iamback

Default Hate Comic Sans?

Try Comic Serif!

I found it here: http://www.ministryoftype.co.uk/word...e/comic_serif/

iamback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 12:12 PM   #2
ktinkel
Founding Sysop

Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.

Quote:
Originally Posted by iamback View Post
Try Comic Serif!
Not bad — I rather like it.

Old 07-30-2008, 01:45 PM   #3
Cyranetta

Perhaps it's because I'm not a professional desktop publisher (I use it primarily for a nonprofit newsletter and promotional posters for historical society and Friends-of-the-Library events) but I have a hard time understanding loathing for a font. The example of Comic Serif as shown is much heavier than Comic Sans and would not have at all the same balance with the text in a newsletter (and I am not so witless as to use Comic Sans throughout, just as subtitling in an article about Caldecott prize winning books, for example).

Helvetica is another that seems roundly despised, but I recall from when I worked in a marketing department that Helvetica was a favorite of the catalog designers because it was consistently legible for both catalog text and a multipage order form. Its legibility hasn't changed, has it? Nor have I noticed that more "fashionable" fonts are any more legible, and are often less so.

How do you strike the best balance between fashion and function?
Cyranetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 02:11 PM   #4
ktinkel
Founding Sysop

Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyranetta View Post
I have a hard time understanding loathing for a font. The example of Comic Serif as shown is much heavier than Comic Sans and would not have at all the same balance with the text in a newsletter …