DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Hardware & Gadgets

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-11-2011, 05:47 PM   #1
dthomsen8
Member
 
dthomsen8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA 19130
Posts: 2,158
Default HDMI Switch

I have been switching my big screen TV from the cable box to my laptop by changing the cable, but I am considering a HDMI Switch. Some HDMI Switches are less than $30, and also there are cables. Does anyone here have any experience with switches and/or cables?
dthomsen8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 07:51 PM   #2
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,918
Default

I don't know a lot about this but my tv (Sony Bravia LCD) has an Input button the its remote that allows me to choose which input--HDMI, Component, Video, TV, PC--I want and I can also select the Input option via the tv/vcr button on the cable box remote (Comcast) so I don't have to physically switch cables around...

Do you have options like that available?
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 06:22 AM   #3
dthomsen8
Member
 
dthomsen8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA 19130
Posts: 2,158
Default Only one HDMI jack.

Quote:
Originally Posted by terrie View Post
I don't know a lot about this but my tv (Sony Bravia LCD) has an Input button the its remote that allows me to choose which input--HDMI, Component, Video, TV, PC--I want and I can also select the Input option via the tv/vcr button on the cable box remote (Comcast) so I don't have to physically switch cables around...

Do you have options like that available?
The TV has menu choices for input, but there is only one HDMI jack.
dthomsen8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 11:23 AM   #4
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,918
Default

Quote:
sthomsen8: The TV has menu choices for input, but there is only one HDMI jack.
Ahhh...my tv has 2-3 of them and I've now exhausted all of my knowledge...'-}}

Whatever you end up with, take a look at monoprice.com for cables and stuff as they have excellent prices, reasonable shipping and carry all sort of tv/audio/home theater/networking stuff--someone at dslreports turned me on to them when I was getting my tv set up...

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 05:47 PM   #5
dthomsen8
Member
 
dthomsen8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA 19130
Posts: 2,158
Default

Monoprice.com has a http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
HDMI SWITCH, ONLY $19.00! I was hoping to avoid the shipping time.
dthomsen8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 07:12 PM   #6
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,918
Default

Quote:
dthomsen8: HDMI SWITCH, ONLY $19.00! I was hoping to avoid the shipping time.
Told you they had good prices...'-}}

If I'm remembering correctly, they shipped the cables I ordered very quickly and I received them quickly via USPS Priority Mail--just checked my saved emails from them and I placed an order Dec 21st and received it before Christmas so from CA to VA was pretty quick...

Their stuff is good quality too...

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 12:34 PM   #7
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,711
Default

Does your laptop have an HDMI output jack? If not, the story ends there. Use the VGA output on the laptop --> VGA input on TV instead.

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 05:41 PM   #8
dthomsen8
Member
 
dthomsen8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA 19130
Posts: 2,158
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Rindsberg View Post
Does your laptop have an HDMI output jack? If not, the story ends there. Use the VGA output on the laptop --> VGA input on TV instead.
Laptop has a HDMI output, but the TV has only HDMI and a video jack.

Best Buy wants $99 for a HDMI switch. Not from me.
dthomsen8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 06:25 AM   #9
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,711
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dthomsen8 View Post
Laptop has a HDMI output, but the TV has only HDMI and a video jack.

Best Buy wants $99 for a HDMI switch. Not from me.
But it sounds like monoprice has you covered.

Terrie's one of our national treasures when it comes to this kind of thing, isn't she?

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 10:07 AM   #10
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,918
Default

Quote:
steve: Terrie's one of our national treasures when it comes to this kind of thing, isn't she?
LOL!! Thank you very much...'-}}

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Easy way to switch direction of text in ID3? Michelle Noel Print Design 3 04-24-2008 02:16 PM
HDMI viewing Michael Rowley Hardware & Gadgets 10 04-15-2008 06:54 AM
KVM Switch Problem dthomsen8 The Corner Pub 4 03-15-2007 10:57 AM
Switch Box George Print Production & Automation 12 11-21-2006 08:18 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.