DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Hardware & Gadgets

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2008, 02:08 PM   #1
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,918
Default Sometimes you get lucky...

Late yesterday evening as I was browsing a link from one of my mailing lists, I inadvertantly spilled coffee on my dsl modem...

Needless to say...I was totally freaked out, repeating no! no!!!!! no!!!! (and other unmentionable words) as I turned it off, shook it and then went running to get paper towels to dry it off...

I shut down my system, unplugging all the cords from the modem and drying it off as well as I could and then held my breath as I turned my system back on hoping against hope that all 3 lights on the modem would power up.

They did!!!

BUT...

When I tried to log into Compuserve via WinCim, I didn't get a connect...

I opened Netcape and typed in a url and got a message from Verizon (my dsl provider) about needed IE6...

Shut down Netscape, opened IE (ohhhhh ggggaaaggggg!!!) and typed in a url and got a Verizon page presenting me with a number of different options which is when I realized that basically, I'd somehow reset the dsl modem.

I wasn't sure which option to choose and decided on the one that mentioned a reset modem whereupon I was asked to allow an Active-X app to download.

With some trepidation, I let it proceed and about 10 minutes later I was back in business...

WHEW!!!

Note to self...move the modem away from the cup warmer...'-}}

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 04:07 PM   #2
Susie
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 649
Default

That's a really lucky break! If it had been me, I'm sure everything would have died immediately! I'm a total klutz. I'm glad you got everything back up and running!

   
__________________
Susie
Susie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 08:01 PM   #3
BobRoosth
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 933
Default

Lucky indeed. But all is not lost if you fry the beast. Best Buy sells DSL modems that are pretty much universal. So you don't have wait for delivery of a new one from your DSL provider.
BobRoosth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 12:14 PM   #4
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,918
Default

Quote:
bob: But all is not lost if you fry the beast. Best Buy sells DSL modems that are pretty much universal. So you don't have wait for delivery of a new one from your DSL provider.
I thought that was the case but I wasn't sure...good to know...hmmm...wonder if it might be a good idea to buy one just in case although I loathe Best Buy...'-}}

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 12:13 PM   #5
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,918
Default

Quote:
susie: That's a really lucky break! If it had been me, I'm sure everything would have died immediately! I'm a total klutz. I'm glad you got everything back up and running!
I was very glad myself! At one point, I thought well...this is a pita but I'll just pop over to the Comcast office and pick up a new modem only to remember that it wasn't a Comcast modem but a Verizon and I'd be in deep doo-doo if it did't come back...'-}}

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lucky I didn't do it at night Robin Springall Print Design 11 01-09-2006 04:38 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.