DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2010, 08:05 AM   #1
dthomsen8
Member
 
dthomsen8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA 19130
Posts: 2,158
Default Quicken 2007 is dying

Quicken 2007 is dying. After April 30, 2010, it will no longer download transactions from banks or other financial institutions. Owners must upgrade to Quicken 2010, $39.99 for the basic version.

Of course, I was satisfied with Quicken 2004, and had to upgrade to Quicken 2007, and now to Quicken 2010. Every time I start the program, I get the notice that I must upgrade. The enhancements are meaningless to me, and the discounted software is of no use to me, either.

I suppose that new sales of Quicken are not all that great, so the company has to get $40 or more from existing users.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	quicken2007.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	35.8 KB
ID:	1580  
dthomsen8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 11:11 AM   #2
Susie
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 649
Default

Intuit has been notorious for doing that, both with Quicken and QB. Very annoying.

   
__________________
Susie
Susie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 01:34 PM   #3
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,712
Default

Indeed ... a while back I bought the latest version of QB because it had a few features I thought might be useful. I installed it on a test computer and found that it wouldn't import my old QB data (from a *very* old version of QB, QB3 or so). And that it was bogslow starting up (thank you, MS .NET). And that all things considered, I didn't really need those new features all that much compared to the pain of getting at 'em. Anybody need a copy of QB Pro 2007. Cheap?

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 11:12 AM   #4
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,918
Default

I use Quicken--version 4...'-}}--and I have never downloaded my financial data so this may not be a viable suggestion...

My guess is that you use Quicken itself to download the data but do you need to? Is there a way to download your data and then import it into Quicken? If so, then it wouldn't matter which version of Quicken you are using...

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 01:35 PM   #5
Hugh Wyn Griffith
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,430
Default

As Terrie suggests I think will work.

I can't use my 2008 (or 2007 before it) to download from my UK bank direct but I can download the file and import it.

Likewise with BoA where Quicken would not easily go behind their identity check in but I could go in manually, access the statement and using download either save to the drive and import it or simply when asked if I wanted to Run or Save to say Run and it automatically went into Quicken.

   
__________________


Hugh
Hugh Wyn Griffith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 04:41 AM   #6
dthomsen8
Member
 
dthomsen8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA 19130
Posts: 2,158
Default Downloading.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugh Wyn Griffith View Post
As Terrie suggests I think will work.

I can't use my 2008 (or 2007 before it) to download from my UK bank direct but I can download the file and import it.

Likewise with BoA where Quicken would not easily go behind their identity check in but I could go in manually, access the statement and using download either save to the drive and import it or simply when asked if I wanted to Run or Save to say Run and it automatically went into Quicken.
I will ask the online support at Wachovia about the possibility of downloading.
dthomsen8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 08:10 AM   #7
BobRoosth
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 933
Default

I suspect it is as much an issue with changes the banks make as anything Intuit does. I am still using Quicken H&B 2000 and see no reason to change. I don't want to download from the bank. I want to check my records against theirs. Can't do that if I start with their records.

I was working with a client on Friday does use the entire automatic system. She was banking with WaMu. When Chase took over, she had jump through hoops. The new download process is very cumbersome and in the process of transition back in June, about a dozen transactions did not clear. Because she let Quicken do it all, she had no idea how to do a manual reconcile.

Don't even get me started on how slow Quickbooks has become. Once more, I tell people if they don't need the new features (or online connection and/or payroll), stick to the old version. Unfortunately, some of my clients are accountants. They have little choice about keeping up. Some have to keep several versions alive, as they work with clients' data the originates in earlier versions of QB and they have to return corrected data files.
BobRoosth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 08:13 AM   #8
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,712
Default

>> Don't even get me started on how slow Quickbooks has become.

Thanks for the confirm that it's not just me.

But then, I knew that. ;-)

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 08:21 PM   #9
JVegVT
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: northern New England, USA
Posts: 510
Default

I don't use Windows often but I do like to have a checkbook register on all my computers and operating systems so I don't *have to* go online to my bank to check our balance. I have Quicken 2003 on two computers (one is Win 7) and Microsoft Money 2005 on a Win XP computer (came with the system). Neither will deal directly with the bank or anything online.

However, my bank will export the records in Quicken or Money formats between dates I select. Then I import the file into Quicken or MS Money. Voila! Checkbook register is complete. My bank offers free online bill paying; I don't need Quicken or Money for that.

In Linux I use CheckBook Register, a very simple program that will also import a Money-format file and enter transactions automatically.
--Judy M.

   
__________________
Registered Linux User #397786
Being productive with VectorLinux 7 Standard
JVegVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Office 2007 SP2 released Steve Rindsberg Software 10 05-01-2009 05:31 PM
Quicken Experts? Andrew B. Business Matters 23 11-12-2008 11:45 AM
PHP interpreter dying - why? jwoolf09 Web Site Building & Maintenance 5 06-18-2008 01:08 PM
Typographica's top typefaces of 2007 ktinkel Fonts & Typography 4 03-09-2008 07:32 AM
Caesar's dying breath ktinkel The Corner Pub 1 03-15-2006 07:52 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.