   #5
Franca
Staff
 
Franca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Monterey Bay area, CA
Posts: 2,203
Default

Thanks, Terrie - Social Fixer has been updating itself automatically for quite some time but it's possible that the version in Firefox is too old. I'll check it out when I have more time and patience than I've got right now.

   
__________________
..
..Franca

..
Franca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 12:19 PM   #6
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,916
Default

Quote:
franca: it's possible that the version in Firefox is too old
Ahhh...I figured after the earlier discussion on some of FF's new features that you'd updated your version. Both the links I ref'd were fairly recent--May and June of this year...

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 10:51 PM   #7
Franca
Staff
 
Franca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Monterey Bay area, CA
Posts: 2,203
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terrie View Post
Ahhh...I figured after the earlier discussion on some of FF's new features that you'd updated your version. Both the links I ref'd were fairly recent--May and June of this year...
Yes, my version of FF is new but the version of Social Fixer (SFX) installed in FF is probably very old now because I haven't used Firefox in so long. I was thinking that the version of SFX I have in Firefox may actually predate the addition of the auto-update feature so it may be something of an archaeological relic. Don't know ... but there will be a new SFX update coming out very soon - tomorrow I think - so I'm not going to bother trying to figure out how to update it till then.

   
__________________
..
..Franca

..
Franca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 12:54 PM   #8
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,916
Default

Quote:
franca: Yes, my version of FF is new but the version of Social Fixer (SFX) installed in FF is probably very old now because I haven't used Firefox in so long.
Ahhhh...gotcha...hope the new version does the trick...

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Font frustration Cyranetta Fonts & Typography 4 11-17-2007 10:22 AM
Phooey on the Mac Mini! ktinkel Hardware & Gadgets 4 10-07-2007 01:46 PM
Firefox 2 on a Mac annc Web Site Building & Maintenance 5 11-10-2006 02:06 PM
InDesign-PDF Font Frustration Cyranetta Fonts & Typography 32 10-07-2006 02:03 PM
IE6 vs. Firefox 1.51 dthomsen8 Web Site Building & Maintenance 2 02-23-2006 07:37 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.