DTP

Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web

Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Software

Old 09-25-2009, 12:41 PM   #1
qcards

Default software for printing flash cards

Hello,

I need to format vocabulary flash cards to send to a printer and would like advice about what software to purchase. The project needs to be submitted as a 10 by 10 array on a page (100 cards per), separate for card front and back, which will then be dye cut and collated. It's mostly text, except for one image on the side of each card front (Greek column). It's a relatively simple project and I do not want to purchase expensive software if a less costly one will do. I'm a novice and want something that's relatively user friendly. Most printers I've contacted prefer PDF files. Any suggestions are welcome.

Mike
qcards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 12:54 PM   #2
terrie
Staff

Hi Mike...

Welcome to the forum...

A few questions...

1. Which software platforme--pc, mac, linux?

2. Do you currently own layout software--InDesign, Quark, etc.?

3. What sort of wordprocessing software do you have?

4. When you say "page" what size were you thinking of?

There are lots of options for creating pdfs so give us an idea of what what sort of system and software you have and we should be able to give you some suggestions...

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 01:20 PM   #3
qcards

Hi Terrie,

I had this done professionally the first time using Quark. I now want to do it myself but I do not do IT work or publishing as a profession and own only Wordperfect 10 and Microsoft Word. The page is approximately 25" by 35" when printed (cards are 2.5 X 3.5 ", which the printer then cuts and collates. I have a pc but when I submit it, it will be open on a Mac version of the software. My understanding is that this should not be a problem as long as I use the correct fonts.

Mike
Old 09-25-2009, 01:43 PM   #4