DTP

Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web

Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Hardware & Gadgets

Old 05-05-2008, 01:57 PM   #1
Michael Rowley

Default Blank CDs & DVDs

I am completely new to burning CDs & DVDs, and I should like advice on what makes of LightScribe blank disks to buy. Probably I am not wrong in imagining that there are many old hands here.

Old 05-05-2008, 11:00 PM   #2
annc
Sysop

Location: Subtropical Queensland, Australia, between the mountains and the Coral Sea

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Rowley View Post
I am completely new to burning CDs & DVDs, and I should like advice on what makes of LightScribe blank disks to buy. Probably I am not wrong in imagining that there are many old hands here.
Bearing in mind the special care needed with LightScribe discs after burning, is it really worth the effort?

I get great results with printable discs and a cheap inkjet printer. For the few occasions when I consider this necessary or desirable.

Old 05-06-2008, 06:28 AM   #3
Michael Rowley

Ann:

Quote:
Bearing in mind the special care needed with LightScribe discs after burning, is it really worth the effort?
I am completely innocent of any knowledge of burning disks, so I could not anwer your question, even if I understood its implications. I know only that the supplier of my present computer has provided a program for burning disks, a program for writing on them (LightScribe), and a the requisite apparatus for reading them and writing them, which bears the LightScribe logo.

I know the only subject has been discussed here, and the participants seemed very knowledgeable. But thanks for the warning—if it is one!

Old 05-06-2008, 06:59 AM   #4
Steve Rindsberg
Staff

LightScribe is a technology for imprinting the "non-data" side of discs. If you don't need that particular ability, you can use regular blanks instead (at a considerable savings, I'm willing to bet).

www.pptools.com