DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Hardware & Gadgets

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-04-2008, 05:08 AM   #1
dthomsen8
Member
 
dthomsen8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA 19130
Posts: 2,158
Default WinXP Boot Chkdsk every time

Why would a WinXP Pro computer run chkdsk every time it boots? The chkdsk /f does not find anything to repair, yet the system insists on the time consuming scan every boot.
dthomsen8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 05:15 AM   #2
Robin Springall
Member
 
Robin Springall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ealing Common, London W5, where I duplicate CDs and DVDs.
Posts: 1,259
Default

The hard disk (or, less likely the controller chip) is starting to fail. This problem is typically due to a sticky actuator motor, a faulty bearing, or a faulty platter motor, and is your wake-up call: ignore this at your peril, sir! Checkdisk may not find errors, because the drive is ony having difficulties when it's cold (at least, for now).

You absolutely must
1) Back up all your essential data now.
2) Clone the drive using Ghost or a similar application in the next day or so.

Modern drives are quite fault-tolerant, but the downside is that they only call for help when failure is imminent.

   
__________________
Robin
Intellectually challenged, alcoholically propelled
Robin Springall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 01:29 PM   #3
dthomsen8
Member
 
dthomsen8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA 19130
Posts: 2,158
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robin Springall View Post
The hard disk (or, less likely the controller chip) is starting to fail. This problem is typically due to a sticky actuator motor, a faulty bearing, or a faulty platter motor, and is your wake-up call: ignore this at your peril, sir! Checkdisk may not find errors, because the drive is ony having difficulties when it's cold (at least, for now).

You absolutely must
1) Back up all your essential data now.
2) Clone the drive using Ghost or a similar application in the next day or so.

Modern drives are quite fault-tolerant, but the downside is that they only call for help when failure is imminent.
This hard drive was new two weeks ago. The behavior is consistent, whether the drive is cold or running for hours. Something else must be going on.
dthomsen8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 06:04 PM   #4
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,712
Default

>> This hard drive was new two weeks ago.

There are two kinds of hardware manufacturers:

- Those that admit to shipping duds once in a while
- Liars

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 08:12 AM   #5
Michael Rowley
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ipswich (the one in England)
Posts: 5,105
Default

Steve:

Can chkdsk.exe start on its own? It's a command-line thing, with lots of parameters. And how does chkdsk answer when it's checked everything it can?

   
__________________
Michael
Michael Rowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 09:24 AM   #6
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,712
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Rowley View Post
Steve:

Can chkdsk.exe start on its own? It's a command-line thing, with lots of parameters. And how does chkdsk answer when it's checked everything it can?
It can't start on its own, but it may get fired off by other processes that run during bootup.

I don't know how it feeds back results TO another process; programs can set exit codes that let a calling program pick up the results though. Perhaps it does this.

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 09:40 AM   #7
Michael Rowley
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ipswich (the one in England)
Posts: 5,105
Default

Steve:

Quote:
It can't start on its own, but it may get fired off by other processes that run during bootup
In the dim and distant past, I used to have chkdsk in the autoexec.bat file; there's still an autoexec.bat file, but it doesn't do anything unless it's put there, but I have a vague idea that it is the first file that's dealt with after the boot process and before Windows is automatically initiated.

   
__________________
Michael
Michael Rowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 09:56 AM   #8
iamback
Member
 
iamback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Posts: 4,894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Rowley View Post
Steve:

In the dim and distant past, I used to have chkdsk in the autoexec.bat file; there's still an autoexec.bat file, but it doesn't do anything unless it's put there, but I have a vague idea that it is the first file that's dealt with after the boot process and before Windows is automatically initiated.
Actually, Config.sys comes before that. But that's only in the DOS-based Windows versions (through WinME); none of the WinNT class use those files any more.

   
__________________
Marjolein Katsma
Look through my eyes on Cultural Surfaces (soon!), My ArtFlakes shop and Flickr.
Occasionally I am also connecting online dots... and sometimes you can follow me on Marjolein's Travel Blog
iamback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 02:51 PM   #9
Michael Rowley
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ipswich (the one in England)
Posts: 5,105
Default

Marjolein:

Quote:
none of the WinNT class use those files any more
Then it's surprising that Vista still has both.

   
__________________
Michael
Michael Rowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 07:51 AM   #10
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,712
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Rowley View Post
Marjolein:

Then it's surprising that Vista still has both.
If Vista is like XP in that respect, it doesn't do much with either Autoexec.bat or Config.sys ... they're present in XP but both are empty files, at least on two computers that've had XP installed from scratch, not as an upgrade from an earlier version of Windows.

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Understanding WinXP Pro dthomsen8 The Corner Pub 20 08-31-2007 06:52 PM
iPhoto for WinXP??? Clayton General Publishing Topics 14 10-24-2006 03:25 PM
Some WinXP questions... terrie General Publishing Topics 59 08-07-2006 02:28 PM
Oddball WinXP Pro SP2 Problem Franca General Publishing Topics 17 06-15-2006 11:53 AM
Moving PS fonts to WinXP Howard Fisher Fonts & Typography 2 06-17-2005 08:01 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.