DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Hardware & Gadgets

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-25-2011, 06:00 AM   #1
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,712
Default Macs 'n monitors

This is a bit long, but I figured it'd be easier if I got the BT/DT/NoJoy stuff out of the way in one swell foop.

I have a Mac mini (summer/fall 2010 vintage) that I use with a monitor that I also use with a PC from time to time. And therein lies the problem. If I unplug the monitor from the Mac or start the Mac up with the monitor detached, I can't find a way to get it to recognize the monitor once I plug it back in.

The only solution I've found ... not one I'm at all fond of ... is to use the power switch on the Mac.

I'm thinking that Find Displays would force it to recognize the display; it always seems to work when other Macs refuse to auto-recognize projectors 'n such. I've poked around and found lists of keyboard shortcuts including some that supposedly force a Find Displays. They all seem to be lists for much older OSX versions. So far nothing's worked.

I figured a KVM switch would be a better bet but no joy there either. I've tried two different KVM switches and run into the same problem. I thought the KVMs would present a resistance load that'd fool the Mac into thinking there was a monitor there, but apparently not. It simply won't feed video to the switch/monitor. One of the switches, in fact, is (a bit too) smart ... if it sees a signal from the computer on one port but not the other, it automatically switches to that port. I can manuall switch to the Mac but it never sees anything and kicks back to the PC.

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 07:29 AM   #2
Benwiggy
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: London
Posts: 451
Default

That doesn't sound right. Macs should auto-detect displays, IIRC.

Some comments on the internet suggest that adjusting the brightness with the keyboard should force the displays to be detected.

I would try posting this on a dedicated Mac forum, like
http://hintsforums.macworld.com/
(formerly macosxhints.)

Is the monitor a modern digital one or a VGA style old one?

Do you have another monitor that you can test?
Benwiggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 10:31 AM   #3
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,712
Default

>> That doesn't sound right. Macs should auto-detect displays, IIRC.

So I'd have thought. This one Thinks Different.

>> Some comments on the internet suggest that adjusting the brightness with the keyboard should force the displays to be detected.

ISTR reading (and trying) that too, but I'll give that a try the next time the situation arises.

>>I would try posting this on a dedicated Mac forum, like
http://hintsforums.macworld.com/
(formerly macosxhints.)

Thanks, I will.

> Is the monitor a modern digital one or a VGA style old one?

It's a VGA LCD (old style 15-pin connector lashed up with an Apple-supplied adapter)

>> Do you have another monitor that you can test?

If it becomes necessary, yes. The other ones I have are dual-input jobbies that'd probably work fine in this situation if I weren't using them for something that's more necessary. I can switch them between HDMI and VGA inputs. Switched one way, they pair as a dual display for one PC. Switched the other way, one lets me view the server, the other a second PC.

I'd just get another monitor for the Mac but I'm out of room! ;-)

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 10:41 AM   #4
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,712
Default

AhhhHAH! In answering your questions, I realized that I couldn't provoke the problem at will, so I figured I'd track that down before posting elsewhere.

It seems that if the computer's asleep when the monitor's removed, then reawakened, it doesn't find the monitor again. The monitor just displays a bouncing "No Signal" message.

But I stumbled upon this: while its in this state, I can Option+Cmd+Eject to put it back to sleep. The "No signal" message disappears. Then wake it up again by tapping the space bar or whatever and voila. Houston, we have no problem.

So thanks, Ben. Whatever you said managed to trigger the Aha Moment. I'll take 'em any way I can get 'em.

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 03:26 PM   #5
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,918
Default

Quote:
steve: then reawakened, it doesn't find the monitor again.
Sort of like if you went to sleep in your own bed but woke up outside on a beach...'-}}

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 04:03 PM   #6
Bo Aakerstrom
Member
 
Bo Aakerstrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Derby,UK
Posts: 1,316
Default

Are you implying this is somehow not normal?

   
__________________
www.boaakerstrom.com
Behance Portfolio
Bo Aakerstrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 06:16 PM   #7
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,918
Default

Quote:
bo: Are you implying this is somehow not normal?
Given the weather outside my window (rain, snow and then heavy snow coming this way), I'd love for this to be normal...'-}}

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 07:15 AM   #8
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,712
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bo Aakerstrom View Post
Are you implying this is somehow not normal?
http://uk.weather.com/weather/10day-Derby-UKXX0040

I rest my case.

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 03:38 PM   #9
Bo Aakerstrom
Member
 
Bo Aakerstrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Derby,UK
Posts: 1,316
Default

Some people just don't know when to stop, and you don't need an actual beach either.

Would not advice to lie down on the ice after a dip though!

   
__________________
www.boaakerstrom.com
Behance Portfolio
Bo Aakerstrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 04:45 PM   #10
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,712
Default

>> Would not advice to lie down on the ice after a dip though!

It'd make for a looooonnnngggg winter.

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Five 24-inch monitors ktinkel Hardware & Gadgets 7 07-02-2009 12:15 PM
InDesign & two monitors Kalliope Print Design 3 10-19-2007 01:13 AM
30-inch monitors marlene Hardware & Gadgets 46 07-22-2007 09:21 AM
Monitors: one lump or two? Steve Rindsberg Hardware & Gadgets 6 07-16-2007 01:35 PM
LED monitors? ktinkel Hardware & Gadgets 16 06-04-2007 05:32 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.