DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-05-2008, 09:47 AM   #1
dthomsen8
Member
 
dthomsen8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA 19130
Posts: 2,158
Default Spybot and StopZilla

I am getting a warning message from SpyBot 1.5 about trojan.sdi and trojanC.sdi when running their scan. I tried copying those two files from my wife's Spybot 1.6 installation, but I get the same result. Any thoughts?

Beyond that, I also ran StopZilla with a free trial on my wife's WinXP Home computer, and I got an impressive list of files under suspicion, some with serious ratings. I scratched some of those names with COMMAND erase, to avoid having them in the Recycle bin. StopZilla wants me to pay $19.95 to actually take care of the problem files, which I have not done.

Any experience with StopZilla? Any reason to pay for it, when SpyBot is free?
dthomsen8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 10:40 AM   #2
iamback
Member
 
iamback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Posts: 4,894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dthomsen8 View Post
I scratched some of those names with COMMAND erase, to avoid having them in the Recycle bin.
Why don't you just use Shift+Delete?

   
__________________
Marjolein Katsma
Look through my eyes on Cultural Surfaces (soon!), My ArtFlakes shop and Flickr.
Occasionally I am also connecting online dots... and sometimes you can follow me on Marjolein's Travel Blog
iamback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 10:42 AM   #3
iamback
Member
 
iamback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Posts: 4,894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dthomsen8 View Post
StopZilla wants me to pay $19.95 to actually take care of the problem files, which I have not done.

Any experience with StopZilla? Any reason to pay for it, when SpyBot is free?
Is there anything it can do that free software (one or a combination of programs) cannot? Is that $19.95 a once-in-a-lifetime fee or do you have to pay a subscription or upgrade costs for a new version?

   
__________________
Marjolein Katsma
Look through my eyes on Cultural Surfaces (soon!), My ArtFlakes shop and Flickr.
Occasionally I am also connecting online dots... and sometimes you can follow me on Marjolein's Travel Blog
iamback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 04:54 PM   #4
dthomsen8
Member
 
dthomsen8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA 19130
Posts: 2,158
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iamback View Post
Is there anything it can do that free software (one or a combination of programs) cannot? Is that $19.95 a once-in-a-lifetime fee or do you have to pay a subscription or upgrade costs for a new version?
StopZilla seems to report Adware problems that Spybot 1.6 does not. However, that $19.95 is for one year, with an increased fee for two years of updates.

Right now, I have decided to stay with Spybot 1.6 and ignore all those possible problems that StopZilla reported the first time it ran. Actually, I uninstalled it.
dthomsen8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 03:33 PM   #5
iamback
Member
 
iamback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Posts: 4,894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dthomsen8 View Post
StopZilla seems to report Adware problems that Spybot 1.6 does not. However, that $19.95 is for one year, with an increased fee for two years of updates.

Right now, I have decided to stay with Spybot 1.6 and ignore all those possible problems that StopZilla reported the first time it ran. Actually, I uninstalled it.
Try a combination of Spybot and Ad-Aware - I think together they have you pretty much covered for free.

   
__________________
Marjolein Katsma
Look through my eyes on Cultural Surfaces (soon!), My ArtFlakes shop and Flickr.
Occasionally I am also connecting online dots... and sometimes you can follow me on Marjolein's Travel Blog
iamback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 05:03 PM   #6
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,944
Default

Quote:
marjolein: Try a combination of Spybot and Ad-Aware - I think together they have you pretty much covered for free.
That's what I use and I find it a workable combo...

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 06:41 AM   #7
dthomsen8
Member
 
dthomsen8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA 19130
Posts: 2,158
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terrie View Post
That's what I use and I find it a workable combo...

Terrie
I installed Spybot 1.6 and that corrected my problems with that software. Ad-aware is free, but only if another paid offer is accepted. This only makes sense if the other service is wanted and worthwhile.

Do you see that Ad-aware finds problems that Spybot 1.6 does not find?
dthomsen8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 07:44 AM   #8
iamback
Member
 
iamback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Posts: 4,894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dthomsen8 View Post
I installed Spybot 1.6 and that corrected my problems with that software. Ad-aware is free, but only if another paid offer is accepted. This only makes sense if the other service is wanted and worthwhile.

Do you see that Ad-aware finds problems that Spybot 1.6 does not find?
Of course - they each have a different focus, so although there is some overlap, they look at different things.

BTW, I'm not aware of any purchase obligation for Ad-aware. But I keep a tight system and only run such software in very rare cases anyway.

   
__________________
Marjolein Katsma
Look through my eyes on Cultural Surfaces (soon!), My ArtFlakes shop and Flickr.
Occasionally I am also connecting online dots... and sometimes you can follow me on Marjolein's Travel Blog
iamback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 12:28 PM   #9
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,944
Default

Quote:
dthomsen8: Ad-aware is free, but only if another paid offer is accepted.
Where do you see that? I've not found that to be true as long as you aren't using commercially.

Take a look at this Ad-Aware 2008 link on the lavasoft site...it's the free version...


>>Do you see that Ad-aware finds problems that Spybot 1.6 does not find?

Actually, I find it the otherway roung in that often Spybot finds stuff that Ad-Aware missed but sometimes Ad-Aware flags something Spybot missed to that's why I run both...

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 12:09 PM   #10
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,944
Default

Quote:
dthomsen8: I am getting a warning message from SpyBot 1.5 about trojan.sdi and trojanC.sdi when running their scan.
I was getting weird scan results with my previous version of Spybot and I'm pretty sure it was 1.5.

I'd suggest uninstalling your 1.5 version and downloading the most current version (1.6 something) and installing that and see if that doesn't fix the problem--it did for me...

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SpyBot deletes .TMP? dthomsen8 The Corner Pub 6 09-28-2008 02:43 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.